Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Chimneys, 6 Nov 2003
By 
F M Diggory (Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant (Hardcover)
This is a marvellously evocative book reminding me of my Scottish childhood with recipes for Scottish staples such as rumbledethumps, clapshot, and cranachan. In addition, Shirley Spears provides some wonderful modern twists on traditional recipes serving an Autumn Pudding (as opposed to Summer Pudding) and turning the staple ham and haddie into an elegant souffle. The recipes are interspersed with personal reflections of her life in Skye and setting up the world famous Three Chimneys Restaurant which anyone interested in good food will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, Wonderful Place & Wonderful People!!, 29 July 2009
We have been lucky enough to visit The Three Chimneys on two holidays - once for several dinners over a decade ago, from whch point we were fans, & more recently to stay for a week. Bought the book there & Shirley was good enough to sign it. Having ourselves seen The Three Chimneys at two very different stages in its' evolution, reading the book was a window into how Shirley & Eddie lived that experience. The setting is extraordinary enough but what these two have achieved there is more extraordinary still. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book - it is witty, fascinating, entertaining & a great insight into the realities of setting up & running such a challenging business. Oh & the recipes are, of course, mouth-watering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to the source, 28 Sep 2006
By 
Michele Kellett (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant (Hardcover)
We had a wonderful meal at Three Chimneys last summer, and ordered the cookbook immediately.The photography is stunning, and Ms. Spear's reminiscences are frank, robust and touching. The recipes are true to the restaurant: simple ingredients cooked with care and precision. Ms. Spear is merciful to the home cook by suggesting how best to order tasks in these multi-stepped recipes -- many of the meals here are based on a series of inter-related, enfiladed recipes. But, as a cookbook, it is not perfect: We are almost never told how many servings to expect from a recipe, for instance. Many recipes call for oatmeal, but no guidance is given as to the type (steel-cut or flaked?) or whether or not the oatmeal is raw or cooked. The index is useless, and I have not yet discerned the book's organizing principle (seasonal? menu-driven? alphabetical?) However, in a way, these faults contribute to the book's considerable charm. There is nothing of the slick professional food-writer here, just a gifted, harried-sounding woman trying to communicate her life's passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three Chimneys, Four Stars, 28 Oct 2008
By 
K. Johnston (Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just finished reading Shirley's lovely book. My partner and I recently ate at the Three Chimneys and enjoyed one of the best meals we've ever had. Thus the book is a delight both as a souvenir of our visit, and in and of itself. Shirley's reminiscences are a joy to read - I loved hearing how she and her family took their dreams and made them a reality, and her evocative musings on Skye, fresh, seasonal produce, and life at the restaurant. And her recipes are also wonderful - and includes one for the Famous Hot Marmalade Pudding, which, believe me, is divine. The food photography is also good enough to make you salivate.

I have one or two niggling criticisms: for me, the format is too large - it is such a personal book I think it would work better as a smaller, thicker format, like a book you might read and cook from, the editing could be a bit tighter in one or two places (three mentions in as many pages that langoustines are alternatively known as prawns - once is ample), and I think it's a mistake to hold back content for a second book and repeatedly tell the reader so, then leak little scraps of it anyway - this feels like less of a 'tease' and a bit more like cheating the reader of content, or, more simply, poor organisation. Neither works well.

However, that's perhaps a little pernickety when, overall, the book is such a delight to own. I recommend it - and do of course look forward to Shirley's second offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Went on holiday to Scotland and met the author, the book is great as it tells a story too. Prompt delivery. Hopefully in the future we will visit the threechimneys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant (Hardcover)
What a great cook book and life story all rolled in to one .This book is now out of print and secondhand copies are fecthing big money ,so this was areally good buy but worth it at almost any price .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars must make the marmalade pud !, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant (Hardcover)
Visited the Three Chimneys last month & ordered the book to arrive in time for our return. Great to see that it contains recipes for the delicious marmalade pudding we so enjoyed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 20 Jan 2014
By 
William Wallace (Lyons, Co. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant (Hardcover)
This was a gift for a friend who had actually visited Skye several times and eaten at The Three Chimneys restaurant. She loved the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Chimneys: Recipes and Reflections from the Isle of Skye's World Famous Restaurant
Used & New from: 21.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews