Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent conclusion to a fresh story and world, 6 July 2010
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
This is the second book in 'The Long Price', I'm not sure how well I would have graded it if I hadn't read the prior book, so this review will assume you're reading them in order.

The Author continues to handle the new concepts he introduced in the first book excellently, the characters continue to grow and change, a vibrant world brings pressures and situations the character are not in control of suggesting they live in a real place rather than a two dimensional backdrop for their adventures.

I would have to say this is the better of the two books because of two major factors. Firstly and probably less importantly the book is paced better than the first and there is virtually no dragging and (possibly due to the first book) less exposition. Secondly, this book brings together the ending very very well. While there is space for additional stories based in the world, there is a real sense that this story has comfortably closed which is startlingly unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend highly enough - fabulous storytelling., 25 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
How often have I started a series of books that start so promisingly and yet fail to deliver? Or books that keep you hanging on for bloated sequels of 'ever diminishing returns'? Too many to mention.

What a joy therefore to read this great series. Actually 4 books but published (in timely fashion) in 2 volumes. The story is set in an elegantly crafted and believable world - it has hints of Feist's Empire novels with a 'Eastern' type of culture (formal poses and decorum) but the 'magic' is unique and the books are not derivative in any sense. It is a cracking story and the characters have real strengths, flaws and feelings that make you understand and believe their motivations and actions. Yes there is something akin to 'magic' here but it never supplies an easy get out or plot device (quite the opposite!) - the logic and writing is very accomplished.

The story flows over a number of years and the ending was entirely satisfying. I really hope to hear and read more of this author. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long view, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
The series (that this is parts 3 and 4 of) encompasses the breadth of a lifetime - going from the child, teenager, young adult, parent and finishing as old person. These book have genuine emotion in them and made me well up a number of times. They are set in an unusual slightly oriental setting although this is only really shown via the pose based language and food and wine. The story focuses on the how people change as they grow old and yet there early mistakes or triumphs stay with and effect their decisions. Unlike the suggestion from the overtly aggressive front cover - these books are in fact very gentle dealing far more with politics and relationships than battles and fights (although there are more in book 3 and 4 than in the previous 2 books).

I really enjoyed these as an antidote to some of the more kinetic dark fantasy novels that are around at the moment.

I read this quite soon after reading the the Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet and found there was a lot to compare between the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing improvement over the first omnibus, 5 Jun 2010
By 
Neil J. Pearson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
This omnibus contains the final too books in "the long price" and is once more excellent value for money. This is where the series goes from good to great. The set up of the world and characters from the first two (or the Shadows and betrayal omnibus) outings finally comes to a head with several jaw dropping developments that ensure that this fantasy world is forever changed. While there is more action in this book it is the tender moments that still make this series so strong. Daniel also goes out of the way to show that the "villains" actually have a very valid point and I found myself routing for both sides throughout - there's no 1-dimensional evil to kill here. To this end Balasar Gice and Sinja have quickly become my favourite characters in the series. The end of the part 1 is very bittersweet and the final book deals with the fallout with many additional twists and turns that I won't spoil. all in all this is excellent stuff and Daniel should be commended for giving us such a fully realised (and completed) fantasy epic in less then 1500 pages - a real rarirty these days. With the second half of this series he has shown he is one of the top modern fantasy writers out there right now and criminally under the radar. For anyone who has struggled with the start of the series I'd encourage them to this edition a shot as this is where we get the pay off of the "long price". I am very happy that I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT EVEN IF FLAWED, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're reading this review because you've finished the first two books of The Long Price (both in volume 1) and are wondering whether or not to invest in volume 2, then read on. If you haven't read the first volume yet - Shadow and Betrayal - then do so as Seasons of War will make no sense at all otherwise. Some authors just allow the character development to meander along as the story develops but not here; it's only in book 4 that the reason for some of the stuff in earlier books becomes apparent.
Although, on one level, this can be read as a very high quality sci-fi tale, it is much, much deeper and more profound than that. I love some of the concepts, such as power derived from magic being created and controlled by poets as well as a sophisticated society in which posture and gesture play as major a part in communication as speech. There is racism, sexism, political expediency and the art of compromise and diplomacy here and, gradually, the reader sees these and the events to which they pertain for the allegories of our own world that they really are. Daniel Abraham has created a fantastic story in these two volumes and their impact on me has lasted long after I moved on to my next book. Some of the things in here have changed my outlook permanently.
So what's the flaw? The pace and the presentation of the story over two volumes. The pace of both books within Shadows and Betrayal (A Shadow in Summer and A Betrayal in Winter) is glacial. The structure of all four books is such that it follows the same cast of characters through the story with time gaps of several years between each book. The detail within the first two books does, undoubtedly, form a solid base for what follows, but it doesn't have to be this torpid. The first problem is that I suspect that many readers will just give up after Shadows and not have the stamina to go on to Seasons of War. That would be a real shame as the final chapters of Seasons make the earlier graft worthwhile. But my reason for withholding a fifth star in this superb series is that quite a lot of the slow pace isn't necessary at all; it's just padding and much of it is repetition. Mr Abraham seems to think that if he wants to get a subtle emotional point to me, he has to have the characters express it multiple times or I might miss it. Please, we're not that thick! I reckon that this series could have had 25% trimmed without impairing the impact and the story at all and speeding up the pace considerably. Mr Abraham may have already responded to similar criticism as his later, and as yet unfinished, series, The Dagger & The Coin is a little faster flowing (but the early chapters of that could still do with a bit of 'zizz'). I actually think that the Dagger series is shaping up to be even better than this Long Price series so I'm keeping a keen eye for the next book.
Grumbles about pace notwithstanding, this remains one of the best stories of its kind that I've read in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkably Good, 14 Jun 2010
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
It's been a very long time since I've read such an enjoyably complete story - although technically 4 books it's sold in 2 tomes and thus (brilliantly to my mind) avoids the hackneyed cliche of the middle volume of a trilogy that often seems to draw a plot over too many pages.

Whatever, Daniel Abraham tells a fine story with an engagingly original style - I'm not a fan of giving away best bits and the like, but would add that it's one of the only books where I've slow up in the final chapters to take in the enormity of the journeys that the surving characters have been on.

Buy it and find some quiet time and places to have disbelief suspended.
:o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb conclusion to the series, 3 April 2010
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price (Paperback)
SEASONS OF WAR consists of the final two volumes of the LONG PRICE QUARTET. In AN AUTUMN WAR the rulers of Galt finally find a way of neutralising the powers of the andat and invading the Cities of the Khaiem. As the Autumn War erupts, it falls to Otah and Maati to find a way of stopping the invaders, Otah through forging a political alliance and Maati through a dangerous attempt to bind a new andat. Whilst Abraham's skills at depicting warfare are not the best, he minimizes this aspect in favour of the impact of the war on the three principle characters, Otah, Maati and the new character of Balasar Gice, a Galtic general who views tha andat as a threat that can sniff out his homeland in moments and must be neutralised if his people are ever to rest easy (basically a fantasy equivalent of WMDs).

In the concluding chapter, THE PRICE OF SPRING, the aftermath of the war is examined. Suffice to say that the war did not end as expected for either side, and Balasar and Otah are forced to try and forge a new peace between their peoples that has been poisoned by the deaths of hundreds of thousands. A disgraced Maati is attempting to start a new poets' school in the wilderness, but is unaware that amongst those studying to bind the andat are those who lost everything in the war, and who are interested in nothing more than bloody retribution...

The concluding chapters of the story are more dynamic and faster-paced than the first two books in the series (available in the omnibus SHADOW AND BETRAYAL), featuring a bloody war and an attempt to survive the devastating aftermath. The emphasis remains on our principle characters and their relationships, and Abraham depicts the ideas of warfare, betrayal and trust very well.

This is a worthy conclusion to the series, which overall is definitely one of the best fantasy series of the 2000s and marks the beginning a very promising career for a strong new voice in the fantasy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 12 Jan 2014
By 
D. George "nonogram addict" (South Wales U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not put it down. As with the first book the well-rounded characters and storyline gripped me from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent continuation & conclusion, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Long Price Quartet is an ambitious and engaging text, well worth reading. A great example of modern fantasy writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 April 2013
I liked the flow of this book and I appreciated how it ended. Lovely,lyrical writing style and a strong sense of character were strengths that made this book stand out. Some inconsistencies at the end for me but overall I recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price
Seasons Of War: Book Two of The Long Price by Daniel Abraham (Paperback - 21 Jan 2010)
5.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews