Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Entertainment
Drew Karpyshyn has done it again with his third book in the Mass Effect series!

Mass Effect Retribution seemlessly continues the stories of Kahlee Sanders and Paul Grayson from Mass Effect Ascension, and the ongoing story of the Illusive Man and the Reapers from Mass Effect 2, bringing the storyline of the games and the book together for the first real...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by IC

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect that's Lacking effect
**warning - story spoilers included**
I'm a big fan of the Mass Effect universe, especially the games and particularly the creativity that went into dreaming up the extensive universe and back story that goes around the games and books of the same series.

Unfortunately in my opinion, the booming entrance made by the brilliant first book, Mass Effect:...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by shumit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Entertainment, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Drew Karpyshyn has done it again with his third book in the Mass Effect series!

Mass Effect Retribution seemlessly continues the stories of Kahlee Sanders and Paul Grayson from Mass Effect Ascension, and the ongoing story of the Illusive Man and the Reapers from Mass Effect 2, bringing the storyline of the games and the book together for the first real time.

The book is set two years after the events of Ascension and shortly after the events of Mass Effect 2. As with the second book, the storyline cleverly references the story of the game without giving a definitive outcome of the choices made, meaning that players of the game can incorporate their own story, whatever that may be, into the universe where this story is set and it still make perfect sense.

Retribution offers tantalising insight into the predominant stories throughout the Mass Effect universe; from the vulnerability of the seemingly untouchable Cerberus and their leader "The Illusive Man", to the true effects of Reaper Indoctrination and the effects of the synthetic "repurposing", as well as setting up the storyline which will lead into the third and final game.

I couldn't put this book down. Karpyshyn has the talent and ability to give you just enough story to keep you reading on and on, desperate to find out what happens next. The characters are emotionally involving and deep and the locations are well imagined.

You must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect Retribution Review, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
I'm going to keep this short. Drew Karpyshyn is a excellent author. Through out this book he keeps the feel and the atmosphere of Mass Effect as it is like in the games. Little things that were left hanging in the game are married together in the book. Which makes it a more enjoyable read. A must for a fan of Mass Effect. (Any spelling or grammer mistakes, I do apoligize. I'm tired). Oh yeah, if your interested in this book, there is also two other Mass Effect books before this one. Which are also written by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Mass Effect novel yet, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Papalamprou - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Retribution picks up after Mass Effect 2 and continues the story of the people involved in the first two books. It's really well written and the story is by far the best out of the three ME novels. If you liked Mass Effect or the other novels you should get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
I love the games and I love the whole Mass Effect Universe. The three books that exist are brilliant and even if you've not played the games you'll enjoy the books. They're simply well written examples of enjoyable sci-fi. Buy 'em today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect that's Lacking effect, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
**warning - story spoilers included**
I'm a big fan of the Mass Effect universe, especially the games and particularly the creativity that went into dreaming up the extensive universe and back story that goes around the games and books of the same series.

Unfortunately in my opinion, the booming entrance made by the brilliant first book, Mass Effect: Revelation, by the same author of this book, was never replicated in the rest of the trilogy of books. In fact I understood the whole point of the books was to flesh out the story between the 3 games - Revelation setting the scene of Saren vs Anderson before the first game, then Mass Effect: Ascension filling in the story between games 1 and 2, telling us a little about biotics and a lot about the Quarian race (which turned out to be helpful in ME2).

**warning - story spoilers**
The third book, Retribution had a tough act to follow after the great Mass Effect 2 game and really needed to give the reader a good idea into what the Reapers were to do next. Unfortunately, I felt that it got a bit too hung up on the main character, Grayson, and his albeit strange and fascinating transformation into a reaper cyborg, and missed a chance to fill us in on some more history about the Reapers themselves and their interaction with civilisation in general.

Whilst great to see Capt. Anderson getting back into the fight after sitting out the whole of the ME2 game, trapped in the Citadel, I didn't feel that I was any closer to understanding what great plans the Reapers had for humanity - or even why they cared at all, save for a few fleeting suggestions and hints about some 'greater purpose'.

The book was great in describing the hand to hand, detailed action, right up to the rather sad ending, but I still felt it should have spent more time descibing the 'bigger picture' of what was happening in the game universe - ie. some more info on what the third game might be about.

Ultimately, amusing read, but I think the author could have done much more to lead us into the final part of the story. Unless there's another book waiting to arrive after Mass Effect 3?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for fans!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Joao Cardeira Jorge "A Bad Man" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Set after the events of "Mass Effect 2", Retribution starts with the leader of the terrorist pro-human organization Cerberus, The Illusive Man, in a fight against time. The Illusive Man knows the Reapers are coming and he will stop at nothing to save humanity. Eager to study the process and effects of reaper indoctrination, he has the perfect subject for the terrible experiments needed. Paul Grayson, the only man who betrayed him and got away. But no one can hide from the Illusive man forever and after Grayson is captured by Kai Leng, a ruthless and brutally efficient Cerberus agent, its up to Kahlee Sanders and Captain Anderson to deal with the situation! As Grayson fights against the reapers influence in his mind, Anderson and Kahlee must uncover The Illusive Man's plans, deal with Aria and her thugs and survive Kai Leng.
This is the third and final "Mass Effect" book written by Drew Karpyshyn and he goes out on top. While Retribution never quite reaches the heights of Mass Effect: Revelation , the first book, its a great adventure and provides great insight into the "Mass Effect" universe and plot. This is the first time we meet Kai Leng, later seen in "Mass Effect 3" and he is the highlight of the book. He is cunning, dangerous and very threatening with a mysterious aura and it truly is a shame to see what happened to the character in ME3. In this book he is portrayed as a worthy adversary for the coming duel with Shepard and even though things just didn't come together in the game, its a pleasure to read the character written by Karpyshyn and wonder what might have been. The book also offers a more in depth look at The Illusive Man and we get a detailed picture of how absolutely determined and amoral he truly is. Karpyshyn really brings one of the most interesting characters in the universe alive and this is truly where The Illusive Man's downfall, seen in ME3, begins with his obsession in reaper indoctrination.
We also get a better portrait of Aria, "The Pirate Queen of Omega" and learn more about her. A lot more! To avoid spoilers i'll just say this!
Anderson is back after being absent in the second book and he is the perfect companion for Kahlee Sanders. We get a bit more of the romance which sadly wasn't to be, hinted at in the first book and in ME3. Anderson is more like the games, tough and likable and he proves a worthy opponent for Kai Leng. Kahlee is also back and ultimately she is the heroine of this book trilogy. Although a good character I feel that she ended up being the less developed character over the three books but still I liked her.
The other highlight of the book is the actual description of reaper indoctrination. Grayson's fight for control of his body and then his own mind against reaper influence is described in detail and Karpyshyn paints a picture of just how it works that is both scary and magnificent and something the games were never able to truly show with such vivid detail.
Unfortunately there is no appearance of Gillian Grayson and no ending is given to her story. That was saved for the fourth book, Mass Effect: Deception (Mass Effect 4) , which unfortunately was not written by Karpyshyn and was so disrespectful of the characters and of the ME universe in general, with numerous errors and all around bad writing that Bioware and the publishers had to issue a public apology and promise a revised edition that never came and probably never will as it has been a year since it was first published. Personally I only consider Drew Karpyshyn's books as canon and so Gillian's plot was sadly left unresolved probably forever.
As for "Mass Effect: Retribution", it is a fitting end for the trilogy of books and something that a fan of the universe cannot afford to miss. A great adventure, with exciting set-pieces, action and lots and lots of goodies for the fans! Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set-up for the events of Mass Effect 3 (the game), 2 May 2012
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
After losing his daughter during the last novel in this series (Ascension) - and betraying Cerberus into the bargain - Paul Grayson is in hiding. Naturally, this doesn't last, and before you can say "the gang's all here", Kahlee Sanders finds herself in harm's way along with David Anderson (back after being busy elsewhere last time round, presumably).

It turns out the ruthless leader of Cerberus, The Illusive Man, is not one to let down, and his best agent/assassin, Kei Leng, is dispatched to find Grayson so The Man can exact his revenge in a truly horrible way.

Kei Leng is a great creation and a good addition to an already rich set of characters, and the high standards of writing and plotting are as present here as ever before in the series of Mass Effect novels. Bioware's Drew Karpyshyn has always made a big effort to make the novels feel authentic within the ME universe and to also tie in with the games to a loose degree. Brilliantly, Mass Effect 3 - the game - directly references events and characters from this book, which is tremendously rewarding for fans of the series. In fact, there are so many references to Paul Grayson in ME3 that players who haven't read the book must wonder who on earth they are on about.

A great read, and although reviews of the next entry in the Mass Effect book series - Deception - are less than positive, let's hope there's a return to this kind of form soon...especially with further games surely down the line even without the heroic Commander Shepard.

ADDITIONAL NOTE: If you hate the ending of Mass Effect 3 as much as I do, knock off a few stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Potential Gap between ME2 and ME3, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Yet again the author comes through with a gripping storyline, and as usual the narrative is complex to be compelling whilst simple as not to be confusing. The storyline takes a few bold steps regardless of whatever choices Shepherd may or may not have taken, the book assumes you have made these choices and builds a story around them whilst following on from Mass Effect: Ascension.

Unlike, the previous two books, Mass Effect: Revelation and Mass Effect: Ascension, this novel takes on a very cynical theme. The Illusive Man and Cerberrus are featured so there is a lot of amoral actions justified in the cause for the greater good. This makes for an exciting as well as a questioning experience for the reader to question themselves about morality, if you were placed in such situations, what would you do?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great title tie in, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mass Effect: Retribution (Paperback)
Having read the original Mass Effect novel I looked forward to reading the next one. So whilst I haven't currently played the games, I'm a least clued up on what's what in order to make the most of this title.

Drew is perhaps best known for his forays into various established series, I do have a weakness for well written science fiction that is more character driven rather than science. Don't get me wrong, I admit that the hard science does have a place but when you start dealing in complex jargon I don't have a clue what they're going on about and I'm the type that's more than willing to accept that the technology does work in order to enjoy the story.

All in a fun excursion to an alternate universe with great characters and of course some serious action. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect: Retribution
Mass Effect: Retribution by Drew Karpyshyn (Paperback - 19 Aug 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews