Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this guide and book your flights!
My copy of the first edition of this guide served us very well on tours of Zimbabwe in 2011 and 2013. With all the changes that have taken place in the country over recent years, trying to provide accurate and detailed information in print is almost impossible. The online updates the author put on the Bradt website between editions were incredibly useful and my old book...
Published 19 months ago by D. Parsons

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but needs updating
This guide is thorough and detailed but needs updating. Zimbabwe is a fantastic place to visit, and VERY safe. Maps were good and we used the "where to eat" guides.
Published 12 months ago by Nicola


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this guide and book your flights!, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
D. Parsons (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
My copy of the first edition of this guide served us very well on tours of Zimbabwe in 2011 and 2013. With all the changes that have taken place in the country over recent years, trying to provide accurate and detailed information in print is almost impossible. The online updates the author put on the Bradt website between editions were incredibly useful and my old book was peppered with deletions and scribbled-in amendments. Now this excellent second edition has come out in plenty of time for me to plan the next trip and I can happily recommend it to anybody thinking of visiting. The guide is comprehensive and contains answers to more or less anything a visitor might want to know. Self-driving is a great way of getting around and there is an excellent section on this, as well as improved maps and much fuller entries on where to stay and eat.
Zimbabwe needs tourists to support its economic growth and visitors are made welcome everywhere. This book will enable you to move around with confidence and in comfort, with some real treats along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take it with you :), 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This book came with me on my travels :)
It was brilliant.. In a time and place where nothing stays the same for very long this travel guide was informative enough to give me several options. I back packed my way accross Zimbabwe alone. I always managed to find a place to stay to eat or to visit :) well worth the money !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but needs updating, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is thorough and detailed but needs updating. Zimbabwe is a fantastic place to visit, and VERY safe. Maps were good and we used the "where to eat" guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book. Very informative!, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Lovely book. Very informative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The colonial and post-UDI history section seems very left leaning and inaccurate - what else in this book has such a bias?, 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Read how Paul loves Zimbabwe "to bits" but then later we read that he now resides in KwaZulu: one has to ask if he loves the country so much why live somewhere else?

In the History section in the Background Information chapter it becomes very clear which political camp Mr Murray is in, any issue relating to the colonial and post-UDI era is slanted and exagerated (and in some cases innacurate in the sense that not all of the background is provided) whilst post independence problems are dealt with seemingly as if they were/are minor. Having a knowledge of the region and its history, reading this section caused me to wonder if I was reading what I knew to be the case. I consider the sentence in which Murray supposedly quotes Ian Smith, "I don't believe in black majority rule ever in Rhodesia, not in a thousand years." to be a travesty of journalism and the point at which I started to question the authenticity of what is being written. Anyone with any interest in this region knows full well that Smith continued with that statement explaining that he believed that there should be equal rule initially. He privately told many people that after training and experience, the blacks would be able to form a majority government: between 5 - 10 years hence. Very little research is required to establish this fact yet Murray simply quotes what is readily available.

As a result of this lack of professionalism, one has to wonder just how accurate the rest of the book is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides)
Zimbabwe (Bradt Travel Guides) by Paul Murray (Paperback - 27 Aug. 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews