Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of an Epic
Though the paperback weighs in at 766 pages of text I wasn't bored or plodding through the story at all--rather I was racing towards the end, hoping that it would never come. Williams has crafted a fine tale set in a believable world. Follow the adventures of Simon (originally Seoman) the castle scullion. He lives in the Hayholt, capital castle for King John the...
Published on 21 Aug 2005 by Matt Graubner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just another fantasy epic?? Well...
not really. I mean, Tad Williams' 3/4 volume saga is truly engaging, especially once you get to the final volume. Unfortunately, for the first two books, you really do spend a great portion of your time screaming blue murder at Simon, knowing that even in the end, he'll most likely still consider himself a bloody Mooncalf.

No, what really got me through all...
Published 16 months ago by benjamiser


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ..., 8 Oct 2003
By A Customer
I lent this book to a friend once ... and I never saw it again. Now this taught me two things, never lend out books to people and the fact that she must've loved this book too.
So, after giving up trying to get the book back, I bought it again a couple of weeks ago, and started reading. What a story, an epic of great preportions. Sure, it's hard going at first, there's a lot of detail to take in. But it's worth reading this and beyond if you put in the effort.
Williams pours his creativity into characterisation, great details of lands afar, and also a fantastic story of good and evil. Look out for Pryrates, this guy is a bad, evil <<insert preferred detriment here>>.
If you want to see how a simple kitchen boy becomes a hero, this story is a must ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A good book but..., 29 May 2001
By A Customer
Despite the low rating, I did enjoy this book and felt it held high promise for the rest of the series. There was a good sense of history to the story and enough action to keep the book interesting right to the end. Every step of the plot had some significance and, overall, was very well written. However, the problem lies with the second book which is not nearly so good. I was unable to finish it and therefore will not read the rest of the series. This book cannot really be read in isolation as nothing is resolved at the end and it would be a pity to start it, only to never find out how things finish at the end of book four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and unoriginal, 27 Sep 2001
By A Customer
I feel I need to write this review because my view of this book differ so radically from those of other reviewers here. I began this book hearing good things about it and intending to enjoy the whole series. After three days I found myself struggling to keep reading. What is so unfortunate is that the author can write well but the story and world background are uninspiring and unoriginal. You can guess the entire plot after the first eighty pages. The world is a standard fantasy medieval world with a race( I think he calls Sithi) a stright rip off of Tolkien's elves. The story meanders onwards through a very standard good versus evil story line. We also have the standard artificial language with pronounciation guide. Zawn.I eventually struggled to the end of this book with no intention of ever reading one of the authors books again. The book also needs some serious editing. It is overly long for the story it contains.
Clearly some people enjoy this book greatly and find it original and well told. I do not and you were warned here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
At first i did not understand why some parts of the story had to exist, but as i went through the books, i realized that those parts where the ones that made characters human. They are real, they love, hurt, hate, they make mistakes. And they are all equally important in completing the quest.
I could not put the book down, read it almost in any free time i had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a lot of fuss over a dissapointment., 24 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. M. C. Russon "m.c russon" (middlsebrough england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
er.... is how i start this review. Er because i have a liking to fantasy, espcially the "best of the best" as this book was called in many lists and recomendations. Simon drove me mad. I get he is young and in the process of being learnt etc etc but that does not exscuse the irriatating, boaring and at time dull conversations, moments that are a plenty in this book. Granted in the latter stages of this book it picks up and it you are invloved as you would be with other "epic" books. But it was too late by that point. I had lost intrest and was reading just to finish the book. I woud recommend this book if you wefe wanting to start within the fantasy books or it was going cheap, but if not i would recommend starting else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books, 6 May 2004
By A Customer
Before, I never really liked fantasy or never really read it but since i read the Dragonbobe chair and the other 3 books that go with it I started to go mad about fantasy books. The Memory, Sorrow and Thorn serie is one of the best ever.After I finished one book i emediately jumped on other one and when i finished the last one i continued on reading the end again and again. It is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story but too long at times, 4 Jun 2004
The Dragonbone Chair has a good storyline but feels too long at times. The narrative is well detailed but the characters introduced are too many and it becomes hard to keep track of who is who (except for the main characters). Overall, it is an ok book-the beginning is a bit slow but it definitely picks up at the end, making you wonder what will happen next in the Memory, Sorrow, & Thorn series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many characters, boring fillers, 25 Dec 2008
By 
Rachid Ben Yachou "Allatif" (Annemasse, FR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What do you do when a hundred pages are enough to tell your story but you need to sell three books?
I read 90% of the first book, about 75% of the second, as for the third I just read the chapters dedicated to Simon and DukeIsgrinmur and skipped entirely those related to the 5+ (!!) "fillers", who not only are uninteresting, but are among the most boring, sulking, whining characters you can read about, specialy the female protagonists. That's about 30% of the 3rd book max.
This is mediocre work at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews