Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide book there is!!!
I found this guide to be an excellent read both for the background information on Mongolia and for its authoritative sections on the provinces. Most travellers like me want to go to the countryside to experience nomadic life and to be in touch with the ancient traditions of nomadic herders. The in depth knowledge given on wildlife with conservation awareness was also of...
Published on 27 Aug 2007 by Enkhsanaa

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for Mongolia...
This guide is the best guide for travel in Mongolia, but should be combined with another guide such as the LP for maximum effect. The guide has a vast background section with which it gives a real feeling to the country. The guide is low on actual information about places and locations. Two thirds of the book are used for background information.

The book lacks...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Fons


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide book there is!!!, 27 Aug 2007
By 
Enkhsanaa - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this guide to be an excellent read both for the background information on Mongolia and for its authoritative sections on the provinces. Most travellers like me want to go to the countryside to experience nomadic life and to be in touch with the ancient traditions of nomadic herders. The in depth knowledge given on wildlife with conservation awareness was also of particular interest to me. Not all guide books explain how rare species might be better protected. Eco-tourism is well covered and on the whole this guide is a great read - I thoroughly recommend it. As a Mongolian living overseas I was impressed and delighted to see how my country is portrayed by the Bradt guide to Mongolia - congratulations to its author Jane Blunden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mongolia Here I Come!, 5 Oct 2007
I must confess that I have not (yet) visited Mongolia but after reading Jane Blundens Guide I feel as if I have already been there. Just One of the many reasons why this Guide can be considered exceptional is the fact that Jane Blunden manages to transfer her fascination for All Things Mongolian to the reader. It is something of a misnomer to simply call this work a Travel Guide --it is a great read, one that you can dip in & out of and each time you can be certain that you will learn something new about this wonderful Country. This Guide would make an absolutely perfect Christmas Gift. Eamonn Sreenan , Wexford, Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for Mongolia..., 23 May 2011
This review is from: Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is the best guide for travel in Mongolia, but should be combined with another guide such as the LP for maximum effect. The guide has a vast background section with which it gives a real feeling to the country. The guide is low on actual information about places and locations. Two thirds of the book are used for background information.

The book lacks GPS coordinates and locations of sights are not clearly indicated and this book alone would not suffice to locate them. It is a well written guide, but the book clearly needs an overhaul of the travel section. It is not up to par with other Bradt guides and the guide certainly has a more dated feel than the date of publication suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really the best, 10 Feb 2007
By 
This guidebook is intended for people that really want to get deeply in touch with Mongolia, with a very impressive amount of information, region by region.

I really don't think that there could be a better guidebook about this Country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic companion, 12 Jun 2013
This review is from: Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I visited Mongolia for three months in 2011, spending the first two months walking across the Gobi Desert with Bactrian camels and the last month travelling from the south to the north by horse, road and rail. This guidebook set me up very well indeed in terms of understanding Mongolian culture, traditions and history. Such an understanding is incredibly useful, I feel, in a country such as Mongolia, where so much about the place is discovered through experiences rather than sightseeing of the box-ticking variety. It was also of great practical assistance in everything from buying, selling and caring for camels to tipping, and there is a rather helpful phrasebook section at the back. The text boxes, which appear every few pages or so, often contain useful tips or fascinating stories from contributing authors who have, for example, ridden a motorbike across, hunted with eagles in, or volunteered in Mongolia - inspiring accounts that only add to the reader's understanding of the place and the book as a whole, which, ultimately, I found to be a fantastic companion on my travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the armchair tourist, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Sorry to disagree with the previous reviewers but disagree I must. I bought the Bradt guide partly on the strength of earlier reviews and partly to see how other guides compare with Lonely Planet, my normal guidebook of choice. I now know why I lean towards LP.

For sure Part One has a good deal of interesting background and detail which will enhance your understanding of Mongolia and maybe stir a yearning to visit. There is also a good selection of high quality colour photographs to whet the appetite still further. However, Part Two The Guide, the engine room of a good guide book, is sadly lacking. The map of Ulan Bator is not cross-referenced with the text; there is no numbered list of sights, places to eat etc with a grid reference to match back to the map. The fact the UB map shows my accommodation in a place it has not been for years did not exactly endear me to this book nor did it fill me with confidence about the accuracy or attention to detail. Incidentally it is shown correctly in Bryn Thomas's estimable Trans-Siberian Handbook which is of the same vintage so there is no excuse. I found the layout to be confusing, littered with text boxes which have been tossed around like so much confetti.

Oh and one last gripe: the index is in an absurdly tiny font size: why?

It is pretty clear to me this guidebook is targeted at tourists with deeper pockets than mine, who cannot travel too far from home without keeping the normal creature comforts. Phrases such as: 'Ladies, should you need a nice loo when you are out and about in Ulaanbaatar...' speak volumes.

I have not tried a Bradt guide before but on the strength of this one I shall not bother again. I have no idea how good the LP equivalent is, but if it is written to the normal LP standard I suspect it would be far more to my liking.

Jane Blunden clearly has an affinity with Mongolia and her passion shines through. In summary, if you want a nice middle class book to read in a comfortable armchair, telling you how spiffing Mongolia is then this is an excellent choice. If you want a guidebook to use on the ground, to help you with the day-to-day navigation around a wonderful country then this is not the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thenk you, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. Jane Turnage "jane turnage" (essex england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
i was unable to find this book in any shops, so i was very pleased to see it second hand on Amazon. it arrived quickly with a nice note saying enjoy. i would have liked to exchange emails re the country, so if the seller can contact me via Amazon that would be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Clear and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides)
Mongolia (Bradt Travel Guides) by Jane Blunden (Paperback - 15 Jun 2008)
£11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews