Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kindle version is appalling, though (EDIT - no longer true! Hurrah!)
EDIT - THEY SEEM TO HAVE FIXED IT. HOORAY!

Going by the new eBook version now available for download, they've fixed all the old problems there were with this and many of the Wodehouse books. This is great cause for celebration, so I withdraw my negative comments. I've left them below for the record, but while I haven't checked this book throughout for typos...
Published on 26 Feb 2011 by Paddington

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A duff edition
PG Wodehouse is a wonderful author and his original manuscript of The Code of the Woosters must have been wonderful too. But you should not buy THIS edition, which is typeset so badly it is positively bizarre. Even the first word - "I" - is missing. Commas and inverted commas are missing too, and there is even a > computer sign like this on page one. The...
Published on 24 May 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kindle version is appalling, though (EDIT - no longer true! Hurrah!), 26 Feb 2011
By 
EDIT - THEY SEEM TO HAVE FIXED IT. HOORAY!

Going by the new eBook version now available for download, they've fixed all the old problems there were with this and many of the Wodehouse books. This is great cause for celebration, so I withdraw my negative comments. I've left them below for the record, but while I haven't checked this book throughout for typos etc. the formatting really does seem to be 100% massively improved and entirely readable at last. Great news!

A CLASSIC NOVEL - POOR ON KINDLE

I started writing this review with the express purpose of publicly complaining at the poor job done of converting Wodehouse's books to eBooks, and wanted to give this particular product 1/5 to emphasise the point, but it feels like a sin to put anything other than 5 stars next to this - perhaps Wodehouse's very best book.

On Kindle it is useless, unfortunately, along with all of Wodehouse's books. I'm not sure where the publisher got the text files, probably scans of the original. But whilst the books have been attractively set in Arrow's new paperbacks, in eBook form all of Wodehouse's books suffer from having paragraph breaks as well as indentations, and also boast tacky HTML straight inverted commas. Lazy, lazy, lazy. Ten minutes of find+replace in Word and they could have fixed this. It makes it hard to read (you can never get into the flow, having to jump rather than flow from paragraph to paragraph) and looks cheap and nasty. You also have to turn pages probably 30% more than you should, thanks to the pointless spacing.

Pricing, of course, is also less than ideal - but for that I blame the government's 20% VAT on all eBooks (whereas books suffer 0%).

Wodehouse deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Never Let a Pal Down", 19 Aug 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
All of the P.G. Wodehouse novels about Bertram ("Bertie") Wooster and his gentleman's gentleman, Jeeves, are funny. Some are reasonably complicated in their plots. But none compare to this classic in the series.
From the beginning, Bertie is up against impossible odds. Sent by his Aunt Dahlia to sneer at a Cow Creamer, Bertie dangerously bumps into Sir Watkyn Bassett, the magistrate who once fined him five guineas for copping a policeman's helmet on Boat Race night, and Roderick Spode, Britain's aspiring fascist dictator. The only trouble in this encounter is that Bertie is clutching the Cow Creamer on the sidewalk after having tripped on a cat and falling through the front door, and Sir Watkyn recognizes him as a former criminal. Barely escaping arrest on the spot, Bertie returns home to find that Aunt Dahlia wants him to debark immediately for Totley Towers where Sir Watkyn has just taken the Cow Creamer he has purchased after pulling a ruse on Uncle Tom. When there, Bertie is to steal the Cow Creamer. At the same time, he receives urgent telegrams from his old pal, Gussie Fink-Nottle, to come to Totley Towers to save his engagement to Madeleine Bassett. Bertie feels like he is being sent into the jaws of death.
Jeeves immediately fetches up a plot to get Madeleine Bassett, to whom he has been affianced twice, to invite Bertie to her father's home. Upon arriving, Sir Watkyn and Roderick Spode immediately catch him holding the Cow Creamer. Sir Watkyn threatens years in jail, until Madeleine comes in to rescue him. But Sir Watkyn proceeds to assume that everything that goes wrong from then is due to Bertie. For once, Bertie is the innocent party. But he takes the rap anyway, because of the code of the Woosters, never let a pal down.
Never has anyone had a goofier set of pals. Gussie Fink-Nottle has developed spiritually so that he has less fear, but his method of achieving this soon puts him in peril. Stephanie "Stiffy" Byng, Sir Watkyn's niece, has to be the goofiest acquaintance that Bertie has. She is a one-woman wrecking machine for creating havoc. Her fiance, another old pal of Bertie's, "Stinker" Pinker, the local curate, is only slightly better.
Just when you cannot see any way that Bertie can avoid gaol, Jeeves comes up with one brilliant plan after another. It's truly awe-inspiring as well as side-splittingly funny.
P.G. Wodehouse remarked that he preferred to write as though the subject were musical comedy, and he has certainly captured that mood here at its vibrant best. You'll be on the edge of your chair and trying to avoid falling on the floor laughing at the same time.
After you've followed more twists and turns than existed in the Labyrinth at Crete, consider how far you would go to save a pal . . . or to keep a secret . . . or to protect a loved one. What should the personal code be?
Be generous with your friends and to all humankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising treat, 14 Mar 2011
By 
Stuart Fairney (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To my shame, I had ignored P G Wodehouse, regarding it as dated nonsense. The blinkers were lifted from my eyes by a quote in an unrelated book and so I decided to give it a try. Within just a few pages I realised what I was missing, Wodehouse has a great turn of phrase and most unusually, the book has (for me anyway) about twenty "laugh out loud" moments. It is very much of its time, but like some classic comedy, it doesn't seem to have dated any. I have become a convert and if you give it a go, you might also become a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The classic Jeeves and Bertie novel in a great new edition., 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Code Of The Woosters (Everyman Wodehouse) (Hardcover)
Here it is: 'the sinister affair of Gussie Fink-Nottle, Madeleine Bassett, old Pop Bassett, Stiffy Byng, the Rev. H.P. ('Stinker') Pinker, the eighteenth-century cow-creamer and the small, brown, leather-covered notebook'. A terrific introduction to the world of Bertie and Jeeves for novices, and one of the finest examples of Wodehouse's genius for those already familiar with his work. Presented here in the brilliant new Everyman edition (that will eventually encompass everything Wodehouse wrote) the book is well put-together, and definitely deserves pride of place in your home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the ingredients, 30 May 2008
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is close to the definitive Jeeves & Wooster: true love not running smoothly, the threat of unwanted matrimony hanging over Bertie, Aunts, Anatole the chef, Jeeves utilising psychology to extricate his master, cow creamers, leather bound notebooks and policemen's helmets and , unforgettably, the ludicrous black 'footer bags' of Roderick Spode, necessary because by the time he formed his fascist party 'all the shirts had gone'.

Horden and Briers are excellent as usual and Patrick Cargill provides strong support as Sir Watkin Bassett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A duff edition, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
PG Wodehouse is a wonderful author and his original manuscript of The Code of the Woosters must have been wonderful too. But you should not buy THIS edition, which is typeset so badly it is positively bizarre. Even the first word - "I" - is missing. Commas and inverted commas are missing too, and there is even a > computer sign like this on page one. The typescript on different pages is of varying lenghts and often stop half-way along a line in mid-sentence. This edition might appeal to collectors but for a straightforward read you have to give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Kindle Copy, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to echo the review by Paddington. A superb book by the great Wodehouse, but the Kindle conversion is frankly a disgrace. Absolutely no effort has been made to ensure that this book is properly readable on the Kindle and Random House should be ashamed of themselves.

Speech marks are frequently missing (every two or three pages), meaning it's difficult to tell when speech ends and narration starts. Indents are all over the place. The margins are uneven. Great gaps appear at the top and bottom of the pages. It's a really dreadful job. And the price for this, which took someone 10 seconds to upload (because clearly it was never checked) - 4.94! Where has that figure been plucked from, considering the production overheads are apparently 0p? Had this been for sale for 99p you might be able to overlook this slovenliness, but when you're paying the thick-end of a normal paperback price it's infuriating.

It's funny: the Kindle has a reputation for 'amateur' or 'indy' authors uploading their work carelessly - yet it's Random House, a massive publisher, who are taking people for a ride. And, really, it's a bit of an insult to Wodehouse himself. He deserves better than this shameless profiteering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bertie at his best, 18 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This has one of the most highly complicated plots of all the Jeeves novels, involving brown leather covered notebooks, cow-creamers, fiances, uncles and would-be dictators. However, it is well worth the effort, as I promise you will be in stitches from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A duff edition: seconded, 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Just to lend weight to Robert McNeil's complaint.
Wodehouse's prose is very precise, and shoddy proofreading can spoil the effect. For example, a remark of Bertie's about the female of the species being "deadlier than the m." is rendered nonsensically as "deadlier than them". This edition is a dreadful blot on Penguin's escutcheon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute masterpiece!, 30 July 2012
"I could see that, if not actually disgruntled, he was far from being gruntled."

"I mean, imagine how some unfortunate Master Criminal would feel, on coming down to do a murder at the old Grange, if he found that not only was Sherlock Holmes putting in the weekend there, but Hercule Poirot, as well."

There was a temptation, for my second review of this novel in what I now term the `Goodreads period ` of my life, to just illustrate the wonder and genius of this book with quote after quote. The two above, for instance, stand out as a pair of my absolute favourites in the English language, let alone this book. But the problem with that strategy is there are so many good and quotable lines and jokes in `The Code of the Woosters' - some remembered by me, some not; some, the versions of which I had in my head, were only pale shadows of the lines Wodehouse had conjured on the page - that I would be here all day virtually typing the entire text into the computer. And somehow I can't imagine the good people at the Wodehouse estate being particularly chuffed at that.

Quite simply `The Code of the Woosters' is one of the finest comic novels ever written. It stands at the very top of the Wodehouse canon, and thus is one of the funniest books ever written. Our poor, put-upon hero sets off to Totleigh Towers, home of his nemesis Sir Watkin Bassett. There he finds himself pressed upon from many different sides to steal a silver cow creamer (which is most definitely not modern Dutch); in possession of a purloined policeman's helmet, and attempting to bring various sundered hearts together again. The precision of the writing, the incredible pace and control of the building farce, and the way that every joke is as light as a soufflé, when it has clearly been worked upon so that every syllable is the right place - makes `The Code of the Woosters' an absolute masterpiece.

On a quick historical note, this is that rare Wodehouse novel which lets current events intrude into it - with the presence of Roderick Spode. Roderick Spode is of course based upon Sir Oswald Mosley, leader of The British Fascist Party, whose organisation were known as The Black Shirts (changed to `shorts' for comic effect in the book). These days Mosley may be best known in some quarters for his part in the Mitford family saga (he was married to Diana), but in 1938 - when this book was published - was the major force of the British far right and closely aligned with Hitler and Mussolini. After the war Wodehouse's own allegiances to Great Britain were (somewhat unfairly) called into question, and he never went to his homeland again. As such it's worthwhile taking a moment to emphasise what he wrote on the likes of Mosley, so here is Bertie's priceless telling off of Spode:

"The trouble with you, Spode, is that just because you have succeeded in inducing a handful of half-wits to disfigure the London scene by going about in black shorts, you think you're someone. You have them shouting, `Heil, Spode!" and you imagine it is the Voice of the People. This is where you make your bloomer. What the Voice of the People is saying is `Look at that frightful ass Spode swanking about in footer bags! Did you ever in your puff see such a perfect perisher?"

Absolutely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80b7894)

This product

The Code Of The Woosters (Everyman Wodehouse)
The Code Of The Woosters (Everyman Wodehouse) by P.G. Wodehouse (Hardcover - 28 April 2000)
8.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews