Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The colours of magic
The author of the popular Night Angel trilogy of fantasy novels here launches a new trilogy. The lightbringer.

It runs for seven hundred and thirty five pages, and ninety eight chapters. There's a map of the land where the story takes place. And, being the first volume in a trilogy, it ends on a cliffhanger.

In the world of this story, magic is very...
Published on 1 Oct. 2011 by Paul Tapner

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite on par yet...
Earlier this year I read the `Night Angel Trilogy' by Brent Weeks. I have to say that it is one of the very best fantasy trilogies I have ever read. I felt things for those characters I have never felt before in a book - I really felt I knew them and cared about what happened to them. And that for me is rare. In addition to the lifelike characters, the story was...
Published on 1 Oct. 2010 by M. J. Aplin


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. I read it again first before reading ..., 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. I read it again first before reading Book 2. Now got Book 3 and reading Books 1 & 2 prior to Book 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great imagination, a finely crafted world., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, loved the book from chapter 1. It is rare to find imagination so well woven into a thrilling story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating read, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the Night Angel books I had high hopes for this series - and I wasn't disappointed for a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovable characters, gripping story, couldn't put it down. It is a great read. Going to start the next one now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even better than the Night Angel series, but still with the mega twists that slap you in the face every time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complete and utter class from start to end. Read this book if it's the last thing you do. Epically good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Initially I found this book hard to get in to ..., 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initially I found this book hard to get in to. However as it went went on, it was greater and greater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I real got in to the story and can't wait to read the next one to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read with a well developed sense of "Magic", 25 May 2011
By 
Mr. Thomas J. Ryder (Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a fan of the Night Angel Trilogy I picked this up as soon as it was out and proceeded to ignore my life until I finished. I'd say how long it took, but to be honest I have no idea as I was so engrossed in the story that hours would pass in a blink. Aside from the engaging story I would like to praise the fully developed magical aspect of the world. So many books fail to explain where magic comes from or how it interacts with the world or what the limitations are but like Jim Butcher (in the Dresden Files and Codex Alera) these concepts are clearly defined and well thought out leading to the reader intelligently imagining the possibilities for the uses of Luxin.

Oh, and the prison is genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as amazing as the Night Angel Trilogy, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
C. K. Mclaughlin (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the Night Angel Trilogy years ago and it basically blew my mind. Based on that review I decided I had to read this book and I'm so happy that I did. This book can be a little hard to get into with such an unusual and perhaps complicated magic system and, what I found was, a vague beginning. I ploughed on nevertheless and was completely absorbed until the end. It seems to have more twists and turns than the Night Angel Trilogy (based on the numerous unanswered questions) and you can see Weeks has pushed himself to deliver another great trilogy that could perhaps surpass the success of his previous work.

I cannot wait until the next book is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Prism: Book 1 of Lightbringer
The Black Prism: Book 1 of Lightbringer by Brent Weeks (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2011)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews