Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prequel magic
When a series already has an established history, its always difficult for an author to go back in time and write a prequel. That said, whilst you're stuck rigidly to the overall facts, the journey to get there can be an adventure.

This, the latest tale by Karen Miller, explores prehistory and whilst a certain amount of the heart in mouth moments are not as...
Published on 31 July 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
This book is supposed to be the prequel to the Innocent Mage, which I haven't read, so I don't know whether this book is good at explaining the background of that, but I really didn't like this book. The two main characters are entirely unlikeable, both having virtually no good qualities, and plenty of bad ones, and between the two of them, they pretty much destroy the...
Published on 12 July 2012 by rolypolybear


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prequel magic, 31 July 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When a series already has an established history, its always difficult for an author to go back in time and write a prequel. That said, whilst you're stuck rigidly to the overall facts, the journey to get there can be an adventure.

This, the latest tale by Karen Miller, explores prehistory and whilst a certain amount of the heart in mouth moments are not as scary as they could have been (as we know who survives) the overall effect was a title that took great pleasure in the exploration of a time of interest.

All in it's a fun book and if you haven't read any of her work before this is where I'd suggest you start the Mage titles, purely for the fact that when you deal with things linearly in the timeline rather than publication wise, the twists and turns will have more effect and generate the magic that a real piece of well written escapism can do for a reader. Magic lives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read for fans of Karen Miller!, 5 Aug 2011
A Blight of Mages is the prequel to the series Kingmaker Kingbreaker, which is then followed by Fisherman's Children.

I fell in love with the world Karen Miller created in The Innocent Mage, and read the other books in her series avidly. A Blight of Mages was no exception. Set before the time of The Innocent Mage, it explores the relationship with Barl and Morgan and how Lur came to be in the later books.

It was a little slow at first, but the relationship between Barl and Morgan soon built up. Sometimes it felt a little rushed, and other time it felt too drawn out. But never the less, A Bight of Mages is a stunning book.

I would advice people to read the books in order of publication, so you can fully appreciate A Blight of Mages and all it's detail.

One of the best books i've read this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic of the genre, 24 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker) (Paperback)
This is the beginning and the end, don't read this book before you read 'the innocent mage' and the rest of the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker and Fisherman's Children series! This book ties these two eminently readable series together but from the' in the beginning perspective' its very cleverly written by one of the better authors of science fantasy around at present. You can't get totally away from a quest a journey format. But you can do a lot with that scenario and this book does. An excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit slow in the middle..., 15 Jan 2012
I enjoyed this book, and it is the first of the series I started with. Overall the book is good, you really feel for the characters, and recommend starting here to everyone because you don't know whats going to happen to the characters. Although I thought the storyline seemed to drag in the middle, there was nothing but long descriptions of misery and death, which could have been summed up in a few pages. I felt like the story line was getting a little stale. The ending after was rushed through though, I don't think there was alot of depth to the Olken, or enough time for devoted to them in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 12 July 2012
This book is supposed to be the prequel to the Innocent Mage, which I haven't read, so I don't know whether this book is good at explaining the background of that, but I really didn't like this book. The two main characters are entirely unlikeable, both having virtually no good qualities, and plenty of bad ones, and between the two of them, they pretty much destroy the world.

If that isn't enough, the storyline is predictable and slow, there is no tension and by the end I didn't care less that Barl was going to die. Morgan's change was so sudden that it was totally unbelievable and ineffectual as a plot point.

All in all, this book has put me off reading anything else by Miller, so I'm giving it 1 star. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker) (Paperback)
enjoyed the book, reading it after the innocent mage, kept my interest while on holiday and made me want to read the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simply good, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read.

All the books in karen millers Mage series do need to be read in order as not to confuse the story lines.

Would I recommed yes I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spot on, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker) (Paperback)
having read one book i decided to get more and hope it keeps me interested, fantasy fiction every time and a good clean book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to scratch, 15 Oct 2011
it's always tricky to get a decent prequel. I find that there tend to be small inconsistencies and i'm usually disappointed, but A Blight of Mages was genuinely enjoyable.
I think Miller laid a great foundation for the story in the Mage books which she expanded on in great detail. Familiar characters came to life in a completely new light. In fact it made me want to read the original books all over again.
However, at times the story seemed a little rushed. I felt like it took too long to get stuck into the plot and the final section wasn't developed enough. I felt the decision to omit most of the exodus of the Doranen mages really detracted from an otherwise excellent and thoroughly engaging novel.
Still- this is a definite must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 July 2014
This review is from: A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker) (Paperback)
Great book, but buy the whole series and block out a few days as it's addictive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker)
A Blight of Mages (Kingmaker, Kingbreaker) by Karen Miller (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews