Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jayes on form
Having loved Jaye's debut I was a little upset when the second novel didn't quite hit the same peaks as the original especially when the author left the reader on a real cliff hanger of an ending. All is forgiven with this, the third adventure for Sabina Kane and along with the rest of Team Awesome. It's beautifully written, the characters magical and above all else the...
Published on 30 Jan 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a quick reasonably entertaining read
Based on the 4 stars I gave Pale Demon, I can only give this one 3 stars but not because it was a bad book, there was just less of it somehow, definitely a shorter book and Sabina was a little annoying. And at least twice someone "let go of the breath they didn't know they were holding" which is becoming such a cliché it annoys me. (Pale Demon had it too!) I'd...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Green Book Addict Librarian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jayes on form, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
Having loved Jaye's debut I was a little upset when the second novel didn't quite hit the same peaks as the original especially when the author left the reader on a real cliff hanger of an ending. All is forgiven with this, the third adventure for Sabina Kane and along with the rest of Team Awesome. It's beautifully written, the characters magical and above all else the emotional aspects and healings really make this a title to appreciate.

Add to this a great sense of pace, some seriously wicked dialogue and a demon that we can all love and it's a title that will make many an urban fantasy reader whimper with pleasure. Finally add to this a certain humourous wound being repeated and at some point I think a certain Mischief demon will be bending over and using his back end for impressions which will not only make the reader laugh but hopefully continue to keep the reader chuckling during the darker moments. Seriously good fun for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than book 2!, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
I liked the first book of this series, Red-Headed Stepchild, a lot. The second book, The Mage in Black, was also good but I didn't enjoy it as much. There was a heck of a cliff hanger in it though, which left me very much wanting to know what happened. Green-Eyed Demon did not disappoint and is easily the best of the series to date! I loved this book.

Green-Eyed Demon picks up a few days after the events of The Mage in Black with Sabina, Adam and Giguhl searching for Sabina's sister Maisie. There is plenty of action right from the start and it rarely lets up. It's a book full of twists, some seriously kick-ass fights, and a few awesome new characters. I loved the extension to the world building with more of a mages' power being explained and shown, along with some other aspects to various races we hadn't yet learnt about. Things always seemed so close to boiling point, ready to spill over and it created a tension that made the book very hard to put down!

But what I loved most about this book, was the development of Sabina. She's always been a loner. Working as an assassin it was something that worked for her. But now she has to learn to play with others and it's not been something she's been particularly good at. Here in Green-Eyed Demon though she takes a real step forward. I loved seeing her insecurities and how her relationships with both Adam and Gighul (who, by the way, is still as funny as ever, but so much more awesome in this book!!) develop as they work to find out where Maisie is being held and if they can possibly rescue her. It's heart breaking at times, but it's brilliantly played. I couldn't get enough of it!

The ending is seriously intense! It had me in tears (a couple of times, I confess) and wow! It packs the biggest punch. I had some issues with both the first two books, different issues and while they didn't ruin the books for me, they did stop me loving them as much as I could have. I had very few issues with this one and pretty much just loved it outright! It's fast and actioned packed, with a emotional background that kept tugging at me. It answers several questions and ties up a few plots while still leaving plenty to keep you guessing and wondering! Fantastic work! I can't wait for book 4, Silver-Tongued Devil to find out what's going to happen now after the big events of Green-Eyed Demon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this series!, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Smee (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book. As with the previous ones in the series, this is well written with great characters and an exciting, well thought out story line. Loads of humour, love Giguhl!
Definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read. A fast paced book with an original storyline. Jaye Wells does a brilliant job of making you care for her characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an absolutely great book loved it very addictive book could'n t put it down til i had finished reading it would recommend this book and seller to all my friends and family who absolutely love vampire stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 26 Mar 2013
By 
J. Nixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story. Must read set in order to understand as they follow on. Story easy to follow as Sabina and friends develop there relationships
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this i think that the books are getting better and better as the series goes on, i love the characters and the plot is brilliant can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read., 26 Nov 2012
By 
Ken (Hartlepool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
This book was bought to go with the rest of the series. The book arrived very quickly, and was adequately packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A search for a lost sister, 17 Jun 2012
By 
C. Manning (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
Sabina Kane is racing against the clock. Her sister Maisie has been kidnapped by their sadistic grandmother Lavinia, the dark races are on the brink of war and and the sinister Caste of Nod are manipulating everyone from behind the scenes. Based on information from an unlikely ally Sabina, Adam and Giguhl have travelled to New Orleans and find unusual new allies in a voodoo trained human, a colourful fairy, a renegade mage and a belligerent werewolf. But when they run across magic-wielding vampires the question soon becomes can they survive long enough to rescue Maisie?

This is the third book in the now complete Sabina Kane series (after Red-Headed Stepchild and The Mage in Black) which is has to be one of my favourite urban fantasy series. It is one of those series that really should be read in order, especially given that this installment picks up almost immediately after the conclusion of the last. This time the setting has been changed to New Orleans which is one of my favourite settings for books and this version certainly doesn't disappoint.

Once again the pacing is consistently taught with the manipulative aspects common to this series provided by both Lavinia and the Caste of Nod. A greater purpose has been brought into play which means it is no longer all about Sabina, rather she has become a tool that could be manipulated or strike her manipulators down. The frankly creepy owl Stryx has also returned and is once again following Sabina around.

It seems each book challenges an aspect of Sabina's preconceptions with the first dealing with vampires, the second with mages and this installment forces her to work with a human. While Sabina has shaken free of most of her vampire prejudices she really struggles when faced with a plain old human, albeit one who practises voodoo and is a quarter mage. The request that she abstain from human blood in favour of animal does not go down well either. There is also a focus on the fairy races, with the Queen being presented in an unusual less-than-attractive form.

Sabina and Adam's relationship comes more into play after their literal separation in the previous book. Now thrown together in close quarters, Adam makes his interest clear while Sabina struggles to deal with the possibility of love amongst so much loss. There are some incredibly sweet scenes and Adam is incredibly understanding of why Sabina is resistant.

Giguhl is dealing with a dramatic breakup but quickly blends into life in New Orleans, bonding with their hosts Zenobia and Brooks. Brooks is hilarious and his flirtation with Adam (and Adam's discomfort) add a lightness to an otherwise quite dark book. Brooks also has a unique performance which had me laughing out loud.

Once again Sabina's "Things to do:" checklist has been paperclipped to the back covers. I love the uniqueness of this feature and how it hints to the plot of the book. This one reads:
1. Rescue sister from kidnappers
2. Take on leader of entire vampire race
3. Survive

All in all, this was another great read and I can't wait for Silver-Tongued Devil.

Plot: 9/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 8/10

Overall: 47/50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) (Paperback)
Loved the series! Found the 1st 2 books by accident and then i just had to have the next one! can't wait till the new year to get the 4th one! The plot is great; sabina's sarcastic remarks are to die for! Literally and otherwise! Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane)
Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane) by Jaye Wells (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
6.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews