Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2003
This is the first book that I have seen that covers the monastic dress of the first brothers-at-arms of the Order of the Hospital of St John at Jerusalem. All the full coloured drawings are of fantastic detail and bring to life the appearance of these fighting monks. For everyone interested in the Knights Hospitaller, this is one book that you MUST have in your collection.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2008
This is an excellent introduction to the Templars' contemporaries (and sometimes rivals) the Hospitallers. The ever-prolific David Nicolle takes the story from the origins of the Order to the epic siege of Malta in 1565, employing a host of beautiful colour illustrations, including many of his own photographs of the sites described. The book includes a very useful chronology, list of Masters of the Order and glossary, as well as a number of helpful maps. Very good value for money.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Good little paperback, I found it very helpful when I was writing my novels. The illustrations are nice and colourful and the text is detailed, easy to follow and logically laid out.
If you need to know about the weaponry or other little details of the Hospitallers this is a good place to start!

Steven A. McKay, author of Kindle's "War" chart number 1's Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord) and The Wolf and the Raven (The Forest Lord Book 2)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
After a visit to Malta, this was a quick and informative book to find out some more onformation on the knights Hopitallers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Not sure what to make of this product. Both the format and the illustrations give the impression of a history book for tweens or teens, while the actual text is more heavy and adult-oriented. Also, it only covers the period 1100-1306. I would rather recommend Helen Nicholson's “Knights Hospitaller”, reviewed by me at the appropriate product page. However, David Nicolle's book isn't a total let down, so I nevertheless give it the OK rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
A very informed book for the military history buff, or like me, Amber of the St john ambulance who wish to know about the orders history. Although I have given 5 stars it's a shame there isn't more coloured pictures in the book of some of the important sites the historian talks about, but otherwise a good book from osprey
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Brilliant, very interesting arrived as described. Pleased with all aspects of this purchase, certainly would suggest reading it to get an overview of the orders early history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I was a bit disappointed with the drawings. They were not sharp and clear enough. Too impressionistic use of the brush. Not enough warrior masculinity in the expression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Handy little introductory book. Beautifully illustated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I am currently studying the Hospitallers & Templars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)