Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series
The Gears Of War series by Karen Traviss is brilliant!! Excellent reading and endless hours of page-turning. If you are a fan of Gears Of War, I defiantly recommend purchasing all 3 novels and the 4th when it comes out later this year. Essentially the novels fill in the blanks between the video games, but also give a lot of in depth back story and history on each...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by METAL JAMIN

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same...
I guess it's the limitation of a book series derived from a computer game, but Karen Traviss is tied to the plot developments in the Gears of War universe which keeps her on a pre-determined path. Had she been given free rein, I suspect this book would have been a lot better.

I liked both of the previous books, my only criticism being the lack of description of...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by Ironspider


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
The Gears Of War series by Karen Traviss is brilliant!! Excellent reading and endless hours of page-turning. If you are a fan of Gears Of War, I defiantly recommend purchasing all 3 novels and the 4th when it comes out later this year. Essentially the novels fill in the blanks between the video games, but also give a lot of in depth back story and history on each individual character. This history pre-dates Emergence Day and goes as far back as The Pendulum Wars, years before the Locust wage war on humanity when the war was human V.s human, fighting over fuel - Emulsion.

But don't take my word for it, buy the series yourself, you won't be disappointed. An excellent addition for any Gears fan. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back into the thick of things, 9 Oct 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
Fan's of the Gears of War Games will have been chomping at the bit for the next offering which has sadly been delayed until next year. Our Spy who has been to and about and had a quick play has told us that it's going to be phenomenal.

So whilst the rest of us are sadly having to wait, here's a little something that might make you feel a little better, the next title in the book series by Karen Traviss.

Whilst I'm not the biggest fan of the author's Star War's series, I have to admit that she does GoW well. Readers will be more than pleased to hear that the fan's favourite COG's are back in action with the odds stacked against them firmly in the thick of things.

Its brutal, its got a body count and above all else it sets a blistering pace. Beautifully written it will occupy the reader and fill their Gear quota for a little while longer. Whilst you can join the series here, I'd only recommend this for the serious Gearheads, after all they know the backstory, they know what's happening and they know the world. For those who've yet to pick up their weapons and join the fight, well you'll get lost pretty quickly so if you want to start with the books pick up the first one. All in great fun and definitely something to keep you going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good addition to the series, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
I've read this book back in 2011, after having played Gears of War 1 and 2, when I was eagerly anticipating the release of Gears of War 3. The story takes place after Gears of War: Jacinto's Remnant. I thought this book was quite good, the style of the first two books in the series is retained and it further develops the storyline and gives more backstory to some of the characters. I'd easily recommend this to fans of the Gears of War franchise interested in learning more about the Gears of War-universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
Despite being a library book, the plastic covering was actually an advantage as it kept the book in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karen Travis you beast!, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
Out of the first three so far, this had been my favorite but 'end of the coalition' is on it's way and i'm looking forward to the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Anvil gate, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good part of the series and tells the history of anvegard and Hoffman
New characters and the emergence of the polyps begin
Go Mac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing series, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
Awesome book from the series. Must have for every fan of the game series (my favorite). Answers a lot of questions is you follow the story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gears of War, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son devoured this book with his eyes and brain on his kindle. He thinks it was great and read very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gears on the defensive, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
The third book in the Gears of War series by Karen Traviss follows on directly from events at the end of the last book Jacinto's Remnant and is still building up to the finale of the video game Gears of War 3. Delta Squad and remaining Cog Forces have settled alongside the inhabitants of a sheltered naval outpost at Vectes. They maintain an uneasy truce with a group of Indie refugees who hold a valuable source of Imulsion. The two sides struggle to bury an enmity that burned for generations during the Pendulum Wars. Bands of Stranded pirates nibble at the order that both sides crave. And if that wasn't enough, boats are going missing or found bereft of crew, mysterious holes punched through the hull.
For all you lovers of Damon Baird (there must be someone out there...don't all holler at once) you'll love this one as Traviss has a good go at poking around in Baird's uber-cynical smarty pants noggin.
Possibly less effective are the flashbacks featuring a young Adam Phoenix pining over lost reliquaries while fighting in an urban hell of war theatre. In the same timeline a young Hoffman commands the defence of Anvil Gate and resorts to questionable though pragmatic tactics that will haunt him forever. I did love the story of Bai Tak, the Pesanga volunteer with his team of grinning machete wielding hill men. You'll remember him from the Aspho Fields flashbacks in book one. The main timeline moves along a bit more with the CoG learning how to combat Lambent and that data disc from Gears 3 finally turns up to wallop an even bigger wedge between Hoffman and Prescott.As ever the characterisation is superb, with great dialogue alongside more introspective examinations of the main players and the effects of war on human morality. Oh and there's a fair bit of backs to the wall Gear on Glowie action... and with Lambent involved that means plenty BOOOOOM!!!! Enjoyable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well written, increases Gears immersion., 15 Mar 2012
By 
A. Wenham "DeathJam64" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gears Of War: Anvil Gate (Paperback)
If you're a Gears fan, grab it (and the others as well). It's great for character development (lacking in the games) and really helps you understand the games more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gears Of War: Anvil Gate
Gears Of War: Anvil Gate by Karen Traviss (Paperback - 16 Sep 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews