Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for beginners and connoisseurs alike, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Simon Walton (Rossendale) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
MacLean's book is easy on the eye with excellent photography - award winning I believe!. As well as outlining the history of whisky distilling in Scotland, each distillery in Scotland gets a pithy write up, which details the history of the distillery, its machinery and stills, and its products.

There is enough detail for those that feel the need to know it, but the author's style is amusing, fresh and light, so this does not count as a trainspotter's guide to whisky. Nor does it run off into extravagant paragraphs of purple prose to describe the taste. No Jilly Goulden rubbish here.

It makes an excellent accompaniment to any distillery visit, and also to any tastings you might be doing.

It also has the advantage that you can pick the book up, flick it open at any page, and have a quick browse at a few distilleries; it's not meant to be read cover to cover (after the first time.)

All in all, as a lover of whisky, I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie does it again, 17 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
Charles MacLean is a great whisky writer and this adds little interesting facts about the distilleries as well as some anorak technical stuff.
A good reference book and good read on a great subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars whiskypedia, 16 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
This is a good book to "dib" in and out of.
It is interesting and informative.
It does not profess to be ,nor is it,a definitive review of all whiskies.
I would like to have seen more pictures of some of the distilleries and bottles but space on productions such as this are limited and it is a fine balance of what goes in and what doesn't.
Well worth buying and a good adjunct to the "weightier" tomes such as The Whisky Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 20 May 2010
By 
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
I saw this book in Scotland in a specialist whisky shop,they were using it to promote
the whiskies they were selling that was a good recommendation so when I got home I ordered it.
it came within 3days I have found it very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guide book, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
It has been a month since I bought this book and it came handy couple of times already. It gives you a good overview on most of scotch whiskies, that is available for purchase on today's market.I would categorise it to the guidance books.
I expected it a little bit more comprehensive, so that's way I gave it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macleans whiskypedia, 9 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
Well what can I say other than what my partner said on receiving this book for Christmas than WOW, it has all the information and details that he was looking for to detail all the different variety of whiskys, good, wonderful, brillent are a few of his words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very good product, 15 Dec 2009
By 
G. Napier (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky (Hardcover)
This book is compact, and concise. It is full of good informative detail.
Delivery of the product was of the Usual I have come to expect from Amazon... Speedy & Efficient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky
MacLean's Whiskypedia: A Gazetteer of Scotch Whisky by Charles MacLean (Hardcover - 1 July 2011)
Used & New from: £15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews