Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, a brilliant present, and a great adventure on Britain's local bus services
If you presume that the average person on the street (or, indeed, the man on the top deck of the number 27) can't write, then this book could persuade you otherwise. The topic is improbable, and all the better for that. Who ever would have thought that regular local bus rides could be so full of interest? And Bradt Travel Guides have brought together three dozen authors,...
Published on 28 Oct 2011 by N Pear

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes
I have mixed feelings about this book - perhaps I'm being a little hyper-critical but I would have preferred a little more about some of the places achieveable to visit on one's Bus Pass. Maybe the author wanted to get in as much as possible within the covers of a pocketable paper-back and it is not easy to decide what to include and what to omit. I really treasure my Bus...
Published 19 months ago by Cyril N. Cowley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, a brilliant present, and a great adventure on Britain's local bus services, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
If you presume that the average person on the street (or, indeed, the man on the top deck of the number 27) can't write, then this book could persuade you otherwise. The topic is improbable, and all the better for that. Who ever would have thought that regular local bus rides could be so full of interest? And Bradt Travel Guides have brought together three dozen authors, even more perhaps, who seem very good at telling the stories of their favourite bus rides.

If you have a relative or friend edging close to bus pass eligibility, this book will make a good present. And it'll be just as well received (despite the reference to bus passes in the title) by younger readers too. As one of the writers say in the book " Britain's bus networks will grow and thrive only if those not yet eligible for a bus pass make use of buses now. Bus operators rely on full-fare passengers to maintain a viable service." I like the slightly evangelical lilt to some of the texts. I suspect many of the contributions come from a generation who saw their railways curtailed by Beeching and they don't want to see the same happening to their local buses. And the book features bus journeys to places long abandoned by the railways. They include a route to the windy Isle of Grain in the Thames Estuary, a stop-and-go tour of the coast of Norfolk, a lovely run up the Tweed Valley to Kelso and beyond and a comic rural ride through the valleys of mid-Wales.

Very readable and fun with some decent prose too. Of course with so many authors it varies a little, but I get a sense of a book that hangs together well. Actually, it has a more coherence that many travel books authored by just a lone writer.

There is a group of `experts' tucked away in Whitehall just now preparing the final report of a Commission on the future of British local bus services. I think that report is due out next month. I hope every member of that Commission reads this book. It shows just how important our local bus services are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
We have just been given this book as a present and it is both informative and very readable! As fairly recent bus pass holders who live in rural Norfolk where the nearest bus service is about 5 miles away, we look forward to trying some of the bus rides in the book at the earliest opportunity!
I recommend this as a gift for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful gift for anyone with a bus pass, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
An easy book to follow, wipe clean and clear writing and descriptions. Ideal gift for bus pass brigade anywhere in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, even for those of us who haven't quite reached bus pass age!, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
I first heard of this book when I read in my local paper that one of the bus routes in my area was featured in the book. As a non-driver I travel frequently on small sections of that particular service, so was interested to read what the book had to say about it.

I must admit I was initially put off by the title of the book as I'm nowhere near buss pass age, but it has proved to be a very interesting and entertaining read. As well as a description of the routes, there are boxes dotted throughout featuring details of recommended places to eat along the route, as well as trivia about selected places which I have found to be very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bus-Pass Britain, 24 Feb 2012
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband who has just recently received his Bus Pass. He is enjoying reading the book and is looking forward to trying out some of the recommended routes this Summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Cyril N. Cowley (Stockton on Tees, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
I have mixed feelings about this book - perhaps I'm being a little hyper-critical but I would have preferred a little more about some of the places achieveable to visit on one's Bus Pass. Maybe the author wanted to get in as much as possible within the covers of a pocketable paper-back and it is not easy to decide what to include and what to omit. I really treasure my Bus Pass and am continually searching for new places to visit I venture to suggest that there is scope for a series of regional books of this genre rather than one attempting the impossible covering the whole of the UK. All this said, it has certainly whetted my appetite! More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
all as described -ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For any would-be tourer by bus, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
This excellent book gives many ideas for bus tourers, especially those with bus-passes, but check timetables and route details beforehand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bus-Pass Britain: 50 of the Nation's Favourite Bus Journeys (Bradt Travel Guides (Bradt on Britain)) (Paperback)
brikkiant, wish i had bought more, might even do so as most of our friends have bus passess. could do with local ones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews