Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put down
This is one of the best series of books I have read if you are into sci fi fantasy you will love it hero's and villains galore , highly recommended,
Published 23 months ago by M. glover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Different perspective & loose ends swaying in the wind
The last book in the quad about the Dwarves is different from the previous three: The POV switches from Tungdil to Boindil Doubleaxe, Tungdil has a very different character, the timeline has suddenly been shifted 250 years into the future, which for the first time shows the dwarves' longetivy vs the humans'.

It has none of the 'archaic fantasy' feel that...
Published 14 months ago by D. Persson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put down, 9 Aug 2012
By 
M. glover (preston uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best series of books I have read if you are into sci fi fantasy you will love it hero's and villains galore , highly recommended,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great instalment in Heitz's Dwarf series but unfortunately the last, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
Please be warned this review will contain spoilers

What works:
- We're never quite certain whether Tungdil is the true Goldhand or a clone until the very end and even then the really sceptical still have some ground to stand on
- The humans introduced in this book are more interesting than those in the old books. Mallenia is more interesting than Mallen, Rodario the 7th is more interesting than Rodario and Coira is far more interesting than Namora
- The battles are a whole lot more gory and magical
- There was little romance in the book and what was there wasn't given any serious time and is more along the lines of young people having a good time than soul mates

What doesn't work:
- The new dwarf heroes get horribly overshadowed by Ireheart and Tungdil and Goda's famuli seem really unimpressive. I'd have liked the new dwarfs to show they could take on the role of their aging and tired forebears
- Tungdil's doubters start to sound a bit crazy in about the last third of the book whereas they had only a normal degree of scepticism before
- Too many question are left unanswered. Especially about Tungdil, his armour and the dwarf from the Dark Abyss
- We never get a scene involviing Balyndar and Tungdil dealing with their relationship and we only get teased with the possibility that his first son survived.
- Some of the Alliances Tungdil makes seem to just fall into his lap and they seem very heavily favoured by good fortune.

On the whole a good book and it's faults aren't so bad and could even be good things from a certain point of view. I wanted more but I got enough to keep me sated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., 13 July 2012
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
I have enjoyed this series from the very beginning and have been patiently waiting for the release of this book for what seems an age. I can tell you now, that if you are a fan of Markus Heitz creation "The Dwarves" then this recent addition will not disappoint.

Tungdil and Ireheart are at again! Filled with gory battles, wonderous magic, deadly foes and so many clever twists and turns that you never really feel safe in assuming what is going to happen next. This story is good enough to stand alone, but to get the full benefit of the world Heitz has created, i would advise reading the previous 3 in the series before going on to the exciting finale of the tale.

A grand adventure and i shall miss not reading about my little dwarwen friends. Don't let this one pass you by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Axes forward, 12 July 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
I've been a huge fan of Markus' inventive world, I've loved spending time there as the world has unfurled with the characters fates being played out in the great scale of things and when added to the wonderful descriptiveness alongside solid world-building has been one of the series that I've had to have as soon as its out.

The prose is sharp, the action sequences bloody and all in this has been a real joy to read, throw into the mix some cracking double dealing, some political machinations and all in this is a solid title. All in this series for me has been a pure joy from start to finish and definitely one I'd recommend to other fantasy fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes the dwarven race much more interesting, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
Good fantasy. Excellent storyline and with some unexpected surprices. A man that knows his craft and how to hold on to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great end to a great series, 26 May 2014
By 
david dempster (Zurich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great end to a great series. enjoyed this series of books a lot in a brainless pulp fantasy style. worth a read and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fate Of The Dwarves (Paperback)
My son got me into reading this set of books. As I love all Fantasy. I have found it so compelling can't put them down.
Enjoying this last addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Coleve (Angus,, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this series and the intrigue of not knowing who he actual is waiting for the next volume hope its soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is it the end, 5 Dec 2013
By 
M. Bayliss "Dragonus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a superb way to end the dwarf series of books, read it in two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fate Of The Dwarves
The Fate Of The Dwarves by Markus Heitz (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews