Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide
Very handy pocket sized guide printed on glossy paper with lots of colour photos.There are planned walks, taking in places of interest, and city maps.Ideal for a few days in Bath.
Published on 28 Mar 2009 by V. Murray

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a guide - pointless
Bought this so-called 'guide' in anticipation of my first trip to Bath. It's frankly next to useless and contains little more information than what could be picked up for free at the tourist office. Basically its a list of half a dozen or so of Bath's landmarks with a few pictures and descriptions in large text. There are no references to pubs/restaurants whatsoever. At...
Published 5 months ago by MR M D G HOOK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide, 28 Mar 2009
By 
V. Murray "rudbekia" (Wakefield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very handy pocket sized guide printed on glossy paper with lots of colour photos.There are planned walks, taking in places of interest, and city maps.Ideal for a few days in Bath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what a girl needs!, 2 Aug 2010
I bought this book on a whim, having already purchased a couple of more traditional guidebooks on Bath prior to girls' weekend away there. The others have remained untouched as this one contains all you need to know. It is full of unusual info and tips , the sort of thing you really need to know to get the most out of a trip. If, like me, you are into retail therapy, there is lots of info on shops other than the usual High Street chains, places I would otherwise probably not have found. The book also helped us to get the most out of a few days away - after all, not even I can shop 24/7! I would recommend it to anyone looking for any kind of visit to Bath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enough for a day visit to bath, 21 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
I used it for a day visit to bath and honestly it covered all my needs for sightseeing. It is concise and precise. But the section on eating,drinking needs a bit of more detailed information. more You will see this guide being used by almost every tourist in the city, buy one before you go if you do not have a more general book like Lonelyplanet-england or so...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bath (Pitkin City Guides), 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
Published in 2007 but still very relevant. I stayed in Bath for 3 days and visited various restaurants on Milsom Street (clearly shown in the guide). Also enjoyed a visit to Bath Aqua Glass for a demonstration (recommended in the guide). Recommended walks are also good. For me the guide was the perfect choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very useful guide, full of information. It's smaller than I expected (perhaps I should take more notice of the measurements given) but nonetheless, its a lovely book and I'm pleased I bought it. In fact, I intend to buy others in the range as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable holiday guide, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
On a recent break in Bath we found this guide book very useful, small enough to carry around yet comprehensive enough to enjoy the sights fully. It also included an useful map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Fan, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of the Pitkin City Guide series and have several for different places visited. It is ideal if you have a short break/weekend planned anywhere, Bath in this instance. The photos are excellent and give a good flavour of the place; there isn't much in the way of prose, but who reads the whole guidebook for a 2-3 night break anyway? I just want to know the important things and get a feel of what are the areas of interest to visit. For under a fiver, these are excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a guide - pointless, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this so-called 'guide' in anticipation of my first trip to Bath. It's frankly next to useless and contains little more information than what could be picked up for free at the tourist office. Basically its a list of half a dozen or so of Bath's landmarks with a few pictures and descriptions in large text. There are no references to pubs/restaurants whatsoever. At only roughly 40 or so pages long, and in a format thats far too large to fit in your pocket, its a completely redundant object and sits unused on my bookshelf since it was given an initial flick through upon first receiving it. To call it a city guide is a joke - its a pamphlet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guide series around, 17 Jun 2013
I'm really sad that this series seems to have dried up. They take you beyond the obvious facts and most famous places to dine and recline and give a real feel for the city. I've often lived in the cities (or been a frequent visitor) in the series and feel that I recognise the one being presented in these colourful informative guides. There's often nothing else around like them. Some years after publication the presentation (and much of the information) still rings true. And there's nothing much else available to give a flavour of the city, not with so many pictures and a text that just avoids being arrogant and aggravating or predictable. Wish they'd extend the series and update this. So many guides just show you Georgian terraces and Roman leftovers, but this shows you the shops, cafes and theatres - which are as much part of the Bath I know as Jane Austin or John Wood's legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a weekend visit, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) (Paperback)
The suggested itineraries for a walking tour were ideal. The guide was a great help.Made very good use of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides)
Bath City Guide - English (Pitkin City Guides) by Annie Bullen (Paperback - 20 April 2007)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews