Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 April 2013
I liked the flow of this book and I appreciated how it ended. Lovely,lyrical writing style and a strong sense of character were strengths that made this book stand out. Some inconsistencies at the end for me but overall I recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Abraham is a must if you like this genre, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like epics, this is brilliant. The writing is quality and flowing. The content is moving, witty and with fantastic imagination. The whole series has been such a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great reading, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
have read the first two books in the series so just had to send for the rest great read will keep this writer top of my list and am looking for other titles by same author highly recommender adieSeasons of War: Book Two of The Long Price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sequal worth a read, 11 May 2010
By 
B. Cowan "Barny" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
If you have read the first book, then this one is a must. It ties up most of the lose ends, but I still felt a little disappointed with the ending. Look forward to reading more from the author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT EVEN IF FLAWED, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're reading this review because you've finished the first two books of The Long Price (both in volume 1) and are wondering whether or not to invest in volume 2, then read on. If you haven't read the first volume yet - Shadow and Betrayal - then do so as Seasons of War will make no sense at all otherwise. Some authors just allow the character development to meander along as the story develops but not here; it's only in book 4 that the reason for some of the stuff in earlier books becomes apparent.
Although, on one level, this can be read as a very high quality sci-fi tale, it is much, much deeper and more profound than that. I love some of the concepts, such as power derived from magic being created and controlled by poets as well as a sophisticated society in which posture and gesture play as major a part in communication as speech. There is racism, sexism, political expediency and the art of compromise and diplomacy here and, gradually, the reader sees these and the events to which they pertain for the allegories of our own world that they really are. Daniel Abraham has created a fantastic story in these two volumes and their impact on me has lasted long after I moved on to my next book. Some of the things in here have changed my outlook permanently.
So what's the flaw? The pace and the presentation of the story over two volumes. The pace of both books within Shadows and Betrayal (A Shadow in Summer and A Betrayal in Winter) is glacial. The structure of all four books is such that it follows the same cast of characters through the story with time gaps of several years between each book. The detail within the first two books does, undoubtedly, form a solid base for what follows, but it doesn't have to be this torpid. The first problem is that I suspect that many readers will just give up after Shadows and not have the stamina to go on to Seasons of War. That would be a real shame as the final chapters of Seasons make the earlier graft worthwhile. But my reason for withholding a fifth star in this superb series is that quite a lot of the slow pace isn't necessary at all; it's just padding and much of it is repetition. Mr Abraham seems to think that if he wants to get a subtle emotional point to me, he has to have the characters express it multiple times or I might miss it. Please, we're not that thick! I reckon that this series could have had 25% trimmed without impairing the impact and the story at all and speeding up the pace considerably. Mr Abraham may have already responded to similar criticism as his later, and as yet unfinished, series, The Dagger & The Coin is a little faster flowing (but the early chapters of that could still do with a bit of 'zizz'). I actually think that the Dagger series is shaping up to be even better than this Long Price series so I'm keeping a keen eye for the next book.
Grumbles about pace notwithstanding, this remains one of the best stories of its kind that I've read in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
Purchased as a gift. As described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price
Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price by Daniel Abraham (Paperback - 21 Jan 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews