Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
I loved the first book in this trilogy and as a follow up this did not disappoint! I am not going to go into the plot as plenty of other people have done that already. What I would like to say is Wow - a fantastic read, I loved, loved, loved it. Anyone who is into this genre of fiction will enjoy this, fast paced plot, great characters (good and bad) wonderfully imagined...
Published on 12 May 2012 by oldie but goodie, Suffolk

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a downward step from book 1
I felt this book drifted into a romantic drama and away from the fantasy origins evinced in the first book.
Cat, one of the primary heroines seemed to lose depth and strength of character from book 1, and also the ability to achieve anything. She become largely somewhat useless and this led me to be quite frustrated and wanting to finish the book.

There...
Published on 6 Nov. 2011 by T. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a downward step from book 1, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
T. Robinson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt this book drifted into a romantic drama and away from the fantasy origins evinced in the first book.
Cat, one of the primary heroines seemed to lose depth and strength of character from book 1, and also the ability to achieve anything. She become largely somewhat useless and this led me to be quite frustrated and wanting to finish the book.

There were some interesting threads of storyline that were touched on and these may add some further depth in book 3, however for me this did read almost too much like a book of teen angst in a fantasy arena - not something I personally am interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book in this trilogy and as a follow up this did not disappoint! I am not going to go into the plot as plenty of other people have done that already. What I would like to say is Wow - a fantastic read, I loved, loved, loved it. Anyone who is into this genre of fiction will enjoy this, fast paced plot, great characters (good and bad) wonderfully imagined settings and I just couldn't put it down. Does anyone know when the final book is due?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than book 1!, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Cold Fire: Spiritwalker: Book Two (Paperback)
While I really liked Cold Magic, this book I adored. I have a feeling that mostly it happened because of its exotic location, which made Cold Fire so much more colourful.

You see, after cold and dreadful European winter we are transported onto a hot and humid equivalent of Caribbean islands. The flavors, the spicy, explosive mentality of the people, the slang, the beliefs - everything is so different from what we're used to, it's marvelous!

The atmosphere is incredible. I felt like I was soaking in the sun and exploring this new and confusing world along with Cat. Funnily enough, the weather helped the main characters to loosen up.

Add to it a mysterious zombie island, Fire Mages (here no one knows about Cold Mages and seem to think them a myth), the dangerous mood of coming uprising and political intrigues of general Camjiata, Bee's unknown role in Camjiata's plans, Cat and Vai's push and pull relationships... and what you get is a hornet's nest. Buzzing, frustrating, nerve-wracking and at times shocking, but above all, brilliant.

Really enjoyed it and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unputdownable!, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
Book Addict "jackie" (ABERGAVENNY, MONMOUTHSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Cat and her cousin Bee are back, and together with Rory Cat's half brother they are once again caught up between the Cold Mages, who want to capture them and Camjiata who wants them to use their powers to help him conquer Europe, willingly or not!.
Add to this exciting mix, dragons, trolls, a Salt plague and Cat's newly discovered father who is a threat to Cat and most especially to her cousin Bee, and you have the recipe for an adventure story that moves along at a breakneck pace.
And when you include Cat's changing relationship with her arrogant but handsome husband then the book has all the elements for a cracking read.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, the author's ability to create a believable world with characters that are fully fleshed and totally memorable made it a pleasure to read. Her prose flows easily from one page the next making it very difficult to put the book down.
And I'm looking forward to the final part of the trilogy with great anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting read!, 18 Dec. 2011
In the second book of the Spiritwalker trilogy we rejoin Cat and Bee on their adventures. The book starts off quickly with a succession of twists in the storyline. However, it then slows down but I enjoyed this as much as the action because it allows time for the reader to see Cat develop, as well as establish her relationships with other characters.
Although in some parts the story did seem to lose its plot, I was still unable to stop reading. I feel that this book was more of a link between the first and the third, as opposed to being a story in itself. However, Elliott has intricately woven together action, history, culture and romance to make a highly enjoyable read.
I would definitely recommend this book to all sci-fi/fantasy lovers - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 18 Dec. 2011
After scrambling through the 1st book in this trilogy, I was very excited to start this story and rightly so. It has the right amount of suspense and action along with enchanting characters you can follow.

The story has many twists that keep the suspense alive and make it a good read. Again like the 1st book in the series the pace is good but there is much more action in this story which stops you from putting the book down (even more). I enjoyed the changes in scenery and the alternative world that Elliott reveals to the reader. The spirit world is described vividly so you can almost taste the magic within it!

Elliott's character selection is good in this book, especially the trolls and the bad characters that you can really hate. However the change seen in the male character, Andevai and his confessions throughout this story are slightly unbelievable. In contrast, the female lead, Cat, develops very well throughout the story and keeps the reader on their toes. The love story within this book is quite frustrating to endure as it is quite predictable yet annoyingly slow. It somewhat takes the focus away from the two rather big plotlines going on in the spirit world and the real world, which was rather disappointing.

All in all the story may have a weak point in some of its characters and their relationships but the brilliant and original storyline makes up for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't Put It Down, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well-written, captivating and easily flowing story. Absolutely loved it and had to read it again after finishing it! Can't wait for the 3rd Book to come out :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Fire: Spiritwalker: Book Two (Paperback)
Interesting, original and a perfect tone a beautiful sequel.

Featuring star cross lovers in a moderate and human way, the characters fully fell fleshed out.

The wold started in Cold magic is expended and the plot keeps flowing nicely.

Both accessible and mature, perfect for teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second I've read in the series. I have to say it's really great. The way it is written draws you in and you feel all the things "cat" is going through. You go from anger to joy to frustration. There are very few books I've read that I've got so emotionally involved in. Can't wait to read the next book. Kate Elliott is a great fantasy writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cold fire: spiritualist: book 2, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finished finally. Sometimes had to reread bits as didn't quite make sense. But looking forward to book 3. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Fire: Spiritwalker: Book Two
Cold Fire: Spiritwalker: Book Two by Kate Elliott (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews