Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A celebration of England past and thankfully still present, 22 Nov 2006
By 
Elizabeth Goldsack (Midhurst, Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
The Telegraph writer, A N Wilson, wrote the following: "I defy anyone born in England more than 40 years ago not to be enchanted by the Ashley book". However, I am in my thirties and I love this book, I think he could move the goal posts further apart! This would make a wonderful present for anyone who has an appreciation of things past and present in this green and pleasant land. A good present for someone whose circumstances has moved them abroad but whose heart is still in Blighty. Wonderful photos that feature such things as diverse as red post boxes, the rolling English countryside, old black and white road signs, Ladybird book covers (such as Shopping with Mother), stills from British movies, church spires, old travel posters... Lots of interesting snippets of information. It will make you think about what treasures this nation still has to offer, and will probably make you want to do join the National Trust or some other worthwhile charity that carries out preservation work! A great Christmas present solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Found, 30 Nov 2006
By 
E. SEFTON (Ferndown, Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
Five stars plus! Truly a treasure found. My wife is not a lover of books, but in our 36 years, I have never previously seen her so avidly engrossed in a book. Superbly researched and superbly presented. This edition will run and run and run! Here's to the next volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegiac glance at England, 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
This will take anyone, old enough to remember the test card and beyond, back to the 'good old days'. Full of wonderful pictures and photos of a lost England. Not too sentimental either. Lots of interesting facts and a real joy to dip into. I've bought this for all my relations for Christmas...it's just one of those books to treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful things, 12 Oct 2007
By 
Laverne (Haywards Heath, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
This book brought a tear to my eye. It is a glorious celebration, in words and pictures, of the idea that there IS such a thing as society and that you are NOT a failure as a human being if you travel by bus. And so amusingly written. Everything's here, from churches to custard, from steam trains to Shell guides, from smoky old pubs to finger posts. If you know what I'm on about, get hold of a copy of this wonderful book and go all misty-eyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful guide to the visual essence of England today, 16 Mar 2007
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
The most absorbing read I've had in years! You are drawn into the book immediately by a warm, conversational style commentary accompanied by incredibly evocative images. I had visions of Mr Ashley touring around sunny England in an old racing green Morgan, wearing a Hacket's 'St George's flag' jersey with rangefinder in hand. It's certainly inspired my own photographic trips to East Anglia. Would have liked some notes on the photo equipment used - perhaps on the next outing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Today's bargain--NOSTALGIA--only 2s6d, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
Peter Ashley's book is a delightfully quirky look at an almost lost England. Quirky because this is a very personal and different view from most books about the subject. He has cleverly combined traditional things: a village and its church, the countryside, agriculture, the seaside with commercial things: the red phone box, local shops, railways, Southdown coaches and plenty of products like Golden Syrup, Coleman's Mustard, Oxo, Hovis, Craven A or Shredded Wheat.

The ten chapters explore all this with a words and lots of images. For example chapter seven: The Open Road has a page of six milestone photos, a lovely spread with twelve signposts from past decades, car company logos, photos of village garages, road maps from the thirties and more. Chapter nine: Shopkeepers' Shops has a rich selection of grocers, butchers, Post Offices, chemists and hardware shops all described and pictured.

The traditional is here, too. Chapter ten: Coloured Counties is a wrap-up of cottages, windmills, small villages nestling in woodland, rural lanes winding through the countryside and on pages 208 and 9 twelve photos of what could rightly be called traditional views of the landscape.

Chapter four: Guidebook England is an interesting look at the various books from the thirties onwards including the famous Batsford English Life series with their amazing colour covers. Petrol companies were strong promoters of books covering each county with Shell re-issuing and updating their well-known series.

I think this is a lovely book about England from the recent past (it's beautifully designed and printed also) and the bibliography mentions another title that covers the Nation with a fond look backwards: 'The English difference' by Paul Jennings and John Gorham. Well out of print now but copies are still available. Well worth searching out also are the Robert Opie scrapbooks to each of the past decades starting with the Victorian Scrapbook (The Robert Opie Collection).

***FOR AN INSIDE LOOK click 'customer images' under the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anglocentric's Delight, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
Peter Ashley's book is a wonderful celebration of all things uniquely English, though as other reviewers have been quick to point out, it's not just an exercise in nostalgia. Most of the things described here can still be seen if you know where to find them (old fashioned fingerposts, churches, post boxes etc) or alternatively can be bought on the collector's market - Shell Guides, Ladybird and Penguin books etc. It's entirely appropriate that Candida Lycett Green should provide the introduction, as the spirit of her father John Betjeman runs through the book. The double page spread of Shell County Guide covers (the series JB edited) is little short of book collector's porn! Eleswhere the book is beautifully illustrated, including Ashley's own watercolours which are uncredited - that's modesty for you.

One little fact proves that time stands still for no-one. On page 21 Ashley praises the architecture and spirit behind the Shredded Wheat Factory in Welwyn Garden City, writing (in 2006) "long may it be here". Well, the factory still stands, but production stopped in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. T. Johnson "bigdbiz62" (market harborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book capturing the essence of a lost country. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmitigated success, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found (Hardcover)
This book provided a welcome journey back to some of the older if forgotten values of yesteryear. Showing through photographs, illustration and memorabilia how things were not all too long ago. It shows also that whilst changes have taken place that they have not always been for the better but were rather just changes for changes sake. A thoroughly enjoyable read stirring many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found
Unmitigated England: A Country Lost and Found by Peter Ashley (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 2.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews