Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eysenk and Keane
VEry useful book for my first year cognition lectures, and it's been recommended as a core text for 2nd year aswell. Readable, and not too complex to understand.
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by J. Webster

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest to understand but ok
this book was ok, nothing great. Did not explain things very clearly and it was a tough topic too. I only bought it as it was recommended by course.
Published 12 months ago by AVS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eysenk and Keane, 3 Nov 2007
By 
J. Webster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
VEry useful book for my first year cognition lectures, and it's been recommended as a core text for 2nd year aswell. Readable, and not too complex to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful if you can understand it, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Sean OToole (Derby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
This was a recommended text for my cognitive psychology course, and it was most definitely a great boon to the work that I had to do in that course, as it contained a lot of information in easy to follow chapters. However, the book fell into the psychology cliché of being bland and monotonous, and not always easy to understand.

This book makes an excellent reference guide for specific theories on cognitive areas of psychology, and is best taken one section at a time, and in light of this wil be a very useful tool for any cognitive psychology module, be it on memory, perception or other areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
This helped with my degree, good quality information and diagrams to aid in the understanding of certain terms and models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest to understand but ok, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
this book was ok, nothing great. Did not explain things very clearly and it was a tough topic too. I only bought it as it was recommended by course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my "required" readings at University, 15 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Matthew Sheen "MattSheen" (Chester, Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
I had to buy this book as it was on my required reading list for the cognitive psychology module. As textbooks go this is fantastic. Easy to use and full of every piece of information I required for the module.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Must try harder, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
This book should be a very good guide to the topic and certainly contains lots of interesting studies, research and theories. However the writing style is impossibly difficult to follow and too many terms are used without explanation only adding to the confusion. More diagrams would have been very useful as the authors try to, unsuccessfully, describe experiments with words when pictures would have been better. If I wrote my uni assignments like this book I would be failing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential but difficult, 10 Jan 2010
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
Essential but difficult
Although I think this book is useful because it contains a clear evaluation of each section and a glossary at the end of the book, I think the writing style is quit complicated and doesn't really invite me to read any further then necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
E. Romani "Betty" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
A must have for psychology students and anyone interested in how our brain works, how we perceive object and faces, how we make 'irrational' decisions, how we develop language, etc.
A comprehensive text written in a friendly manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars crap, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
even thought this was a recommended text book, it was horrible to read.
Its not at all student friendly!
very bland and monotonious (spelling?)
i recommend buying a different cognitive book, which one? I have no idea but do not buy this one.
having said that i did pass my cognitive exam.
but i bet a different book would have made my life much easier!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book to have for Psychology., 30 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook (Paperback)
Can't fault how useful this book is; looks brand new, however, the condition of the book does not suggest that. This is not the first time I've bought a textbook off amazon, only to find that the condition was not good; like many customers I like to feel and see that a product is prestine and untouched. However, if you are not fussed about the condition, then buy-buy-BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook
Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook by Mark T. Keane (Paperback - 26 April 2005)
Used & New from: 4.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews