Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: Deadline by Mira Grant
What's Good About It

After being blown away by the first instalment of this trilogy, I was excited to get my hands on Deadline for ages. And it didn't disappoint. Unlike so many second parts of trilogies which are flabby around the edges, stalling for time, and with no real sense of threat, Deadline only escalates the tension. Shaun's deteriorating mental state...
Published 21 months ago by Liberty Gilmore

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing certain crucial ingredients
I really enjoyed Feed and was looking forward to the sequel. However, possible spoilers ahead, Deadline was missing a few key ingredients that made Feed so good. It also included stuff that really wasn't necessary. If you liked Feed for all the action and fighting, you really might not enjoy the sequel.

As a read, its pretty good. Its just as accessible and...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by C. Verspeak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so satisfying., 27 Sep 2011
Deadline,follows Feed, a readable middle book of a trilogy, but like many middles not that satisfying by itself. Though having said that I do want to read the final one. Basically the series is turning into a general conspiracy thriller along the lines that 'this effects the whole world future of human race' theme. While Feed had a conspiracy theme too it was somewhat more constrained and tighter as a book, this sequel sort of 'hovers' to me clearly unfinished. It also involves a lot more science around virology the explanations of which can be tricky to follow though basic premise, is fairly simple. I did find Shaun, the narrator, tediously slow on the uptake often even irritatingly so. I far prefered his sister who was despatched in the first book, or was she? While this is part of a trilogy, the author has probably already written it all, as the cut off for this is quite abrupt. My suspicion is that the publishers wanted it in three parts, more profitable, but so annoying for the reader. If they have to do this then why so long a wait between parts of the trilogy after all its the age of ebooks so production costs and time lag in publishing should be minimal. What if the world implodes before we get to read the last book, we will be so unprepared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant much more of a page turner than the first book and the first one was gripping, can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good read by Mira Grant, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second book in The Newsflesh Trilogy well written with Zombies, Politics and Conspiracies. Not you usual Zombie storyline if you're a fan of Max Brooks World War Z the book, this series could well be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good follow up, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as good as Feed, but still a good read. Fast paced conspiracy from start to finish. I maybe be biased because I absolutely adore this particular author, but it's money well spent. I am hoping for a better finale, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dead good, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fitting sequel well paced and thorough, perfectly balanced between psychotic and factual content to keep the reader entertained and always wanting to read one more page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the blogging continues, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
back into the adventures of the staff of after the end times, with a boss who's sanity is straining under the pressure of the loss of his sister. good stuff, like the first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get this done, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm quickly writing so I can carry on with the final installment of this trilogy. This is what these books do, I'm not giving any spoilers just take a chance and read the books. Now if you don't mind I'm going to see what the he'll is happening next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be patient and persevere, 12 Jun 2013
Deadline does not have the grab and go as did feed. It is however, a good read if you can persevere and you will enjoy it immensely. Georgia Mason the sister of Shawn Mason died towards the end of Feed, but now she lives inside the head of her brother Shawn. The other members of the team are still intact, and are joined by a Doctor Kelly. The story continues along the theme of trying to find out whey the virus continues, and Shawn has some heart rending moments when he is told that had he not shot his sister, she would have fought the disease. This story has them travelling all across America, and concludes when a storm erupts a further mass of new zombies, which is air borne. Shawn gets bitten by a zombie, and wakes up as an adult. However, he is now Georgia. Sounds complicated but it isn't if you read it. Give it a go it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cracking sequel, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this take on the zombie thing
Lets hope the final one is as good cant wait to get stuck in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just about zombies, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really relieved to find there was a sequel - the first had been so good! This certainly lived up to my expectations, and I can't stress how much more this book is than just zombies - it is about the characters and how they struggle with this new world. A tense read throughout; and if you don't like zombies read the taster chapter and see what you think, you may find it worth the time and effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadline: The Newsflesh Trilogy: Book 2
Deadline: The Newsflesh Trilogy: Book 2 by Mira Grant (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews