Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable evening
This is an easy read: I went through the entire book in an evening, and almost picked up the second book and started reading until I realised it was almost 1am. It's paced well and doesn't have too many annoying fantasy clichés. The characters are likeable, and there's plenty going on to keep them interesting.
It could have done with a few thousand less...
Published on 14 Dec 2004

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very unsure?
There were aspects of this book that i really enjoyed, the magic system for one. But after reading some amazing epic fantasies e.g. A song of fire and ice (that seems to be poking up alot) many of the less structured books seem to be lacking something, structure maybe?

I appreciate that these are shorter books and more has to be taken on faith, and i actually...
Published on 11 Oct 2008 by Orborus13


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable evening, 14 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This is an easy read: I went through the entire book in an evening, and almost picked up the second book and started reading until I realised it was almost 1am. It's paced well and doesn't have too many annoying fantasy clichés. The characters are likeable, and there's plenty going on to keep them interesting.
It could have done with a few thousand less words on Sonea hiding from the Guild though. It wasn't *quite* boring me, but I could see boredom looming on the horizon, and breathed a sigh of relief when it was over. There's also a couple of the places where the point of view switches abruptly between two people mid-scene, which is confusing until you stop, go back, and realise what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not revolutionary, but rivetting nonetheless, 25 Jun 2004
By A Customer
"It is said, in Imardin, that the wind has a soul, and that it wails through the narrow city streets because it is grieved by what it finds there..." Canavan starts her novel with that sentence, and it just gets better.
There have been loads of fantasy books written about young people growing up not knowing they are mages/magicians/witches and suddenly finding out. And who are a danger because they don't know how to control the magic... sound familiar? Well, this is another one. But don't let that put you off, because Trudi Canavan can write. She can write very well indeed. Her world is well developed, her characters well-rounded, and the story line is gripping. Likeable characters, except for a really unlikeable well-drawn villain. Put simply: it is a great read.
I haven't given it five stars because I reserve that for books that offer me something new and mind-blowing as well as good writing, but don't let that put you off. This book is superb and well-worth the buy. I suspect this writer is going to go a long, long way as she explores the opportunities open to her as a writer of fantasy - this after all, is her first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very unsure?, 11 Oct 2008
By 
There were aspects of this book that i really enjoyed, the magic system for one. But after reading some amazing epic fantasies e.g. A song of fire and ice (that seems to be poking up alot) many of the less structured books seem to be lacking something, structure maybe?

I appreciate that these are shorter books and more has to be taken on faith, and i actually disagree with many of the 1 star reviewers with saying that there is no imagination or depth, far from it.

I ploughed through the trilogy in about a week and found it to be quite satifying, imagination wise. The few twists and turns are well thought out and placed, if not a little predictable. But all in all, it was something to keep me occupied, which it did, and i don't begrudge the time spent while i wait for another big one.

I think we've just been spoiled by some excellent authors and some truely epic fantasies, i know i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy, enjoyable fantasy ride., 18 Jun 2004
By 
Antonio Pineda (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Magician's Guild is refreshing in that it's not about a reluctant male hero's quest to save the world. Instead, Trudi Canavan presents us with a spirited female lead who discovers that she has magic, which puts her in a social dilemma.
Should she accept her powers and join the "snobbish" magicians who are hated by ordinary people? Or should she stay ordinary but risk destroying those she loves with her uncontrolled magic?
The Magician's Guild is an enjoyable, easy read. Trudi Canavan's flowing narrative style will keep you turning the pages until the end. Though not as good a writer as Robert Jordan or Robin Hobbs (yet), Canavan keeps your interest with her likeable characters and familiar situations that readers will relate to. Themes such as social class divisions, friendships and betrayals, finding your true identity and figuring out where you truly belong are explored.
The books comes to a satisfying ending but readers are left in no doubt that this volume merely sets the scene for The Novice and The High Lord, the next two books in The Black Magician Trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars could have been better, 3 May 2006
this is the first of the black magicians trilogy, its a promising start but the pace of the book is somewhat slack. Sonea is hiding from the guild for about half of the book and because of this the story plods along a bit. It takes a while to get into the book because its somewhat too slow paced but once she gets to the guild the pace does pick up and from then on the story develops a lot more fuller thge characterisations become more fuller and more real. For a first book on average its pretty good despite some of its flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad editing., 5 May 2006
By 
D. O'Connor "doc2wolf" (Isle Of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, some people have really beat up on this series (sadly, for all of the right reasons). But don't let this put you off.

This is a story that has great potential and the author works hard to reach this, but problem is that you really feel like kicking the editor for not pushing the author hard enough.

It takes three books to develop a story that could have been told in two with a bit of tight editing and THEN turned into a trilogy by pushing the authors skills a little more.

Don't be put off, this is worth a read but her next series, "Priestess Of The White" shows a lot more experience of character developement and better editorial control than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great surprise purchase, 1 Dec 2003
By A Customer
I bought this book purely by chance whilst waiting for a flight home from Melbourne. Being an avid fantasy reader I have read a lot of debut novels and been disapointed that the plot and characters are often weak and trudge along. What a lovely surprise to find that Ms Canavan drops you straight into a world fully formed and ready to be explored. After only brief introductions the reader is hurled into a world of strong characters, intrigue, discovery and an edge-of-seat plot that keeps you reading and eager for more. To anybody looking for a good read with characters you will love and hate I recomend this book without reservation. I only wish that I had been brave enough to buy all three books of this trilogy at the same time as they are not yet available here in UK and now I will have to wait to find out how things develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Oct 2010
i first read this book aged 12 and it was one of the first adult books I have read so i am comparing it to the teenage child aimed books i had read previously. I must say that from the first page i loved this book. it has so much more depth and back-story than any other series i had read which tended to be much shorter. it I well written with the plot paced well. it is also one of the first books I have read which does not have each individual character stereotyped as good and evil. so although there are two opposing factions both stories are told as to show that each person thinks he/she is doing good. i apologise if this review shows my inexperience as a reader. but i really enjoyed this whole trilogy from start to finish. it encouraged me too read much more and i now average about 7 books per month
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 9 July 2008
By 
Eileen Banford "fantastic fantasy" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is great in every way. Trudi has created a great plot and set in a very realistic land. I read this book on holiday and found it hard to wait the two weeks till return home until I was able to order the sequels. which also were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 23 Jun 2008
By 
Cullybackian (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
this book is amazing. it keeps you gripped the whole time you are reading. there are so many twists and i felt part of the book. i was in the story following soneas every move. so so good. i bought it to go on my holidays to france and got it done in about 2 days, maybe not even. i was away for 2 weeks so i read it a second time. Just as good as the first go. there is so much character development. Trudi Canavan...i congradulate you on a superior novel and cannot wait for the next ones to come!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magicians' Guild: Book 1 of the Black Magician (Black Magician Trilogy)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews