Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Guide
This is an excellent book in so many ways. Firstly, it is beautifully written with the descriptions of places balanced by factual information and practical tips. I liked the short articles within the main text that provide at least a start for those wishing to understand more about Sudan, its history and its culture. There is a short bibliography at the back that usefully...
Published 14 months ago by Muna Zaki

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointing
I am very disappointed by this book. I previously purchased the previous edition and I got this one because it claimed to be fully updated. I read it from cover to cover and I couldn't find anything new that was useful. I feel it has only be re-written in some parts.
I go regularly to Sudan and I can guarantee that it isn't worth buying it. Buy the older version and...
Published 29 days ago by Fiona P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Travel Guide, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Muna Zaki (Khartoum, Sudan) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent book in so many ways. Firstly, it is beautifully written with the descriptions of places balanced by factual information and practical tips. I liked the short articles within the main text that provide at least a start for those wishing to understand more about Sudan, its history and its culture. There is a short bibliography at the back that usefully includes a short summary of what each recommended publication is about. This guidebook is well designed, easy to follow and lavished with some wonderful coloured photographs.

I feel that the book could included more about Sudanese food and drink. Inevitably the book focuses on the tourist sites which most visitors will want to see and where there are hotels etc. But there could have been more on some of the more remote places such as Northern Kordofan- the camel market at El Obeid is much better than in Omdurman so why not include it? The nearby town of Bara is a wonderful step of the beaten path but it doesn't get a mention.
There are also a few mistakes as you would expect in a book brimming with so many useful facts and pieces of information. For example, the old Episcopal Cathedral was All Saints' Cathedral rather than St Michael's Cathedral and it was William not George Browne who was the first European to visit Darfur. Nevertheless, these are minor and reader does not lose confidence in the book (or the authors). Inevitably a travel book also become out of date the moment it has been printed. So, unfortunately the authors' recommendation to visit the Ethnographic Museum can not be followed as the place has been closed/demolished.

I can't recommend this book enough to those foreigners (and Sudanese who have grown up abroad) who are coming to the Sudan and want to travel independently across this amazing country.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide, 30 July 2010
By 
SG "SG" (Manchester,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been to Sudan a couple of times before I found this guide. I wished I found it while i was visiting the country as I found this guide very completed and well reseached. Besides of all the usual stuff of travel guides, this one gives a very good insight of the culture, history and people of the country, plus some arabic to help you out. It's a must have guide if you decide to visit this lovely country
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top ofthe lot, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Nils Finn Munch-petersen (Gudhjem, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Thorough and sound.Bradt Travel Guides have become the top of the lot for travellers who want a bit in-depth whithout carrying full academic library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New and improved 3rd edition, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
The 3rd edition of this guide came out in Nov 2012 and has been thoroughly updated to reflect the partition of the country in summer 2011 and the ever-changing security situation. The publisher has taken on feedback about the maps, improving the existing ones and adding several new site plans to make sites easier to navigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointing, 22 Nov 2014
By 
Fiona P (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I am very disappointed by this book. I previously purchased the previous edition and I got this one because it claimed to be fully updated. I read it from cover to cover and I couldn't find anything new that was useful. I feel it has only be re-written in some parts.
I go regularly to Sudan and I can guarantee that it isn't worth buying it. Buy the older version and save some money or buy the Trail guide to North&South Sudan, which at least has been written by people that have lived in Sudan for years and not just passed by to update the guidebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the busieness! IThe book is very useful. I can't say more!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Thanks for the busieness! IThe book is very useful. I can't say more!Thanks for the busieness! IThe book is very useful. I can't say more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overly positive, 10 Oct 2011
I was given this guide six months into a visit to Sudan, and have been using it for the best part of a year. Its been invaluable for pointers on things to do. My main problem with the book is that it gives the impression that Sudan would be a good place to visit as a tourist. There are some gems (e.g. the Pyramids and Meroe, the National Museum, and the beautiful landscape) but generally the "places of interest" included would stuggle to make it into the travel guides of most other countries. As a guide for those already in Sudan it is useful. However if you are a tourist thinking of visiting Sudan, for reasons of insecurity, bureaucracy, travel restrictions, and a general lack of interesting things to do, I'd recomend elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best., 25 Jan 2011
By 
I have never before used a Bradt guide - and never wish to again!

Some of the basics are OK, but it is extremely sketchy on the sites of interest - little detail and no plans. Poor maps too.

Come on the rest - Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, Footprint... get your fingers out - you have no serious competition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides)
Sudan (Bradt Travel Guides) by Max Lovell-Hoare (Paperback - 26 Nov 2012)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews