Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive gumshoe
If you want a more humanised vampire in a film noir world then no author does it better than Charlie Huston as his latest release in the Pitt series really does allow the reader to get their monies worth as Pitt proves how hornery he is in this tribute to the pulp fiction detective magazines of the thirties and forties. Its cracking adventure and whilst the writing style...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a filler
I've read all the Joe Pitt novels and enjoyed all of them so far, unfortunately this one just seems like a bit of a filler. The big shock of where all the blood for the Coalition comes from is not that much of a shock and its all far too much running around for Joe. Not to mention his injury he acquires near the beginning, which is a bit of a shock as he's been pretty...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Richard Blaize


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive gumshoe, 12 April 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel (Paperback)
If you want a more humanised vampire in a film noir world then no author does it better than Charlie Huston as his latest release in the Pitt series really does allow the reader to get their monies worth as Pitt proves how hornery he is in this tribute to the pulp fiction detective magazines of the thirties and forties. Its cracking adventure and whilst the writing style will not appeal to everyone its one of those really addictive pieces that you just can't put down. To define Huston defies logic and above all I wouldn't want to look too deeply into what makes Pitt a must read every time they land. As a newbie I wouldn't advise you to jump straight into this characters world on this tale, I'd advise you to start with book one to get the most from what Huston has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blood Runs Dry, 21 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel (Paperback)
‘Every Last Drop’ by Charlie Huston is the 4th instalment of the Joe Pitt Vampire Noir novels and is it the book that jumps the undead shark? The book opens with Joe having been exiled from Manhattan Island after the events of the previous novel, but it does not take him long to get down to his old tricks of upsetting people again. The Joe Pitt novels always stood out due to the great world building of Huston. He created a New York full of competing vampire factions, but by book 4 things are getting a little confused.

The entire novel feels like filler. In it Joe basically walks around Manhattan being accosted by characters from previous novels, being told they are going to kill him and then they don’t kill his. The turnover of incidents is just too fast. It is not helped by Huston’s continued none use of speech marks. Paragraphs start in a new location and it takes you several sentences to get your head around who is talking. Huston relies on you knowing the characteristics of the characters to understand who is who, but there are so many now it is also most impossible.

The lack of traditional speech marks always annoys me when it crops up in my reading. There is a “reason for them”, Sam said. “It allows you to know who is talking,” replied the sinister vampire bloke who could have been anyone. By not adding this basic function of the written language Huston has taken a rather bland book that is all road movie and no destination and also managed to make it a confusing read. There is hope for Book 5 to pick things up again and return the series to excellence as the entirety of Book 4 felt like a convoluted prologue for it. Foundations are laid for an epic finale, but no one wants to read a book about pouring the cement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a filler, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel (Paperback)
I've read all the Joe Pitt novels and enjoyed all of them so far, unfortunately this one just seems like a bit of a filler. The big shock of where all the blood for the Coalition comes from is not that much of a shock and its all far too much running around for Joe. Not to mention his injury he acquires near the beginning, which is a bit of a shock as he's been pretty indestructible for the first three books. Obviously I'll read the last book and I hope it's better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just another drop?, 23 Mar 2009
By 
gedonion (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel (Paperback)
Every Last Drop is the fourth of Charlie Huston's Joe Pitt 'Vampyre'series.The usual black humour is to the fore and this book expands the readers knowledge of the 'Clan' structure in Manhatton. This book is the weakest one to date. In parts it felt rushed, although I understand this is partly due to the authors style I believe events in the book could have been more thouroughly explored. I wonder if the release of his latest book 'Mystic Arts, didn't distract the author.
That said if you love the charactor Joe Pitt you will love this book as well.I know I do and I can't wait for the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pitt your wits !, 31 Mar 2009
This review is from: Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel (Paperback)
Huston continues to prove that just when you thought the vampire niche of Horror had been done to death he is far from squeezing every last drop from it , he has in fact done the opposite.

In creating his very own sub genre - post-pulp-come-hardboiled-nu-gothic, style. We have the right balance of chandler, stoker and Tarantino.Not to mention that the charaters have a realism and dark humour rarely found in this subject matter.In otherwords the charaters arent 2D. This case book seamlessly follows on from the last.

All be it a year has past since joe hit the road and went into hiding. Trouble has a way of finding joe and this chapter is no exeption. manhattan draws Pitt, like fresh blood , he soon finds himself caught in the cross fire of a coming war, and uncovering a secret which will bring chaos to the order of the clans. Stay tuned for the final chapter in this fangtastic series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel
Every Last Drop: A Joe Pitt Novel by Charlie Huston (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
6.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews