Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A heady brew of historical facts and reckless adventure
Take 500 years of history, thousands of miles worth of precarious travelling, a bundle of religious fanatics, a gaggle of politics, a spoonful of war and some cake, mix it all up with some strange berries and an obsessive american in an enormous cup-shaped er...big cup and what you get is: The Devil's Cup by Stewart Lee Allen.
It's a bit of a novel, a bit of a travel...
Published on 2 Oct 2000

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither a history or a memoir.
This books falls badly between two stools. As a history of coffee's spread through the world and its effects on society it offers little more than a few potted histories. As a road trip memoir it also offers little beyond the author's clumsy attempts to smuggle forged art out of India and his wanderings round East Africa.

The final section, where the author and...
Published on 24 Aug 2010 by Mr. A. Cunningham


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither a history or a memoir., 24 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. A. Cunningham "Tony Cunningham" (Edinburgh, Lothian Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
This books falls badly between two stools. As a history of coffee's spread through the world and its effects on society it offers little more than a few potted histories. As a road trip memoir it also offers little beyond the author's clumsy attempts to smuggle forged art out of India and his wanderings round East Africa.

The final section, where the author and his companion attempt a road trip across America is the final insult to the reader. We learn little from this except not to mix ephedrine and caffeine. Finally, the book's conclusion is abrupt and feels as though the author had simply run out of ideas.

If you want to learn about the history of coffee you will learn more from Wikipedia. If you want a road trip memoir then Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is still to be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A heady brew of historical facts and reckless adventure, 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Take 500 years of history, thousands of miles worth of precarious travelling, a bundle of religious fanatics, a gaggle of politics, a spoonful of war and some cake, mix it all up with some strange berries and an obsessive american in an enormous cup-shaped er...big cup and what you get is: The Devil's Cup by Stewart Lee Allen.
It's a bit of a novel, a bit of a travel book and a bit of a history book. Wrapped in a beautifully simple dust jacket, protecting a cunningly simple embossed hard cover. It's a pungent read and will even look good on your...er...whatsit table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
A great read, particularly in its sections on Africa (the place about which Stewart Lee Allen is most respectful and passionate) and its pivotal role in the history of coffee. Allen is entertaining, adventurous, fun-loving, and never takes himself too seriously. Although I disagree with his claim that a certain global coffee chain serves good coffee and although some sections work better than others - Allen seems to be running out of steam towards the end, as though his mission has exhausted even him - and although the editing of the text could be better at times... these are essentially small niggles in what is a five-star read. I learned a lot from this book, which made me want to drink even more coffee than I do already, and I would entirely agree with the chef and writer Anthony Bourdain that reading it is a "riveting" experience. Would make a lovely present for anyone who loves coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true addicts goldmine of caffeine-addled prose., 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil's Cup-C (Hardcover)
Mr Lee Allen's "The Devil's Cup" is as satisfying as the brew it celebrates. At once both intoxicating with heady drama and hi-jinx in pursuit of the holy grail of the 'mugga joe' and stimulating with a fascinating account of coffee's journey from Ethiopia to Adrien, Texas. Lee Allen's crusade (and I mean this in the religious sense) is testament to coffee's significance across cultures, time zones and history. From its use as a stimulant of spiritual fervour to its role in enlightening modern thought and philosophy , Lee Allen ensures that the next espresso to infiltrate my blood-brain barrier will be infused the meaning of its significance since time god knows when.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for fans of good travel literature and coffee, 31 Oct 2003
By 
Milena T. Zlatarova "bookmaniac70" (Sofia Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
If you love coffee, then you will be interested in reading this funny, informative,entertaining book.
Stewart Lee Allen considers coffee to have played an essential part in human civilisation and progress.He calls it "Driving force" for human history.It may seem exagerated but he doesn`t merely stays by words. He takes a world journey to show how coffee has appeared in various societies and what was its impact on people. He will take you from Ethiopia through India,Turkey,England, France and finally, back to his home in Oklahoma, US.
The book is full with interesting information about coffee, its roasting and making, about rituals for drinking it, and at the same time it will amuse you with a lot of travel stories, misunderstandings and gaffs, unevitable in communication between different cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting book I have read in a long time., 9 July 2009
By 
Henri Pauli Mikael Welling "Henri" (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
I had never heard of this book before and as I was looking for something to read, my girlfriend suggested to read this "coffee book", which she had received as a present at some point. From just glancing at it, it did not seem very interesting - history of coffee?! Does not seem like a very exciting topic. But I decided to take the risk of wasting a few hours. After the first chapter, I was hooked! The author has an amazing skill of jumping from story to story smoothly and throwing in interesting historical to boot. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for something interesting and different to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more..., 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
Easy to read, but was expecting much more from the positive reviews it got, not much substance, a lot of irrelavant stories which would be fine for a backpackers travelogue. It missed decent research, and nothing on modern coffee industry... I just wish I got more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot stuff, 24 April 2013
By 
Truman (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
This book is the one to buy if you're looking for a detailed examination of coffee and it's stimulating influence on society. Part travel book, part historical account, Stuart Lee Allen's personality gives the book its own welcome boost. If it doesn't make you want a cup of the Devil's brew then there must be something wrong with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 19 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History (Paperback)
Coffee's sad history including slavery and other sins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well but....., 3 May 2010
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Some interesting historical snippets, but the author's writing style and gullibility (e.g. being taken in on an art-smuggling fraud) started to annoy me so I stopped reading two thirds of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History
The Devil's Cup: Coffee, the Driving Force in History by Stewart Allen (Paperback - 18 Jun 2001)
£8.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews