Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for adults as well as kids
Bought it have around at a Burns night, but found myself reading it and really enjoying the way ti was illustrated. I learned lots
Published 5 months ago by G. E. Kirkup

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is Robert Louis Stevenson?
The book is written in thematic chapters and sections (resulting in "social life" sections being interspersed between "political history" sections), and lacks in continuity, or historic robustness. Even though the chosen technique is sure to appeal to children (for whom the book is primarily intended, anyway), whose attention span tends to be rather short, this is...
Published on 30 Nov 2006 by ScottishConnectionNP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where is Robert Louis Stevenson?, 30 Nov 2006
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
The book is written in thematic chapters and sections (resulting in "social life" sections being interspersed between "political history" sections), and lacks in continuity, or historic robustness. Even though the chosen technique is sure to appeal to children (for whom the book is primarily intended, anyway), whose attention span tends to be rather short, this is achieved at the cost of some confusion at to who or what comes after what or who - and why. At any rate, the writing style is vivid and attractive, and the liberal use of colour, drawings, and photos adds to the book's appeal. (By the way, the author's name is "Fiona Macdonald", not "Flora MacDonald".)

A glaring omission is a reference to Robert Louis Stevenson, all the more remarkable since under the chapter-heading "Famous Scots" there are two sections devoted to "Poets and Novelists" and "Writers and Thinkers", where there is no mention whatsoever of RLS.

Despite these criticisms, I would recommend the book as a child- and visitor-pleasing introduction to the down-to-the present history of Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for adults as well as kids, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
Bought it have around at a Burns night, but found myself reading it and really enjoying the way ti was illustrated. I learned lots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 Dec 2013
By 
E. Nicol "Elsjefiederelsje" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
A great book about the history of Scotland, right up until the new Scottish Parliament in 1991. I bought it for friends in Taiwan and they seemed happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Grandson, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
We bought this book to help our 9 year old Grandson with his school project. He loves it. Very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading and History all in one, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
Great quality. Prompt delivery and exactly what is required for my child's school project. Scotlands history explained easily without any complications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Scotland for Children (Paperback)
I bought this for my kids - they love it. We had this book before but lost it. The book arrived in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of Scotland for Children
The History of Scotland for Children by Fiona MacDonald (Paperback - 1 Jun 2004)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews