Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a book
This is a wonderful book, I found it difficult to put down yet I didn't want it to be over. Katherine Stewart shares the story of her and her families life on a croft in the North of Scotland. A life full of richness, warmth and companionship. She has the ability to make you feel like you are experiencing nature and the elements first hand. There was so many times...
Published on 12 Aug. 2010 by JulieP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rose tinted specs
So little information is given about the author and which time period this book was referring to that I had to look it up on Wikipedia. It could have been the 1930's or 1960's, according to her obituary it tuned out that their move to the croft was in 1950. Katherine was born in Reading in 1914 and married a Scotsman and had one child, she died at the age of 98 in...
Published 1 month ago by sos


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a book, 12 Aug. 2010
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, I found it difficult to put down yet I didn't want it to be over. Katherine Stewart shares the story of her and her families life on a croft in the North of Scotland. A life full of richness, warmth and companionship. She has the ability to make you feel like you are experiencing nature and the elements first hand. There was so many times during this book that I felt Katherine was sharing her wisdom of life. A wisdom that should be passed onto many generations to come. A book to enjoy and savour, it will leave its memory with you...just as any visit to the hills and lochs of North Scotland will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 26 Jun. 2011
By 
C. Emmas "music is math" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Katherine Stewart wrote in her book A Croft in the Hills, about three people (herself, her husband Jim and young daughter, Helen) taking to the hills 1,000 feet above Loch Ness to live "quiet lives, hill-top farming under a wide sky".

She writes with beautiful simplicity, as a woman that can turn hardship into something to be valued and the simple things we daily take for granted into treasures. We could all do with a good healthy dollop of her spirit - the world would be a much finer place for it.

"When you have lived for a few years in the bare uplands, where life has been precarious from the start, you learn, first, not to panic. Then you are ready to love wholeheartedly what need no longer be feared. You become so deeply involved in the true drama of cherishing life itself that mere attitudes and the pursuit of possessions are discarded as absurd. You discover that under snow there is bread, the secret bread, that sustains."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of a bygone age, 1 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
This is a charming tale of a bygone age. A couple decide to give up life in the fast lane to try farming on a croft in Scotland. Life without running water and limited electricity is unimaginable now- but their life was so rewarding despite these tough living conditions. It brought back wonderful memories of my dad's stories about hill farming when he was a child. It really is an evocative tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, well written and description very good, 10 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. L. Y. Higgins "True Life stories" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
After having read this book, the first thing I wanted to do was get away to the Scottish Highlands and live the life of a crofter. Makes us realise that although it is hard to adjust to this type of life, it is probably one of the most rewarding. Leaving the rate race would suit me perfectly, so I thoroughly enjoyed reading someone's else's experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well writted, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Again having ready many books of this genre this is amongst the best of the genre offering a useful social history as well as the expected collection of anecdotes and is is somewhat better written than most of its kind. A nice well written read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching and inspiring - a great antidote to hurried 21st century lifestyles, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful book. Simply written, it describes in great detail everyday life on a small Highland croft. Of course the period it relates to seems very remote to us now, but the feelings and observations of the author seem to me still highly relevant today. I found her descriptions of landscapes and incidents memorable and her own reflections often very moving. The sort of book which lightens your heart and helps you put the trivia of daily life in our present materialistic world in its proper place. I will definitely return to this book when I want comfort and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply a cracking read, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if, like me ,you long to escape the rat race but cant afford a "get away from it all" croft in the highlands....whats the next best thing...reading about it ! is it torture...well ,yeah but it is also a form of dreaming/planing !
a croft in the hills tells you about the trials and tribulations of running a hill farm near loch ness.
i found it a really enjoyable story.i read a lot of this sort of book and it is now rated second only to "the kerecher man" in my "dreaming of living in a scottish west coast croft" collection [ahem]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rose tinted specs, 17 Feb. 2015
So little information is given about the author and which time period this book was referring to that I had to look it up on Wikipedia. It could have been the 1930's or 1960's, according to her obituary it tuned out that their move to the croft was in 1950. Katherine was born in Reading in 1914 and married a Scotsman and had one child, she died at the age of 98 in 2013.

The book is quite interesting, but very sugary - everyone is lovely and nothing bad ever happens - it is obvious that it was written 20 years later from memory and diaries. The years covered seem to merge into one another as not time scale is mentioned so were they there for 3 years or 13? She is a bit sanctimonious about the modern age and the destructive powers of cinema and televisions, which gets a bit annoying towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read on yours holidays, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its abit repetitive in the middle of the book about the crops. Its a relaxing book to read. I think I would of enjoyed having a holiday at the croft in spring time, that would be right up my street. I'm glad to hear about Helens life at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long ago, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Of course it is a very nice book. But the author wrote it from too great a distance and idealised her life during that period out of all proportion. In the end they couldn't cope so they must have had great problems and she mentions them, but it seems like nothing touched her. It is still all wonderful, and whatever painful changes they have to make, it is quickly passed over with a few happy remarks. Like when their only horse drowns in the bog, horrible of course, but better than if he had grown old and sick and died a slow painful death. And when the child first visits the best school in the world, pages of lyrical description about this marvellous little school. Then the distance gets too much, so she has to visit the school nearby they first deemed not good enough. But miracle of miracles: this too is a marvellous little school. All the neighbours are neighbours from heaven. Without anybody asking them, they arrive with horses, carts and men to help with the harvest. And so on and so forth. I must confess it started to grate on me. So, no, no more than three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Croft in the Hills
A Croft in the Hills by Katharine Stewart (Paperback - 20 May 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews