Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for travellers to Sierra Leone or anyone interested in the country
In the not too distant past, Sierra Leone was a thriving tourist destination with luxury hotels dotting its miles of pristine beaches. On one side lay the turqouise Atlantic ocean, on the other a stunning backdrop of forest-covered mountains. The country's troubles in the 1990s brought all that to a griding halt. The hotels closed and were claimed by the forest, while...
Published on 5 Jun. 2009 by Long Way Gone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice guide, but severly outdated
The guide is nice and it covers a huge number of topics and places. the main problem though is that it is quite outdated and in many cases the restaurants and hotels reviewed either do not exist any more or they have nothing to do with the review in the guide. to be fair though, probably businesses in Sierra Leone seem to evolve too quickly, with too many companies going...
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by Omar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for travellers to Sierra Leone or anyone interested in the country, 5 Jun. 2009
In the not too distant past, Sierra Leone was a thriving tourist destination with luxury hotels dotting its miles of pristine beaches. On one side lay the turqouise Atlantic ocean, on the other a stunning backdrop of forest-covered mountains. The country's troubles in the 1990s brought all that to a griding halt. The hotels closed and were claimed by the forest, while the number of tourists could have been counted on the fingers of one hand. And that remains pretty much the same to this day, even though SL's war is now a memory and the country has possibly the lowest crime rate in Africa.

For Sierra Leone's economy this has been a disaster. But for the adventurous traveller it is a rare gift. Sierra Leone is the utimate forgotten gem. It's not just off the beaten track, it's pretty much off the track full stop. And that's where this book becomes indispensable. It allows the independent traveller to make their own trail.

The amount of research that must have gone into producing this guide cannot be underestimated. To visit one district outside Freetown is a (worthwhile) feat. To have visited them all, met their chiefs, and researched their oppounities for adventure (and a decent meal) is true labour of love. I can completely understand why the Director of Tourism sounds so bowled over in his quote above. It must have been hard to imagine that such a guide would or could have been written under these authors did it. Travellers with wanderlust owe them a real debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide on Sierra Leone, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
Buguda (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I have to admit that although I am a Sierra Leonean who has travelled widely acrosss Sierra Leone, this guide taught me a few things I did not know about my country! It is well written and tells it like it truly is. The country is as beautiful as the guide says, but the guide is also honest about the challenges a visitor might face.

Definitely the best guide I have come across on Sierra Leone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. T. W. Barlow (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used this guide for my first trip to Sierra Leone and found it to be very useful. We travelled to Freetown, Banana Island, Bo and Tiwai Island and everything in the book was up to date and we used the phone numbers mentioned to arrange boat trips etc.

Sierra Leone is such a beautiful country and this book did it justice. My copy has now fallen apart I read it so much and I will be using it again when I go back next year to get married!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sierra Leone travel guide, 3 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Sierra Leone (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This book was a fantastic resource for me. It highlighted everything I needed to know and more, I felt confident about the content and the locals were very impressed with how much I knew about there country. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, great country, 14 May 2009
Having lived in S.L. for a number of years and traveled across Africa, i can honestly say this is the best travel guide you are going to find. The recomendations for hotels, beaches, culture, nightlife etc are honest and interesting.

the guide is simple to follow, comprehensive and far longer than other travel guides i have read on S.L.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice guide, but severly outdated, 2 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The guide is nice and it covers a huge number of topics and places. the main problem though is that it is quite outdated and in many cases the restaurants and hotels reviewed either do not exist any more or they have nothing to do with the review in the guide. to be fair though, probably businesses in Sierra Leone seem to evolve too quickly, with too many companies going out of business and many others dropping standards everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dependable, detailed and in-depth, 17 May 2009
By 
Edward Griffiths (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bradt guides have generally been fantastic.

This guide is no different as the author covers all the essentials in an easy to follow narrative which will really allow you to see the best of this amazing country.

A tried and tested guide which mare than pays for itself. An absolute must for potential travelers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Travelling round Sierra Leone, 1 Mar. 2010
By 
R. Flanary (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the only travel guide for Sierra Leone. It is a useful guidebook, which I have used extensively as I have travelled round the country. The background section is also a very interesting account of the history of the country and well worth reading before you go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I believe there is now a newer version of this published, but I'm sure much of the general content will be the same, this served my purpose to get an insight into travelling to Sierra Leone.
great delivery time, great condition
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant information, 13 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having been to Sierra Leone more than once, I felt this book gives an honest assessment of the country.
It is well written, easy to read and a must for anyone wishing to tracel there, whether on business or holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sierra Leone (Bradt Travel Guides)
Sierra Leone (Bradt Travel Guides) by James Knight (Paperback - 24 Sept. 2012)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews