Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Psmith series
"Leave it to Psmith" concludes the evolution of the Psmith character, from Wodehouse's earliest style of writing with the "Schools" genre, to a comic character whose dialogue keeps the reader entertained throughout. This story sees Psmith enter into Blandings Castle, and though Lord Emsworth is not the dominant character he later becomes, flashes of brilliance are visible...
Published on 8 Jan. 2004 by Paul Donovan

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book ill served by the Kindle edition
I already tried to leave a review, which has not been published - so this is my second attempt. This is a fine book that has been horribly produced for the Kindle edition. I marked up around 60 errors of transcription and formatting. Clearly this has been scanned in but not proof read. I wouldn't mind if the edition was incredibly cheap, but for £5.33 it is shockingly...
Published on 9 Feb. 2011 by Mr. N. C. Angel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pale Parabola of Joy, 4 April 2012
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leave It To Psmith (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) (Hardcover)
Psmith's fourth and, sadly, final appearance in the fiction of P. G. Wodehouse begins when he rescues Eve Halliday from a rainstorm. Soon, for a variety of reasons, both they and a gaggle of others are ensconced in that paradise which is Blandings Castle. Wodehouse weaves one of his characteristic farces with his usual sure hand, bringing into the mix stolen jewellery, a purloined umbrella, flowerpots and even some uncharacteristic gunplay.

This is the second Blandings novel, following Something Fresh. Lord Emsworth is given a more prominent role than in the previous book, but has not yet taken centre stage. This book belongs to Wodehouse's buzzer-supreme, Ronald Eustace Psmith, making his fourth and sadly final appearance. The formidable Lady Constance, Lord Emsworth's sister, makes her début here, along with the favourite Wodehouse plot-device of the married couple with a joint bank account over which the wife has full control, just the arrangement that Wodehouse himself had with his wife, Ethel. This is also the first time that con artists feature in a Wodehouse novel, inveigling their way into the country house to work out their nefarious schemes. Other such characters will feature prominently in later novels. As is usual in Wodehouse's novels, the plot is convoluted, with many twists and turns, until it looks like everything has become impossibly tangled. But Wodehouse was the greatest of plotters, and it is not long before everything is untangled nicely, leaving everyone to their just deserts in true Wodehouse fashion. This is one of Wodehouse's longest novels, but it is one of the best and funniest. A triumph from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Wodehouse, 19 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fresh from toiling reluctantly in his uncle's fish business, Psmith is seeking employment: anything at all, as his advertisement in the Morning Globe makes clear, as long as it has no connection to fish. At Blandings Castle, Freddie Threepwood needs someone to steal his Aunt's necklace. The scene is set for two of P. G. Wodehouse's most joyous creations to come together in a typically entangled plot.

This novel finds Wodehouse operating, as ever, on all six cylinders: if you know and love his work then you will not be disappointed; if you haven't read him yet, then I can guarantee this is a fine way to make your first acquaintance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A perfectly crafted novel, 9 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Leave it to Psmith (Paperback)
This was my first tentative foray from the Jeeves novels - I didn't know whether I'd enjoy this Psmith series quite so much, but I was (thankfully) entirely mistaken.

The plot centres around a very expensive diamond necklace of one Lady Constance Keeble that, it turns out, quite a few people are keen to get their hands on. We are left to rely on Psmith to save the day and needless to say an exquisitely constructed plot mixed with dollops of the most brilliant humour makes for a fantastic read (or, indeed, listen - I highly recommend the audiobook read by Jonathan Cecil).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Joy, 18 Jun. 2009
By 
M. Wood "What the Dickens?" (Midlothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leave it to Psmith (Paperback)
I really can't speak too highly of Leave it to Psmith, it is a delight. It was a joy to read and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to lift their mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Accept it for what it is!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of fun, with daft scenarios and characters. The setting is dated as would be expected and it's very 'upper crust'. However, there are some wonderful turns of phrase and laugh-out-loud humour. The women are feisty and the men incompetent, except for Psmith. If you're a Wodehouse fan, it's definitely a hit, if not you could still enjoy it for the language, but abandon socialist reservations, the need for realism and a wish for depth and enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leave it to Psmith (Paperback)
I adore P.G. Wodehouse, so I knew I would enjoy this book and ended up reading it at one sitting, fortified with plenty of tea and digestive biscuits, which are available here in Texas, thank goodness! So glad to add it to my collection of much loved P.G. Wodehouse books. Laughed out loud several times, as I always do when reading anything by Wodehouse "Most Satisfactory!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse at his best, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of Wodehouse's books are great, but in my opinion he had a golden age of about 20 years when he produced his best work. This book was written during that golden age.

It features many f the Blandings castle regulars, but with less focus on Lord Emsworth and "The Empress" than in most Blandings stories.

If you like Wodehouse then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Wodehouse fans, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leave it to Psmith (Paperback)
I absolutely love Wodehouse, with all his eccentric characters, and unbelievably funny tales. This is probably the funniest Wodehouse book I have ever read, and I've read quite a few. PSmith is a real a Wodehouse anomaly as he's a principal character that is sharp, intelligent and resourceful, as well as being very likeable. If you like Wodehouse, it's a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic writer of the 2oth century, 6 July 2013
By 
P. J. Ruffell (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leave it to Psmith (Paperback)
There is nothing to compare with a Wodehouse novel, especially those set in Blandings Castle and this one is probably the funniest of them all. I've read this book several times and still find lots to laugh at, this isn't so much a book as an investment for when you need to put a smile on your face......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read before Blandings, 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That was the recommendation and I followed it. A good introduction to some of the characters I had seen on the TV version of Blandings. Enjoyed the read and looking forward to more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leave It To Psmith (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE)
Leave It To Psmith (Everyman's Library P G WODEHOUSE) by P.G. Wodehouse (Hardcover - 26 Sept. 2003)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews