Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best in the trilogy
Chloe, Derek, Simon and Tori have escaped the catches of the Edison Group with the help of Andrew. A former employee of the Edison Group, and a friend of the boys' dad, he and a small group of other ex-employees want to stop the experiments the EG are preforming and feel the kids may just have the information they need to do so. But Chloe and her friends are cautious...
Published on 11 April 2010 by Claire Mill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the run
In the 3rd Chloe saunders book we see the four children in a presumed safe place at last. A time for them to rest recover recouperate and feel safe. Or is it? The first thing Chloe comes across is a mad poltergeist capable of causing great harm. Then the children have reason to believe that they are not as safe as they thought. Conspiracy abounds and insecurity in their...
Published on 9 May 2010 by Sally


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best in the trilogy, 11 April 2010
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
Chloe, Derek, Simon and Tori have escaped the catches of the Edison Group with the help of Andrew. A former employee of the Edison Group, and a friend of the boys' dad, he and a small group of other ex-employees want to stop the experiments the EG are preforming and feel the kids may just have the information they need to do so. But Chloe and her friends are cautious. They've been through a lot, escaped and been caught repeatedly, and betrayed by those they trusted completely already, is Andrews offer of help too good to be true? And even if it is, do they have a choice about staying with him?

I liked the previous two books in this trilogy, but I didn't love them. I always felt like they were lacking something. But this one I liked a lot more. It felt smoother, like the series really hit it's stride. It's well paced with a fair bit of action and some good twists and turns. A couple things along the way I really didn't see coming.

The love triangle between Chloe and the brothers, Derek and Simon, played out really well and I love how it worked out. Chloe grew up a lot through this book and it really showed. Not to mention she finally learned to stand up for herself. Aside from Chloe, I felt Derek and Tori grew a fair bit through this final book as well making them that bit more 'real' to me. Simon is pretty much the same, but his character serves his purpose just fine, without being forgotten.

Aside from the romantic entanglements, the plot is not so cleanly wrapped up. The biggest things are dealt with, but not everything. Why? Because while this is a trilogy, it's the first part of a series. The second trilogy is titled 'Darkness Rising' and the first book, 'The Gathering' is due out in about a year (I think). The second trilogy follows different characters, subjects of a different Edison Group project. Kelley recently said on Twitter than right now Chloe and her friends are plotted to appear late in the second trilogy, but that it could easily change as it's not written yet. Personally, I really hope they do cause I want more of these characters.

Back to this book. While there are certain things left open ended, the majority of plot threads are tied up in this book, or at least enough to give a satisfying conclusion. I would have liked a little more in some ways, but given this is actually the start of a series, which has at least three more books to go, I can't really expect it to be all tied up. Easily my favourite of the three books, and admittedly not my favourite YA series, but still worth reading. And if you've read the first and second books, you definitely don't want to miss this one! A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Final Book, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
Great third book in the series. Well written and I was hooked on the developing love story. I was slightly perplexed by the ending as it seemed to be slightly abrupt. Not sure if this is leading to another book which would be fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great End, 25 May 2010
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed these three books read them one after another and they nearly read like one book the action was timed so close together. Not sure I would have enjoyed them so much if I had read them one a a time.

I also emjoyed the fact that while there was a romantic storyline it is only a small part of the overall picture and doesn't slow down or dilute the action, it just adds to the characters.

I am in my mid twenties and did not find these books too childish. I am also a fan of Kelly Armstrongs - Women of the Otherworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No safe place, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
The previous book of the Darkest Powers trilogy had the little gang of supernatural teens finally finding sanctuary.

Well, how boring would it be if that sanctuary were all they thought it would be? So of course, "The Reckoning" throws the teen protagonists into a tangle of ghosts, lycanthropy, deceptions and long-forgotten crimes, as well as a long-awaited clash with the Edison Group. Kelley Armstrong does a solid job wrapping up the main story, though the last quarter of the book feels REALLY rushed.

Chloe and her friends have finally found the house where a bunch of the Edison Group's enemies are living. But it soon becomes obvious that they aren't exactly welcome -- the adults are wary of the various "freak" powers that the teens have, and they's especially dismissive of "the werewolf boy." To make matters worse, Chloe is being stalked by a half-demon ghost, and a snooty necromancer's attempt to tutor her at a local graveyard almost ends in disaster.

It's only a matter of time until the kids are imprisoned again, this time by their new "hosts" -- and when a pair of werewolf thugs show up to kill Derek on the night he Changes, Chloe knows that she's not just being phobic. Now she and her friends must figure out how to escape their new "home" alive, and somehow free the friends'n'relatives still being held captive by the Edison Group.

Compared to the last couple Darkest Powers novels, "The Reckoning" is less thrilleresque and more suspenseful -- Armstrong keeps you guessing about who's an ally and who's an enemy, who's lying and who's not. Things only speed up in the last quarter of the book... and unfortunately Armstrong rushes through the action-packed part of the story. She needed at least another hundred pages to do that ending justice.

And while slower-paced overall, "The Reckoning" still has outstanding writing. It has plenty of balanced dialogue (with much bickering), solid descriptions, a dark sense of humour, and some gloriously eerie scenes that dip into the realm of horror, such as Chloe resurrecting a rotted rabbit and dog to save her. And the plot is a tight-knit tangle of lies, deceptions, and unexpected twists -- particularly when Chloe stumbles across some new problems from her powers.

And Armstrong does a brilliant job sketching out fully-realized teen characters who aren't walking cliches -- they've matured a great deal, and each has a unique problem. Chloe worries about the possibility of becoming a mad necromancer, and keeps working to overcome her passive nature. Derek is having a bad time struggling with his lupine nature, and a somewhat less snarky Tori has to deal with her foul mother (and some unpleasant revelations about her family history).

"The Reckoning" leaves the door open for future stories in this niche of Armstrong's Otherworld, but Armstrong does an excellent job wrapping up the whole storyline about the Edison Group. The only problem: It's kind of rushed at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the run, 9 May 2010
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
In the 3rd Chloe saunders book we see the four children in a presumed safe place at last. A time for them to rest recover recouperate and feel safe. Or is it? The first thing Chloe comes across is a mad poltergeist capable of causing great harm. Then the children have reason to believe that they are not as safe as they thought. Conspiracy abounds and insecurity in their situation arises. Just who can they trust? Where is safe for them? A love develops more which brings balance to the chaos of their lives. A surprise saving at the end bears well for the 4th book to start on a new thread. A classic Kelley armstrong story, gripping, entertaining and keeps you in suspense. I can't wait for her to bring out the next one and fascinated to see if she will bring the Chloe saunders series and tie it in with her other supernaturals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 9 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
the darkest powers trilogy is a series i started reading when it was first published although some of the story lines are sometimes predictable i though it was fantastic definately would recommend it! i am a big kelley armstrong fan and if you like her other books you would love this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third and book of the trilogy, 7 April 2010
By 
J. Spencer "Jo" (Greater London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) (Paperback)
Brilliant book wraps up the trilogy nicely but leaves it open at the same time, good idea to find Kelleys webpage if you write to her with a Self addressed envelope she will foot the postage and send you signed book plates and book marks for each of the three books, making them very personalised for those of us who who cant pop to Canada for a book signing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really hope there will be a number 4 ... this series is fantastic. Loved every word of it. Seriously recommend this series and all of Kelley Armstrong's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite writes lone her books ))The book is type that I read and I love all fiction and adventure theme))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So sad it ended, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was amazing you have to read this book what a great way to finish this wonderful series the characters have grown so much and finally more DEREK and Chloe romance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers)
The Reckoning: Number 3 in series (Darkest Powers) by Kelley Armstrong (Paperback - 6 April 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews