Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A powerfully poignant, heartbreaking story that looks back on Homo sapiens origin
This chilling novel combines science fiction, speculative fiction and historical genres for an altogether unique read. Kim S Robinson's awe-inspiring vision on how we lived thirty thousand years ago is simply breathtaking, and might I add most accurate too. I am fascinated with the natural world and the beauty of Earth's wonders and landscape, including animal/ plant...
Published 17 months ago by Lucinda

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read
Having made his mark in science fiction Robinson is now writing historical fiction. I have read Galileo's Dream before, which i really enjoyed, so was looking forward to this one.

This story is set in Palaeolithic times, when the glaciers set the northern boundary and is centred around a character called Loon, a 12 year old, learning to be a Shaman, and his...
Published 12 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Shaman: A novel of the Ice Age, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book about life as Kim S Robinson imagined it was in the Ice Age. The book is mostly about the life style but with a story running through it. It's not edge of the seat stuff but an interesting and easy read all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I have liked most of his previous novels and he is a ..., 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have liked most of his previous novels and he is a writer with some interesting ideas, but not this one. Basically, the day to day life of a neolithic tribesman is just not interesting enough to stretch to this length. It might make a decent short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a fantastic story, but there's a small problem with the ..., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a fantastic story, but there's a small problem with the eBook edition: The decorative initial letters are missing, which means you have to guess the first letter of every paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Kim is an author that's always given me a great book before so when I heard that he was writing a tale set in the far past I really wanted to see what would be generated , after all I loved the Northland trilogy by Stephen Baxter so I was hoping for something similar.

What unfurled within was a tale that really worked well for me as the tales lead character took steps towards finding his way within the ancient world as Shaman of the Raven tribe. Its full of conflict, both emotional as well as physical and with a story that seeks to demonstrate the spirit of man throughout as is so often the theme within science fiction titles, really worked well for Kim as an author.

All round, when you add in some great prose, a lovely touch of pace with the Palaeolithic era brought wonderfully to life generates a story that will stay with you for quite some time. A wonderful adventure for me and definitely one I'll be recommending to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most enjoyable novel I have read on a long time, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a novel and not a history but the author has done a great job in helping you get into the heads of the people who live an in alien landscape. A cracking story too... hope its a trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story of a young boy coming of age and developing into the title of the book, after hardships and adventures. Very raw unsugar coated descriptive writing but is very apt for a tribal shamanistic peoples story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaman: A novel of the Ice Age
Shaman: A novel of the Ice Age by Kim Stanley Robinson (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2013)
£15.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews