Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeeves and the Master of the short form
`My Man Jeeves' is a collection of nine short stories five of which chronicle the legendary Jeeves and Wooster who were premiered in Wodehouse's previous collection of short stories `The Man with Two Left Feet'. Jeeves is now the fountain of all world knowledge which he liberally dispenses to Bertie Wooster and his raft of friends all of whom require his assistance to get...
Published on 28 Sept. 2007 by Ian Wood, Author of 'Here's 2 ...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Early Drafts
This book, in my opinion, is not one of Wodehouse's best. At the time, it was the first complete Jeeves book, yet now, all the Jeeves stories have been edited and re-printed in Carry On, Jeeves. The latter collection is better as it contains six new Jeeves stories as well.Carry on, Jeeves
Published on 18 July 2010 by Wodehouse2010


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeeves and the Master of the short form, 28 Sept. 2007
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) (Hardcover)
`My Man Jeeves' is a collection of nine short stories five of which chronicle the legendary Jeeves and Wooster who were premiered in Wodehouse's previous collection of short stories `The Man with Two Left Feet'. Jeeves is now the fountain of all world knowledge which he liberally dispenses to Bertie Wooster and his raft of friends all of whom require his assistance to get their hands of the girl of their dreams or a suitable allowance which are generally kept away by armies of Aunts, Uncles and even worse, potential in-laws. That Jeeves can tame them all is a testament to the man.

The other four stories concern Reggie Pepper whom is a bungling ass of the Bertie Wooster mould but whom takes on his friends menaces all on his own, often with less than satisfactory results.

The majority of the these stories were re-written and used in later collections, most notably `Carry On, Jeeves', the Jeeves stories requiring very little modification but with Reggie's parts split between Jeeves and Wooster. That is not to say that these are rough drafts, these are written by a Wodehouse very much finding his genius for farce. That Reggie Pepper was written out of these stories would appear to be more a commercial rather than an artistic decision.

Anyway the book is fantastic, the writer is a genius, God is in his heaven, the larch is on the thorn and all is right in the best of all possible worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it. Buy it now!, 3 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Paperback)
So in love with them am I, that I find I am simply unable to stop reading. During breakfast (made, lamentably, not by a valet, but my myself) more often than not I am to be found huddled over cereal and toast, nose in the pages; not even walking up and down stairs prevents me from reading. I fancy it now takes rather a long time to traverse them lest I fall flat on my face. I shouldn't mind my face so much as the idea of damaging the book.

Jeeves and Wooster, in a word (or two), are mind-bendingly wonderful. Breath-takingly unique... Absolutely topping. Old Wooster's a rummy sort of chap - has a heart of gold, says Jeeves. Jeeves is a marvel and a miracle and Bertie would be lost without him, old thing.

Modern speech lacks the joy, spirit and beauty of Wodehouse's prose. I toyed with the idea of writing this entire review in Wodehousese, but in no way could I do it justice. However, by the time you're one short story in, you'll find yourself *thinking* in the way they speak, and having to make do with the way we communicate now is a dreadful, dreadful disappointment.

But, even more than that, Wodehouse has created a world that is much, much nicer than ours. My Man Jeeves contains 8 short stories (and I hasten to add, am not generally a fan of short stories... but then Wodehouse isn't your average story-teller) only 4 of which are about Jeeves and Wooster. The other 4 are about Reggie Pepper who was the precursor to Bertie. Jeeves's absence is certainly conspicuous but, as it turns out, it just makes you appreciate the duo all the more.

If you're new to Jeeves and Wooster (oh, if you're new to them, how I envy you!), this is the place to start. And the Bed Book version is absolutely glorious! If you like lying down (aye, well, s'alright) this is best invention since knees that bend. The only difference from normal books being the text is printed sideways. It sounds distinctly underwhelming, like it shouldn't make any difference... but it truly does. And it means you can wile away your witching hour with these spiffing gentlemen, which is surely the blessiest of blessings.

So with all that in mind, there are really only 2 questions: 1) What incentive (and by incentive, I mean shameless bribe) can I offer you to befriend these 2 and join me in starting a language revolution? And, 2) Wodehouse is no longer with us, meaning once all Jeeves and Wooster stories are read, that's it, and the point is - the nub of the thing is - what is to be done about it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Man Jeeves, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the earliest collection of stories featuring Bertie Wooster and his extremely competent valet, Jeeves. Interestingly, Bertie Wooster is hiding out in New York, having failed to carry out an errand for his indomitable Aunt Agatha and unable to face returning home to face her possible wrath. During these stories, Wooster – or his friends – get into various scrapes and are saved by Jeeves. Often the plans backfire, in various farcical ways, but Jeeves always has a suggestion to help rescue the situation.

Some of the stories in this collection feature another character – Reggie Pepper. He is very similar to Wooster and, again, much of the storyline concerns his friends problems. Often his attempts to help are less than welcome, or there is some confusion, but overall the entire collection is humorous and nicely realised. Short stories are difficult to write well, but Wodehouse is obviously a master of the form and these are a fun read and a good introduction to his characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The earliest Jeeves & Wooster stories, 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) (Hardcover)
Published in 1919, this is the first collection of Wodehouse short stories to include Jeeves and Wooster, as well as containing tales of Reggie Pepper, a clear Wooster prototype. Subsequently, a number of the stories were re-worked and appeared in later books (or the TV series). Aficionados of Jeeves and Wooster may be interested to learn that the following classic tales first saw the light in "My Man Jeeves", namely, Jeeves's authorship of a children's book on American birds, Motty (Lord Pershore)'s wild binge drinking and partying in New York, the story of the Duke of Chiswick and the Birdsburg delegates, the "Kiss Tuppy" child, and Rockmetteller Todd - poet turned reluctant New York nightlife king. A fine introduction to what would become a classic 20th century literary double act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully amusing, exquisitely written light entertainment, 24 July 2014
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book covers nine short stories, five of them of the author's legendary Jeeves & Wooster pairing, with another four with Reggie Pepper (who is cut very much from the same cloth as Bertie Wooster) and is a little gem in terms of providing amusement.

Like in the later collections Jeeves' role is so much more than the mundane tasks of his job description, in essence saving the bumbling Bertie and his not dissimilar friends from a perpetual series of unpleasant situations they manage to maneuvre themselves into seems to be the primary occupation. The Jeeves and Wooster episodes here cover the pair's New York period, where somehow in spite of being out of his native ecosystem, Jeeves proves no less astute and capable, and Wooster no less entertaining.

Wodehouse describes the moneyed classes with much cheek and certainly does little to up the appreciation of them with the readers, even if sympathy will often be freely given (something relatively inept members of society are often privy to).

The book is therefore much more of a light, refined comedy than an attempt at social criticism and all fans of Jeeves and Wooster - Complete Collection [DVD] with the inimitable Stehen Fry and Hugh Laurie will do well to try the book version, too. Luckily the majority of the Wodehouse collection has been made available in Kindle format in the meantime, so if you enjoy this, there is much more follow-on reading in the same vein you can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse only the best to enjoy, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wodehouse never fails to give value for money fun, lose yourself in an bypass time wonderful. You never read a bad PG story they are all great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Early Drafts, 18 July 2010
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Paperback)
This book, in my opinion, is not one of Wodehouse's best. At the time, it was the first complete Jeeves book, yet now, all the Jeeves stories have been edited and re-printed in Carry On, Jeeves. The latter collection is better as it contains six new Jeeves stories as well.Carry on, Jeeves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My man Jeeves, 28 Jan. 2010
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Paperback)
Great book, it was a bit of a surprise though that it is a 'bed-book', but that was okay. Not all stories in it are Jeeves-stories, so if you're only looking for those, you might be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) (Hardcover)
PG Wodehouse on top form and a lovely edition from Everyman. Just sublime.
Who could ask for anything more?
Not me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars strange layout, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: My Man Jeeves (Paperback)
As always Jeeves an absolute delight but unlike other reviewers I
hated the layout. What is a 'bed book'? I can't see the point !
For those who have never had a 'bedbook' the print is at right angles to that in a normal book ,also the printing is split into 2 columns -why?
irritating layout and awkward to hold,had I known I would have passed on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Man Jeeves (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE)
My Man Jeeves (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) by P.G. Wodehouse (Hardcover - 7 Sept. 2006)
£9.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews