Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, much much better than the current outdated Lonely planet version
I was very recently on a trip to Georgia for the first time. I was lucky enough to get the 4:th ed of this guide from Bradt (July 2011). I also brought the latest Lonely planet "Georgia" from 2008, but it stayed in my backpack for most of the time, feeling thin and outdated. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Georgia to get this in the first place.Oh, and go visit...
Published on 21 July 2011 by Batumi

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Requires some updating and revising
We travelled with this guide alongside the Lonely Planet's to Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan (published a year later). Despite dedicating less space to Georgia, we found the LP to be consistently more useful in the practical matters of following a hiking route, selecting a restaurant and getting from A to B. The Bradt guide was also guilty of often falling into a...
Published 17 months ago by timaroberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Requires some updating and revising, 28 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
We travelled with this guide alongside the Lonely Planet's to Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan (published a year later). Despite dedicating less space to Georgia, we found the LP to be consistently more useful in the practical matters of following a hiking route, selecting a restaurant and getting from A to B. The Bradt guide was also guilty of often falling into a judgmental, occasionally sneering, tone. Its maps were less accurate than LP's and one was incorrectly orientated. It's only when you read their detailed background info on music, history, culture, etc., that you discover that this book can in fact be erudite and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, much much better than the current outdated Lonely planet version, 21 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I was very recently on a trip to Georgia for the first time. I was lucky enough to get the 4:th ed of this guide from Bradt (July 2011). I also brought the latest Lonely planet "Georgia" from 2008, but it stayed in my backpack for most of the time, feeling thin and outdated. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Georgia to get this in the first place.Oh, and go visit it's a wonderful country, with ethcial and religoius mixes, poverty and riches, and a enormous variation in landscape.

The only thing i found disappointing was that Tblisi's only wholly vegetarian restaurant seemed to have ceased existing (it's both in the LP and the Bradt Georgia guides)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best available, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This is a very well-written and thoroughly researched guide - by far the best currently available in English on Georgia (2013). However, it is outdated in many respects - not least the huge advances which are taking place in infrastructure, communications and traveller facilities in the last 3 years.

The country is posed between SUV hell and the pre-modern era. Someone - presumably the USA - is pouring hundreds of millions into new roads and communications .. and new police cars, which are ubiquitous. Georgia is entirely safe at present (excluding South Ossetia and Abkhazia).

It is a perfect country to visit: exotic, very beautiful (especially old Tbilisi and the high Caucasus), almost empty of tourists, highly diverse, fantastic historical castles and churches, reasonable facilities, good food and much genuine folk-loric culture. The people are generally friendly and politics are very much alive and of course confusing and chaotic. There is even a burgeoning jazz scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs a lot of updating, 3 Jan. 2011
Like most Bradt guides, this a very good publication in general, however, it needs a lot of updating with regard to the current situation in Georgia. Communications (including internet access and wi-fi, transport, electricity supply, amongst other things have all improved greatly in the last four years and there is a lot of promising new building and renovation going on key places of interest such as Tbilisi itself, the ancient capital Mtskheta and in the completely rebuilt hilltop village in Kakheti, Sighnaghi. The political and economic climates have also changed considerably in recent years, obviously, in particular with regard to Abhkazia and South Ossetia. Svaneti, for example, is also becoming much more tourist friendly and accessible, as are other outlying regions such as Tusheti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for a backbacker, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This book was my only guide during two weeks alone backpacking trip to Georgia. It's very well balanced, containing enough background (but not too much) and a lot of accurate practical information. It's sometimes humorous, too. I highly recommend this book and I will buy Bradt guides for my future trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst guide book ever, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Bought it since it's the only guide book on Georgia available.
All the information is incredibly dated and very important information is missing. On the other hand useless information is provided in excess. Best example of the above - a map of Tbilisi city centre, on which only half of the museums and places of interest are marked, only one third of the streets are named, but publishers thought it necessary to mark the direction of the river flow (???) and plenty of restaurants, most of which have ceased to exist.
It's not a problem to find decent maps and travel information in English on arrival in Georgia.
This guide book went to the bin on day two of our 2-week independent trip.
Save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from Georgian, 3 Sept. 2011
By 
Nana Barbakadze (Tbilisi, Georgia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I purchased this book because I was curious what was written about my country. Its been a while that Im wondering why travel series such as Eyewitness Travel Guides or Frommer's dont publish a book about Georgia, so that more people could have idea about my homeland. After discovering this edition, I was excited that there was a decent book. However, I must say Im dissapointed. I read it carefully the very day it arrived. There are many cons concerning this book: 1. Almost no illustrations. There are only few pictures and I can hardly imagine that those pictures can persuade you to travel to Georgia. It's more like yellow pages of Georgia where to eat, stay and etc. Useful information but no need to dedicate entire book to those aspects. 2. Describes Georgians as rather strange people. The book states that when you go to Georgia you should always take something as a present to those people where you are staying because they expect it. NOT TRUE. It might come to surprise to the author but we can be hospital nation without expecting presents in return. 3. The book states that Georgian people are friendly but they always expect something in exchange. WHAT A SHAME! The fact that country is in process of overcoming poverty, does not mean we are friendly because we want something in exchange. I am sorry the author makes such insulting conclusions. 4. The book is not updated for 2011 edition. As the previous reviewers have mentioned also, nothing is mentioned in the book about the new tourist attractions and resorts built in 2010-2011. No information about Mestia Ski Resort, Sighnagi and others. I hope the 2012 edition will be an improved one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor update, 13 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
We found too much of what is in the guide to be out of date, particularly as we bought the brand new version. Some phone numbers quoted are out of date. The described the hotel we stayed in as convenient to city centre, not true. They described one restaurant as English speaking/ Canadian owned. Not true. We couldn't find a restaurant in the guide despite walking up and down the length of the street. Appears to have disappeared. There researchers should do better. PS the country is absolutely worth a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid guide that requires a rigorous update, 30 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Bradt's guide is the best currently available to the country, but unlike their other titles it fails to adequately capture the place and there are numerous errors, some of which result from the author's misunderstandings, and others of which are due to a less than rigorous update. The next edition needs to recognise that Georgia has moved well-beyond the 2008 conflict and to be comprehensively fact-checked to ensure it is of maximum utility to visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost excellent., 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this used edition knowing it to be several years old. I knew it might not be quite up to date but wanted another guide having already got Lonely Planet. This guide has much more history and detail than LP and when they produce an update I will buy it.
So for the time being for the second hand price I paid it was well worth the money and if it had been up to date it would have got easily 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides)
Georgia (Bradt Travel Guides) by Tim Burford (Paperback - 15 Jun. 2011)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews