Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return to Old-School Space Opera
It is entirely justifiable to call Leviathan Wakes one of the most hotly anticipated titles of the year. Touted by George R.R. Martin as a `kickass space opera` James S.A. Corey's debut is a return to the old-school form of space opera, but souped up to satisfy modern tastes. Delivering on Martin's promise of a kickass story, Corey makes every effort to mix together a...
Published on 1 Jun. 2011 by Louis "LEC Book Reviews"

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good series ruined by inconvenient details!
I enjoyed it: interesting characters, fast-paced unpredictable plot, good clear writing. I enjoyed the next two in the series . . .and then, dammit, I couldn't help asking myself precisely WHY the villain of no. 3 was willing to sacrifice all her worldly goods and status,risk her life, and become a mass-murderer to discredit the Hero when she could've done it a lot more...
Published 5 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
A. J. Waters "AW" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was a bit skeptical about the George R Martin plug on the cover as one of the authors is his assistant. Upon reading the book however I was delighted to find that the praise was entirely justified.

Exciting, filled with action (not in the mindless way Asher writes) and intelligent. The vision of the future presented by the novel is believable and interesting.

Eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok I think., 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really can't make up my mind if I liked this book. It was good but somehow I felt like I hadn't been totally satisfied by it. Much like this review its a bit meh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting space opera read, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth a read and I have bought the second one. Not sure about the characters in it as totally convincing stereotypes. However as light beach reading it works fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 11 July 2013
By 
M. A. Poklekowski "Mazzer" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good rollicking adventure with some slightly less stereotypical characters.
Some strange low tec though, like A4 binders??
Good pace and reasonable plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books are fantastic,took the chance on the first one and haven't looked back. Great stories, exciting action. More importantly characters you care about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, hard sci if, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slow to start but once the story got going, it enthralled. Good characterisation and clever plot. Looking forward to reading the rest of the Expanse stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Corey is one of my favourite authors alongside Ian Banks and Neal Asher, 24 Feb. 2015
By 
Andrew Scooter Guy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Corey is one of my favourite authors alongside Ian Banks and Neal Asher. Always well written with interesting ideas, believable worlds and characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good trilogy, 25 Feb. 2014
By 
Ricardo Dias (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse (Paperback)
Excellent plot and characters. The third book, however, is a bit lacking in comparison to the first 2. Definitely a must read if you love science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leviathan wakes by James S A Corey, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good ripping yarn. Gripping space opera in the vain of Heinlein and Poll
First time reader of James Corey but already ordered more
Recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm about halfway through & very much enjoying it. Will certainly continue with the series.
Why do we have to write so much to submit a review....?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse
Leviathan Wakes: Book 1 of the Expanse by James S. A. Corey (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews