Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - but needs more proof-reading
Perhaps having got used to the characters and the settings, the plot line was a little tame / predictable - however I struggled to put the book down as I was so engrossed in the story and even found myself dreaming about the story each night - which I only seem to do for Trudi's books.

However there are unfortuantely a lot of silly mistakes that a proof reader...
Published 23 months ago by Poggle

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars worst yet
I have been getting more and more disillusioned with Trudi's writing, and feel she's completely lost her way with this book. Character development is poor, the story never really built up to go anywhere, the ending was very abrupt. Finally, please don't spend the first half of the book recapping what happened in the previous 2 books. I've read them, nobody picks up the...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. D. S. Smyth


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars worst yet, 10 Aug 2013
By 
I have been getting more and more disillusioned with Trudi's writing, and feel she's completely lost her way with this book. Character development is poor, the story never really built up to go anywhere, the ending was very abrupt. Finally, please don't spend the first half of the book recapping what happened in the previous 2 books. I've read them, nobody picks up the last book in a series without reading the previous books, and if they did then you don't have to cater for them. The books are so short there's no need for it, it's like writing a chapter to recap what just happened in the previous chapter. You just wouldn't do it.

* rant over *

Read this book if you have OCD and have to close off the series, like me. Otherwise don't waste your time or money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Aug 2013
Oh dear - I absolutely loved the Black Magician Trilogy and was delighted to hear that Ms Canavan was continuing the story line. A mistake - Ms Canavan should have left it alone as the new trilogy just fails to live up to the excitement of her earlier work. I felt the story was far too long and it seemed Ms Canavan had lost the edge that oozed out of the Black Magician. Good things come to an end and it is best to let them be, instead of trying to burn the fire for too long and then it loses its magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, but ultimately unsatisfying, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the original series and the basic premise of this sequel trilogy was great. However, on finishing it, I found the whole was less than the sum of its parts. All the key moments seem to pass without any real sense of excitement, and the principal characters didn't really seem to do much. There was an awful lot of situational and introspective analysis but not much action.

(Spoiler alert) As the story moved towards the final battle, I was looking forward to Sonea having a chance to let rip with her magic or descriptions of titanic magic encounters, but they never really came. Still the books were an enjoyable if somewhat unsatisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the "best" not the worst, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trudi Canavan's writing is a lot like driving a real fast Skoda. You shouldn't enjoy it, you really don't want anyone else to see you near it, and it can be a complete blast. The Traitor series has been somewhat below par, after the incredibly slow first book and an unlimatley unsatisfying second I had high hopes she'd bring it all together in the third. Sadly this wasn't quite the case, and when all is said and done the series is a somewhat unworthy installment in the Guild Magician books.

Trudi telegraphs her plot lines so early its literally comical, her characters make bizarre decisions about how they interact with the world, no-one does anything remotely unsucessful and the world is full of very soft edges (even the "torture" scence in this book is about as scary as pink unicorns) - her saving grace is the speed and pace of her plots, and a good story concept and normally that's enough - in this case it simply isn't. Frankly I'd avoid these books and look elsewhere in her back catalouge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. S. Becker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THe first trilogy was great. The second less so, this book the worst of the three.
Should have waited for it to come in to the library (still would have been disappointed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - but needs more proof-reading, 18 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps having got used to the characters and the settings, the plot line was a little tame / predictable - however I struggled to put the book down as I was so engrossed in the story and even found myself dreaming about the story each night - which I only seem to do for Trudi's books.

However there are unfortuantely a lot of silly mistakes that a proof reader should have spotted. Character names getting mixed up, and stray words appearing where the sentence has clearly been amended. These mistakes kept distrupting my reading as I had to double check which character was meant or what the sentence should say.

I do hope that there will be more in this series, although I am more interested in the Lilia / Sonea / Kallen story lines than the Lorkin / Dannyl / Tayend ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sad disappointment, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Traitor Queen The Traitor Queen: The Traitor Spy Trilogy: Book Three is the final book the Traitor Spy Trilogy. I had enjoyed the series, albeit not as much as the original Black Magician Trilogy. I liked the progression of the characters and the idea of the magical gemstones introduced in this series. I bought this book as soon as I could and read it over a weekend, hoping for some action and satisfying revelations in the build up to the final resolution. How disappointing to find about half a chapter's worth of decent ideas and such weak conclusions for the main characters. It's not good enough just having everyone wander around aimlessly for chapter after chapter until their story just fizzles out in the last third of the book. I spent some time hoping there was going to be another instalment where all the good stuff would be. I realise there are deadlines for authors and publishers, but it makes me angry that anyone thought this tawdry effort reached the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting conclusion to the trilogy but too close to the 'Trudi Canavan' template, 4 Aug 2012
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The Traitor Queen' is a fitting ending to the 'Traitor Spy' trilogy. Just like in The Rogue: The Traitor Spy Trilogy: Book Two: The Traitor Spy Trilogy, Book 2 and The Ambassador's Mission: The Traitor Spy Trilogy: Book One: The Traitor Spy Trilogy, Book 1, the book happens in the world of Sonea (of The Black Magician Trilogy fame) some 20 years after the original events.

The main threads, namely following Lorkin in his quest to bring about an arrangement between Traitors and the Magician's Guild in Imardin, Cery's mission to find the rogue magician in Imardin, Dannyl's ambassadorial role in Sachaka and Sonea's involvement in resolving some of these all remain as in the preceding two books.

Still the author manages to add a couple of curve balls in and the conclusion does have some painful and unexpected elements to it - which certainly both add to the book's appeal. Some of the battles that ensue are perhaps a bit anticlimactic (in my humble opinion the author could do more here), there is too much of the 'young female novice magician' element in the form of Lilia that has been the guiding element in most of her other books, and there are some 50 pages left after the main events all resolved themselves but otherwise there is not much to complain about.

So overall a very nice to read piece of fantasy fiction (and it will probably draw you in enough to finish it quickly) and a solid end to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad it has ended but great story and action, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Traitor Queen: Book 3 of the Traitor Spy (Paperback)
Excatly what you expect from the ending of this trilogy, lots of action, sotry and interesting finds. I wasnt ready to leave the made up world of Sonea's so i bought and am currently reading the magicians apprentice which is based in Kyralia 500 years previous and so far am enjoying some of the back ground and what I know from the trilogies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fitting and world-aware end to the series, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, I was really happy to get this book. The story threads were really varied and gave us as readers a good clear picture of the whole of Canavan's ever-burgeoning world as the characters grow to explore and access more areas of it.

SPOILERS AHEAD

**************************

However, some of it did feel a little forced. The best threads in my opinion were the Achati-Merria-Danyl-Tayend in Sachaka and the Lilia-Anyi story going on in Kyralia. Savara and Sonea's threads were, while interesting, less...important, perhaps, to the plot.

What I REALLY liked about the book though was Canavan extending within it - even at the risk of alienating her fanbase - themes present from the start of this trilogy and the preceding one - themes of change, patriotism and its consequences, love in all its forms (between whatever gender!), manipulation, innocence. Though I hated the thought of Dannyl and Tayend breaking up, for example, the evolution of the characters and their positions in life that followed were worth it. Achati's tragic storyline was also handled well, I thought.

I maintain that Dannyl was the best written character in this trilogy - along with Sonea, whose non-action is, while atypical of an action heroine, understandable given her character. Lilia and Anyi's storyline comes very naturally as well and works to recapture the spark of Sonea circa THE NOVICE.

Things that weren't done so well - explaining how the Traitors came to capture and defeat the Sachakans so easily - it was alluded that they'd planned it a long time but that was really the only explanation. Gemstones were a bit of a deus ex machina tacked on at the end (Tyvara's oddly specific explanation to Lorkin) though the explanation of the wasteland was a genius twist. I also found Sonea x Regin clunky and shifted on to give 'everyone a happy ending'. As regards the Traitors though, the neutral portrayal was absolutely necessary to show that they were by no means exclusively better than the reigning Sachakan Ashaki. I also felt that some storylines didn't reach their full potential - Kalia's sub-thread and Telano (who we hadnt heard much from in three books) being tacked on towards the conclusion.

In general I found the book more politicised than earlier Canavan which both added and detracted from the storyline. What I finished the book feeling was that what's right and wrong isnt easily defineable or clear at all times, and aspects of one's personality that you believe to be fixed when you're young may be subject to growth and changes and evolve over time while still retaining elements of what made it what it was in the first place. Change doesnt necessarily have to cut off all of what moulded the original in the first place and I think Canavan echoes this theme through her portrayal of the characters as well as her writing of the story; her narrative.

What would make this book perfect for me would be to revise and revisit some of the elements that seem a little hurried, disjointed, or not fully integrated, and re-release The Traitor Queen in a director's cut version some time over the next two years.

But as to what Trudi has achieved with this book as it stands it is a satisfying end to the stories of the main characters - with enough threads left open for another series, perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Traitor Queen: Book 3 of the Traitor Spy
The Traitor Queen: Book 3 of the Traitor Spy by Trudi Canavan (Paperback - 30 July 2013)
Used & New from: 0.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews