Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap shots of his earlier days.
A collection of stories that are snap shots of life in America as seen by Richard Brautigan.

Ranging from childhood in Tacoma, through to California in the 60's.

His ability to squeeze a rich and vivid story into as little as a single page is incredible, and possibly made more meaningful as he is writing about his own life and experiences...
Published on 19 Dec 2006 by Douglas Traill

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Time plays tricks
In a weak episode of nostalgia for the 1970s, I ordered this book and downloaded a couple of tracks by Captain Beefheart that were actually listenable to. Beefheart was sublime, The Revenge of the Lawn was... weak. And yet Brautigan was highly rated back then. For me, this set of stories has not stood the test of time.
Published 9 months ago by Brian Morris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snap shots of his earlier days., 19 Dec 2006
By 
Douglas Traill (Edinburgh, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
A collection of stories that are snap shots of life in America as seen by Richard Brautigan.

Ranging from childhood in Tacoma, through to California in the 60's.

His ability to squeeze a rich and vivid story into as little as a single page is incredible, and possibly made more meaningful as he is writing about his own life and experiences.

A must have Brautigan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brautigan at his short story best!, 29 Jun 2012
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
While, indeed, Richard Brautigan may "ramble" and this anthology may not seem to possess a central theme, it is still classic Brautigan, an assemblage of previously published short stories, many reflecting the brilliance that was Brautigan. Certainly it shows his creativity and originality and his hold on the "flavor" of what was the late-Sixties in California! Brautigan, while having some shorter novels with success, still seems to be more in control of the short stories. He writes a mean poem, too.

In "Revenge of the Lawn," the emotions he evokes range from the absurd to the poignant--he seems to capture the gamut! The title story is superb, of course, but "Halloween" is hard to beat, as well. The touching revelation of sensitivity in "Corporal" is also unmatched. And who can overlook the brilliance of "1/3, 1/3, 1/3"! The author is able to present a deftness that even Hemingway couldn't achieve! His surreal writing certainly won him many readers' hearts. With him and Lawrence Ferlingetti, the San Francisco scene couldn't have been more representative in literature. Granted, some of his "stuff" is easily dismissable, but when Brautigan was good, he was very good! (Billyjhobbs@tyler.net)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully brief Brautigan., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
It caused me to laugh out loud on the tube in places.
I love short stories and I was entertained from start to finish.
How he compacts entire stories into such snippets is a wonder and a joy. Look out for 'The Scarlatti tilt' because if you turn an extra page by accident, you may literally miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ernest Heminway's Typist/Crazy Old Women are Riding the Buses of America Today, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
Richard Brautigan’s prose-style is something other-worldly, mixed in with quirks and oddnesses, surreal confections, not often stories, they are more like insights or sometimes fancies. It’s difficult to isolate from the whole, the qualities he brings to his writing. For instance, in a complaint against “Complicated Banking Problems” (the title of the piece) he complains of standing in line thus: “I have to stand there and endure the financial cartoon crucifixions of America.” In another piece on hunting (which he seems spectacularly bad at, admitting he never managed to bag a kill), he tells us that: “A 44.40 isn’t exactly the greatest bird gun in the world. It lets go with a huge slow-moving bullet like a fat man opening a door.” He is funny, naïve, gentle and now and again there is the touch of genius in his descriptions. Sometimes you have doubts. What to make of this, for instance?

“Hawks circle in the sky like the lost springs of old railroad watches looking for correct protein wandering somewhere below to swoop down upon and devour chronologically.”

Almost like sprung poetry, but also arcane, quite difficult to see in the mind’s eye, which is really quite antithetical to poesy, but also somehow cleverly linked together. The Chronology and the lost springs and the railroad watches have a link – but only just. It stretches the metaphor beyond it’s formal or usual purpose.

At other moments his constructions work in a slightly clumsy, but hugely empathetic way, as here: “Warm fog swirled in the canyon as we gradually descended. A hundred feet in from of us everything was lost in the fog and a hundred feet behind us everything was lost in the fog. We were walking in a capsule between amnesias.”

Not graceful in terms of the repetition, but nevertheless shiningly correct and beautiful.

Something will strike you in every piece of this scattered, shattered and strangely apposite way of writing. It is very natural, very pleasing and it does what poetry is supposed to do - it makes things strange. I must read more of Brautigan, and I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Time plays tricks, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Brian Morris (Languedoc, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
In a weak episode of nostalgia for the 1970s, I ordered this book and downloaded a couple of tracks by Captain Beefheart that were actually listenable to. Beefheart was sublime, The Revenge of the Lawn was... weak. And yet Brautigan was highly rated back then. For me, this set of stories has not stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A seriously under-rated author ., 26 Feb 2011
By 
John (Leicester , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 (Paperback)
Richard Brautigan developed a truly original style of prose that often seemed to point towards the thin line between the conscious and the subconscious mind ; this aspect of his work , while making it at times relatively surreal , also seems to give it , rather paradoxically , an added layer of 'realism' . In spite of this I have never seen Brautigan described as 'the most important American author' of even the 'psychedelic era' or the Sixties, and I'm beginning to wonder why. Perhaps his writing just wasn't tacky enough to be widely championed .
This collection of largely wistful anecdotes give the reader a good taste of what arguably made Brautigan great ; reading it left me with a strange subsequent feeling that I had actually visited some of these places with him .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970
Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970 by Richard Brautigan (Paperback - 30 Mar 2006)
£9.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews