Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know where to go
Booked my holiday before buying the guide. Silly thing to do! However, luckily the travel company provided good advice. Would have made some adjustments though had I had the guide first. It will serve me in good stead when I book my second holiday as I am intrigued.
Published on 5 May 2011 by adopter

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but Basic Overview
This book is certainly very pretty, with excellent photographs.
It is also thin and light-weight, and does cover a little bit of everything: habitats, recommended sites to visit, mammals, birds, reptiles and insects.
As such, it is an inspiring read, and probably the best single-volume book to carry for those who only have a superficial interest in Madagadcar's...
Published on 1 Jun. 2007 by Laszlo Wagner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another useful traveller's book!, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for our neighbours 16 year old son who is off to Madagascar in a few months time, he seemed pleased with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Completely unsuitable as a wildlife guide. Lack of required detail necessary for identification of species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Overview, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Elizabeth Leyden "Virtual Liz" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a concise overview of the wildlife of Madagascar. At its size and price it could not be comprehensive and does not claim to be.
The book opens with an introductory chapter covering issues such as a brief history of the island, classification of species, evolution and conservation; follows with chapters on the different habitats and wildlife hotspots on the island; and continues with chapters on Mammals, birds, reptiles and frogs, invertebrates, Madagascar at night and Camouflage.
It is written by some very knowledgeable authors.
An excellent starter guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar Wildlife, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We were quite disappointed with this. The photos are wonderful, but the range of wildlife is really very small, especially in the bird section. The text is too simplified to be of much help to keen amateurs, and one supposes that they are the likely purchasers of the book. We have found the Bradt Country Guides generally very good, so it was a shame this was so poor in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar 'Wildlife, 16 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful overall guide to main animal and plant species, both as introduciton and reminder of what seen. Need more detailed guides for specialist interests, such as bird watching, as only most spectacular/ common species covered. Great pictures and useful text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Field guide for Madgascar wildlife, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Selected as likely to enhance our upcoming visit to the Island the volume itself seems very well structured and includes some valuable background o phrases and descriptions used.

This will certainly be coming with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar Wildlife, 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good all round book covering a wide range of animal species in Madagascar.The book is light weight making it ideal to take out in the field.Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Use in Madagascar, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With such a wide variety of wild life on the island it was of limited value. Thankfully I had excellent guides in the national parks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madagascar Wildlife: A Visitor's Guide (Bradt Travel Guide Madagascar Wildlife)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews