Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - the envy of all other passengers on our boat
Took this book with us on our recent trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos. Really useful, packed with loads of background natural history info & great pictures, and helped us get far more out of our trip than we would have otherwise. Detailed information about all the landing sites. The book came home very battered as every passenger on the boat used it daily!
Published on 28 Sept. 2000

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Collins one
I bought this to accompany me on a Galapagos cruise, my mother-in-law bought the Collins Galapagos Wildlife guide. On the cruise although mine was perfectly ok, we both without fail turned to hers in preference. I think that says it all.
Published on 22 Nov. 2008 by Frogvet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - the envy of all other passengers on our boat, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
Took this book with us on our recent trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos. Really useful, packed with loads of background natural history info & great pictures, and helped us get far more out of our trip than we would have otherwise. Detailed information about all the landing sites. The book came home very battered as every passenger on the boat used it daily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travel Size Galapagos, 17 Jan. 2000
By 
This relatively small book on the wildlife of the Galapagos Islands is packed with information and pictures. The author has gone to a great deal of trouble to condense a vast amount of data into a handbook for the traveller, without sacrificing essential information, clarity or accuracy. Not only does it cover the wildlife that the visitor is most likely to encounter, it also gives a succinct history of the islands. Working in the Galapagos Travel Industry, and having considered many similar books for pre-trip briefing and ready reference while in the islands, this is the book I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the Collins one, 22 Nov. 2008
I bought this to accompany me on a Galapagos cruise, my mother-in-law bought the Collins Galapagos Wildlife guide. On the cruise although mine was perfectly ok, we both without fail turned to hers in preference. I think that says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
Definitely the most authoritative and up-to-date guide to the Galapagos Islands, written by licensed Galapagos naturalist guides. Descriptions of the wildlife have just the right amount of interesting and factual information and there is a very useful section on visitor sites and island landings as well as one on conservation. And - a major plus - a convenient size to pack. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars galapagos, 2 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A useful guide for visitors to the islands and the armchair tourist
Following an introduction which deals with geology,climate and history the book has 10 sections covering habitats,plants, invertebrates,reptiles,birds,mammals,the seashore,underwater,landing sites and conservation.Each part is well written and easily read.
The maps and most pictures are good but too many illustrations are too small and badly exposed.The glossary is adequate,the further reading and index sections but printed in such small type make them difficult to read without a magnifying glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos Wildlife, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
R. B. Field (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book. It was the reference on the cruise boat and many of the pictures and commentaries relate to sites that would be visited on a Galapagos Cruise. It is also a fraction of the price you will pay in the islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos Wildlife Book, 21 Feb. 2009
By 
Denise Pearson (Poole, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just ben to Galapagos and this book very accurately portrays the wildlife there. Arrived in good condition and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, informative book, 18 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Roberts "DRoberts" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galápagos Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) (Paperback)
This book is really useful as it details the landing sites for all the islands you could visit. Great description of the islands and animals, has really helped me plan my trip and will be taking this book with me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos wildlife, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galápagos Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) (Paperback)
Another great book published by Bradt.
It is packed with useful information about the Islands and the wild life that can be found on each of the Islands.
Some great Photographs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 25 April 2010
going to Galapagos later this year and this book is exactly what I needed.
detailed walks and descriptions of islands plus great photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galápagos Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides))
Galápagos Wildlife (Bradt Travel Guides (Wildlife Guides)) by Pete Oxford (Paperback - 8 Aug. 2011)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews