Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!
The author was an aid worker in Bosnia during the war, and has a clear love of the country, and the very friendly inhabitants. This does not cloud his writing, and he points out the good and less good things you will come across. The main shortfall of the guide is the lack of good maps, however, this is typical of the country which will hopefully be resolved over the...
Published on 20 Aug. 2004

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average
I have always used Lonely Planet and Rough Guide travel guides in the past, and the only reason I brought the Bradt guide was because it was the only one I could find for Bosnia and Herzegovina. I have to say I'm disappointed with the book - the maps are not easy to follow and have no street index and the suggested walking tours for Sarajevo and Mostar are not shown on...
Published on 24 Sept. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 20 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
The author was an aid worker in Bosnia during the war, and has a clear love of the country, and the very friendly inhabitants. This does not cloud his writing, and he points out the good and less good things you will come across. The main shortfall of the guide is the lack of good maps, however, this is typical of the country which will hopefully be resolved over the coming years as Bosnia develops as an independant state.
This guide will tell you about the beautiful, historical, spectacular and deeply moving places which you will find in Bosnia, to actually see some of them you will have to be a little determined.
Buy the book, travel to the country and discover the beauty of the nature and buildings, as well as the horrors the people living there have been through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 24 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always used Lonely Planet and Rough Guide travel guides in the past, and the only reason I brought the Bradt guide was because it was the only one I could find for Bosnia and Herzegovina. I have to say I'm disappointed with the book - the maps are not easy to follow and have no street index and the suggested walking tours for Sarajevo and Mostar are not shown on the maps. Also there are very few photos in the book (mainly of Mostar, there are very few of Sarajevo). Overall I would say this book is over priced - but it's the only one on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Due a new edition, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
C. E. Baker "CEB" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I'm usually a big fan of Bradt guides, but this is the worst I've used so far. There's very little information on public transport outside of the biggest couple of cities. There aren't enough maps of key tourist destinations, and the write-ups of some key places -- Jajce, Trebinje -- are woefully short and uninformative. On its own, this won't provide you with enough information to plan a trip. The Bosnia section in LP's Western Balkans guide is much more informative.

The Bradt website suggests that there is a new edition due this year -- let's hope it's a big improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 23 Feb. 2007
As a Bosnian myself, living in the UK for the past 14 years, I must say that this book is nothing short of amazing!

The author not only has an impeccable knowledge of the whole of the country (some of the hidden places he describes are not even known to most Bosnians!) but his grasp of history and the culture is almost as good as that of a native.

Admittedly, there is a lack of detailed maps and photos of some of those (very beautiful and pristine) places described in the guide. However some of the photos can easily be found on the internet and accurate maps can be purchased on good sites. Having said that, the addition of photos and maps would make this book all you will need for your adventure in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Having visited most of the towns described I can say that reading Tim's descriptions felt like walking down those streets again.

I often feel like a lot of travel guides I read are written in rather sterile style.

Not this travel guide! Tim Clancy definitely gives it plenty of heart and soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bosnia, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
This book is a valuable and in-depth guide to Bosnia & Herzegovina, with detailed background information, good local contacts, and interesting suggestions for excursions and outings. It is however geared to people travelling by car - the information on buses and local transport is totally insufficient. Each location is described in terms of how to reach it by road with in some cases no mention of the best way to reach it on public transport. As the Bosnian bus system is complicated, this is less than helpful! The bus system is however good, so do not be put off - if you are prepared to decipher how it works with no assistance from the book, you will be able to easily travel by bus!! More maps of towns & villages would also be helpful.
I would recommend a trip to Bosnia to anyone interested, it is a fantastic destination, and this book will certainly help give you a flavour for the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 29 July 2011
By 
Yalcin Savas (FOCA, IZMIR Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have received this guide two weeks before we leave home for a week of BiH and Dubrovnik
trip with my wife. Since we do not like organised tours, we liked to wander upon our own program.

Without this guide, this would be not as enjoyable and easy as we did. The guide is very well designed and organised and
supply very valuable and correct information from culture to currency, habits, restaurants, accomodation
and transportation opportunities, what to do and what to see, etc, etc... We chosed where to stay and where to eat
upon its suggestions and never be disappointed.

Only disappointment was about the train travel between Sarajevo and Mostar. If you cannot resist extreme dirt and smell, pay a
bit more and take a bus that follows the same route, faster and much more cleaner.

Many thanks to the author. I strongly suggest to anybody who wish to visit BiH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the bunch, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bradt are my preferred guides, and this one is written by an author who's very familiar with the country, particularly the countryside, which is a spectacular selling point for visitors to BiH.
I think the historical and cultural details are a little less well drawn than other writers might have made them, but they're nonetheless extensive. Even in Sarajevo, I didn't come across anything more helpful. This is the sort of country that's still trying to find its cultural offering, and different sources offer varying insight and detail, but none are truly comprehensive. A market leader like Bradt could offer a lot of clarity here.
However, of course, the key thing about travel is to get out there and discover for yourself, and if you want to do that, this book is a good companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, lacks substance and detail, 27 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
I bought it in order to have some pointers during my trip but wish I'd saved my money. Terrible writing style, out of date info, lacked a lot of obvious detail, no useful maps or directions to get to places mentioned in the book. And some of the places it says are not worth visiting are actually really nice - too much personal opinion maybe. Has the feel of a book that was put together quickly, not enought thought put to it. Nice photos though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide there is!, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
R. Loosley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bradt Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Great guide, essential for anyone that wishes to see the real Bosnia, superb descriptions from someone that knows the country intimately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the only one, 3 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. S. Gharbaoui (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The only travel guide I could find for Bosnia/Herzegovinia; so i was delighted when i found it on search. The author has a genuine love and interest in the country as he lives there! With a still fragile post-conflict infrastructure, the country's information services are sketchy. With this in mind, the book does a good job at introducing the reader to aspects of the country and resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bradt Travel Guides)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (Bradt Travel Guides) by Tim Clancy (Paperback - 15 Dec. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews