Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recipe book for meditators
The Meditation Bible is perfect for someone like me, who wants to explore the benefits of meditation without subscribing to Buddhism or any other belief system. Gauding gives a brief introduction to posture, basic breathing exercises etc - but the vast majority of the book is a sort of recipe book for meditation. Each section gives a series of meditations with very...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by Waterbaby

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very handy
This little book is very handy if like me you want to learn how to meditate and the different types of meditation. I appreciate that this book is not focused on the spiritual side of this practice as in the past I have purchased books that were more about the spiritualism than meditation itself. I also liked that unlike other books it does not talk only about one type of...
Published 18 months ago by Culture Enthusiast


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recipe book for meditators, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
The Meditation Bible is perfect for someone like me, who wants to explore the benefits of meditation without subscribing to Buddhism or any other belief system. Gauding gives a brief introduction to posture, basic breathing exercises etc - but the vast majority of the book is a sort of recipe book for meditation. Each section gives a series of meditations with very practical applications. Coming out of a relationship? Preparing for surgery? Just wanting to enjoy the outdoors, or calm down after a busy day at work? There is a meditation here for you, explained with great clarity.

I had wanted to try meditation for a while, but was put off by the books that tell me to visualise my chakra colours glowing, or to meditate upon the kindness of the Buddha etc. This book is a much more secular affair. If you are drawn to Eastern spirituality, then a handful of these meditations do touch on it - using a mandala or meditating on the Buddha - but this is intended as a sort of handbook, and the author explains that she doesn't expect every meditation to suit everyone.

I bought this with The Meditation Experience by the same author, which is perhaps a better choice if you are new to meditation. The Meditation Experience takes you through the basics of breathing, body scan and posture in a non-hectoring, but very useful way. It also comes with a CD which I found helpful. The two books together form a really accessible, secular meditation course free of the Eastern jargon that can sometimes be off-putting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
This little book is very handy if like me you want to learn how to meditate and the different types of meditation. I appreciate that this book is not focused on the spiritual side of this practice as in the past I have purchased books that were more about the spiritualism than meditation itself. I also liked that unlike other books it does not talk only about one type of meditation (focusing), but also about other three types (thinking, visualising and experiencing).
It is very well written, the explanations are easy to implement and it is very comprehensive. 4 stars as it would be great if it came with a CD. However, after purchasing this book I have found out that the author has published another book on meditation with a CD, which I may buy. If you are a beginner this book is a great introduction to meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 July 2012
By 
Lucy (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
Being a beginner, I have recently received this book and I am not disappointed. It definately pays to take onboard existing reviews as well, and you won't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not meditation but light contemplation idea book, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contains ideas for contemplative practices. Useful to question oneself and contemplate on some daily issues, can be done anytime to any length and in any situation; nevertheless nothing that would lead to knowledge, insight or enlightenment.

If you already meditate (whether it's insight, mindfulness, yogic meditation practices etc - whichever style) there is nothing for you.

If you don't meditate but have trouble in daily life and want to spend 3 minutes to calm down a bit and to contemplate on a problem then you might find a question or two to ponder upon.
This book won't lead you to meditation though ... Look for Jack Kornfield or Sally Kempton or any other more knowledgeable persons writings for meditation practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book, would have prefered a larger size printed format., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
This is a physically small size book - similar to a paperback novel, although it contains all the required information. I'm sure that this book has been printed in a larger format (~A4) in the past, and I'll admit this is what I had in mind at the time of placing my order. Apart from that, I'm please with the book, although for this type of material, a larger size format of such books would be preferred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meditation Bible: The Definitive Guide to Meditations for Every Purpose (Godsfield Bible), 17 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
Great book with many examples of different types of meditation. Easy to follow, simple steps with good instruction and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Presents, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought them as presents to help with stress, I have had the same bible for along time now and use for references
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok..., 9 Jan 2007
By 
A. Clarey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are looking for something that is incredably basic then this is for you, its good for quick fix solutions but nothing that is going to change your life. If you want something deeper with insight, something for the long term that will make a difference then look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does the trick, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles (Paperback)
I needed to relax from the stresses of the year and this helped me relax I kept falling asleep. Had seen it mentioned in daily mail article so thought I would take a look. Gld that I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reader., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not exceptionally capitivating but clear and to the point. A good starting point for those who know nothing about meditation. Can be used effectively in working in a group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles
The Meditation Bible: Godsfield Bibles by Madonna Gauding (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews