Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A road-trip of mind-bending quality
This is the story of Floorboard George, a roaming pick-up driver with a story to tell.
Written in a fantastically readable style, Dodge certainly knows how to grab the reader's attention and hold on for dear life. Every nuance of George's colourful life is covered in a first person narrative where you can almost BE George - embracing rock 'n' roll and its trappings...
Published on 21 Dec 2000 by clayts

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Fup or Stone Junction
I really liked Stone Junction and enjoyed FUP but this was almost as if it was from a different writer. It did drag on a bit and I felt as though I should have got a reward for finishing. I think I was just expecting a bit too much and was ultimately disappointed.
Published on 27 July 2009 by Mck Mck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A road-trip of mind-bending quality, 21 Dec 2000
This is the story of Floorboard George, a roaming pick-up driver with a story to tell.
Written in a fantastically readable style, Dodge certainly knows how to grab the reader's attention and hold on for dear life. Every nuance of George's colourful life is covered in a first person narrative where you can almost BE George - embracing rock 'n' roll and its trappings to help explain just why a dodgy insurance scam metamorphosises into a beautiful road trip.
Meeting some fascinating characters along the way,such as the eccentric inventor, Joshua, and the to-hell-and-back preacherman Double-Gone Johnson (if this book ever hit the big screen, a role more than suited to Samuel L Jackson) George tells of his burning desire to take a pristine '59 Cadillac to the grave of the Big Bopper, as per the dying wish of an obsessed fan.
Guzzling tinnies and bennies along the way, the frazzled mind of George plays ludicrous tricks on him (check out the story of the little orange man and his big jigsaw puzzle piece, and of jiving cacti for starters !) and leaves him in a bigger hole as the frenzied Scumball's mad mob charge after him to catch him with his prize haul.
Whilst not as wired as Hunter S Thompson's road trip to Hell, 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas', this foot-to-the-metal, rollercoaster of a ride is instantly likeable and fantastic entertainment. Has anyone got a raft of money they could lend me so I can make the film please ? De Niro as George, definitely !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All speed limits are exceeded ..., 12 April 2010
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
Floorboard George Gastin takes us on one hell of a ride. From the hip late fifties San Francisco jazz scene of the Beats to a rollicking, straight up crazy, yarning homage to the day the music died. Jim Dodge wrote this in 1987 but the references to the music of the time live throughout this rocking road novel. They provide the literary soundtrack.

George Gastin sets off on his `pilgrimage' in 1965. He takes a 1959 Cadillac Eldorado (dig the fins and gleaming grilles!) intended for the Big Bopper and he sets out on a journey to cremate the car in honour of the three victims of the plane crash on that day in February 1959 when the Big Bopper, Ritchie Valens and Buddy Holly were killed. The book's title and its pace pay further homage to the Bo Diddley beat of the song that Buddy Holly wrote.

This becomes a fantastic and often surreal picaresque road novel but it is not a journey from A to B. It is more a journey of there and almost back again and it is told in a funny, sharp, wise and rolling language and is illuminated throughout with rich characters, good humour and off the wall insights. Where else could you meet the wonderful Double-Gone Johnson on a mission to found the Rock Solid Gospel Light Church Of The Holy Release?

Great fun and great entertainment loaded with quick fire humanity, often surprising thoughtfulness and scorchingly original one-liners. This novel cracks along like Captain Midnight, the late night DJ on radio KRZE, who pulls so many of the threads together towards the end.

Every speed limit is exceeded. Hold on tight and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A road movie in a book, 26 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This is just like reading a road movie. The plot described in the synopsis, while accurate, does not do justice to this novel. Read if for the style, the humour, and the lifestyle. The author's voice is incredible: you can just hear it - and the appropriate accent - in your head. At the end I was left thinking "so what?" but this is a minor quibble.
"He dances to his own music."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish he'd write more..., 8 Sep 2013
By 
Andrew Matthews "rudepiston" (Beijing/London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Kindle Edition)
A totally unique voice with a tremendous love of life and the spirit unrestricted by convention or fear. Joyful, irreverent and deeply, drunkenly, hilariously moral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
great book that keeps you on edge the whole way through. good book for men and women would recommend !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to pass on to all your friends, 25 Oct 2002
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have now lost count of the number of copies of this I have given to other people. It is one of the most delightful things I have read in the last ten years. The characters leap off the page and blow raspberries on your belly.
Think Steinbeck's Cannery Row with a dose of rock and roll.
If you thought Kerouak's books never quite lived up to all the fuss - this is the book for you.
Deeply cool, deeply touching, wryly humourous and there is a character called Double-Gone Johnson.
What more could you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trip through Americana at breakneck speed, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
Rich with references and written in Dodge's familiar wry style. A great shame that Dodge was not a more prolific author. Although the references are perhaps not so wide ranging as those in Stone Junction, Not Fade Away paints a vivid portait of a particular time and place through the eyes of its eccentric protagonist. A book to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tripping!, 14 July 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "MjD" (Edinburgh, Scotland. { Kobe, Japan. Saipan. Alabama.}) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
The greatest literary road trip ever? Chill out to the sounds of the big bopper & cruise across the US meeting an assortment of "characters" along the way. Comical, surreal & thoroughly entertaining. Tripping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Fup or Stone Junction, 27 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
I really liked Stone Junction and enjoyed FUP but this was almost as if it was from a different writer. It did drag on a bit and I felt as though I should have got a reward for finishing. I think I was just expecting a bit too much and was ultimately disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars About 100 pages too long, 27 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Fade Away (Paperback)
Firstly I love the beat generation and books about counter-culture in general and I was also very impressed with 'Fup', but I just think Jim Dodge tried a bit too hard to create an homage to the likes of Jack Kerouac and didn't quite pull it off. It's an entertaining read in the main and it has its moments but I certainly agree with the author who thought it dragged towards the end and I found myself racing through the final pages in order to combat the terminal dullness into which the novel descends. Check out the real thing rather than this slightly pale imitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Fade Away
Not Fade Away by Jim Dodge (Paperback - 5 April 2004)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews