Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The science you do not know looks like magic."
Christopher Moore's brand of humor, while always irreverent and sometimes off-color, also bursts through the constraints which might limit it to the real world. Moore has often explored other realities, and in this novel, we discover the underwater world of singing whales and the researchers who study them. Far more "straight" and less frivolous in this story than in...
Published on 9 Jun. 2003 by Mary Whipple

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Like most of Moore’s books, this is an entertaining read. The funny parts made me laugh out loud in public! However, the overall plot is beyond fantasy for me – it was really silly actually. There is a whole section of war of memes and genes which was ridiculous (genes build vehicles for memes!!) but this is probably the least silly part of the book. He could...
Published 5 months ago by Citychiclifestyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The science you do not know looks like magic.", 9 Jun. 2003
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Christopher Moore's brand of humor, while always irreverent and sometimes off-color, also bursts through the constraints which might limit it to the real world. Moore has often explored other realities, and in this novel, we discover the underwater world of singing whales and the researchers who study them. Far more "straight" and less frivolous in this story than in most of his earlier novels, Moore is clearly fascinated by cetacean biology and the research on which he focuses here.
Nate Quinn is a PhD researcher who studies the subsonic songs of humpback whales and works the channel between Maui and Lanai, identifying and following individual whales, recording whale songs, and converting the songs into digitized computer programs in an effort to decode them. Three other researchers and numerous other wacky characters allow the author plenty of room for hijinx at the same time that he is exploring serious issues. An old woman gets a phone call from a whale wanting a hot pastrami on rye with mustard, a researcher remains underwater for sixty minutes without breathing, an absolute ruler wants the navy to "nuke the goo," and mutants who look like aliens, known as whaley-boys, walk the land.
When a navy captain refuses to reveal information about his research, rumors surface that the navy may be building a torpedo testing range inside the whale sanctuary. Soon one of the research crew is injured and two disappear, and as Moore shifts from science to science fiction, the line between reality and fantasy disappears. The reader willingly suspends all disbelief and falls under the spell of Moore's non-stop flights of imagination as he explores an underwater colony, populated by 5000 people, who live 600 feet below the surface of the ocean. Moore's famous sense of the absurd, his irony, and his humor, some of it black, never flag, as his imagination, given free rein, soars in this wild fantasy.
However playful it may be, this novel also marks a significant new direction for Moore. He is clearly fascinated by whales and the threats to their existence, and while the book is great fun to read and often very funny, it also has something serious and important at its heart--it is not frivolous entertainment. In an unprecedented move, Moore adds three separate Author's Notes at the end of the book, updating the reader on current whale research and acknowledging some of the world's great whale researchers and research facilities. Readers will come away from this novel with broad smiles, a new appreciation for Moore's talents and his willingness to take risks, and, most significantly, new understandings of whales and the ecosystem in which they flourish. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it used to be., 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Tóth Gábor (Budapest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings (Paperback)
Well, different, that's the most describing word for this novel if you know what the Author Guy's style used to be.

It's quite true what the other readers have mentioned that this story makes it obvious that Moore cares about whales. And indeed it is a lovely story, however if you start to read it waiting for some dumb paranormal novel full of demons and fiends, you might get surprised.

Instead you get action nerds and scuba divers. I sometimes felt that he so much wanted to write a novel that has a deep message, but still try to be loyal to his style, that at the end it didn't become one of his best books. I mean if you're used to vampires, beta males and stuff of course.

But come one, who can write a funny vampire story full of whales? Duh.

It's four stars on a Chris Moore scale. A six on an objective one where all other Moore books are eights out of five. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How wacky would you like it?, 20 Oct. 2005
You won't find anything much wackier than this. I first read Pratical Demonkeeping (which is great) and this isn't like that. However the twisted world of this novel (when you get your head around it) is lovely. There is good (black) humour and some great people in the story too. Good fun and I will be getting another one of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stick with it, it's worth it!, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't sure what to think when i started the book as it all seemed 'too normal' for the 1st quarter and i was beginning to think Christopher Moore was having an off day when he wrote this but no.... NO NO NO - I carried on reading and so glad i did. In the space of a few lines the real Christopher Moore that we know and love showed his face... i don't want to give any spoilers but it's worth that (almost) boring start just to get to the wild, weird and wonderful twist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most of Moore’s books, this is an entertaining read. The funny parts made me laugh out loud in public! However, the overall plot is beyond fantasy for me – it was really silly actually. There is a whole section of war of memes and genes which was ridiculous (genes build vehicles for memes!!) but this is probably the least silly part of the book. He could have created an underwater intelligent life using a lot of facts we have now on dolphins, whales, etc. I feel like he never even read anything about these animals! I do hate criticizing Moore because I genuinely think he is a good writer but I was terribly disappointed.
The only good thing in the book was a call for conservation and to stop hunting the whales but the rationale behind it all was just a made-up fantasy. He didn’t need to do that – there are plenty of very good existing reasons for not hunting whales!!
Overall, disappointing from Moore but won’t stop me reading his other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very very very unpredictable, 20 Jun. 2008
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Fluke is a little more serious than most of Moore's work, however don't let that stop you from enjoying a complex and funny story about marine researchers and whales. It's a slow builder, with nothing but brooding mystery and character development for two hundred pages. Like Carl Hiaasen, Moore's characters are all slightly screwy, or completely nutty which means getting to know the book's players is always entertaining. The book has plenty of twists, and in fact the actual real plot is hidden away until (too close to?) the end. Moore is a master of wit and words, a literary genius, and although Fluke is not full of belly laughs, it's a well crafted tale which will keep you riveted until the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars whales + sci-fi = Amazing reading, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
marysun (Surrrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so good that I couldn't stop reading it. I was totally hook up to the story. At the begining I didn't know what to expect.For star its about whales and Hawaii and I like those 2 things so I thought at least I will learn a bit about those 2 things in case is a boring book but then came in the sci-fi part and thats when you can't stop reading it.All the other reviews will explain what is about I don't want to spoil anything.I did read another book from this author and I did like it and thats why I bought this one and I must say I am a sastified client. And one day when I get rich I will go to Hawaii and see the whales :) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a great little find..., 24 July 2014
This review is from: Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings (Paperback)
Stumbled upon this book by chance and didn't know what to expect, certainly didn't expect to find it so delightful, thought provoking and humorous. Fantastic revelation about why the protagonists wife is a lesbian. Had me laughing out loud for what seemed like hours. Had to put the book down to recover from that. My only criticism would be that I didn't feel the author managed to get the most out of the underwater world that he created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The science you do not know looks like magic.", 3 July 2008
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings (Paperback)
Christopher Moore's brand of humor, while always irreverent and sometimes off-color, also bursts through the constraints which might limit it to the real world. Moore has often explored other realities, and in this novel, we discover the underwater world of singing whales and the researchers who study them. Far more "straight" and less frivolous than in most of his earlier novels, Moore is clearly fascinated by cetacean biology and the research on which he focuses here.

Nate Quinn is a PhD. researcher who studies the subsonic songs of humpback whales and works the channel between Maui and Lanai, identifying and following individual whales, recording whale songs, and converting the songs into digitized computer programs in an effort to decode them. Three other researchers and numerous other wacky characters, allow the author plenty of room for hijinx at the same time that he is exploring serious issues.

When Moore shifts from science to science fiction, the line between reality and fantasy disappears. The reader willingly suspends all disbelief and succumbs to the spell of Moore's non-stop flights of imagination as he explores underwater life. His famous sense of the absurd, his irony, and his humor, some of it black, never flag, and his imagination, given free rein, soars in this wild fantasy of an underwater colony.

However playful it may be, this novel also marks a significant new direction for Moore. He is clearly fascinated by whales and the threats to their existence, and while the book is great fun and often very funny, it also has something serious and important at its heart--it is not frivolous entertainment. In an unprecedented move, Moore adds three separate Author's Notes at the end of the book, updating the reader on current whale research and acknowledging some of the world's great whale researchers. Readers will come away from this novel with broad smiles, a new appreciation for Moore's talents and his willingness to take risks, and, most significantly, new understandings of whales and the ecosystem in which they flourish. Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great author, poor storyline, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Capra "damienC" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings (Paperback)
Far from being its best work. Far fetched, pedantic verging on patronizing. Feels like i cracked open my biology textbook from highschool, thanks but no thanks !

To be fair funny characters, vivid as well but the story line is bogus. Thomas more s utopia is a bore, christopher moore s isnt much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings
Fluke: Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings by Christopher Moore (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews