Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving Forwards
I really enjoyed The Ambassador's Mission, in a large part because of what it was not. It wasn't a retread over the same ground that was the major flaw of The Magician's Apprentice prequal. And it doesn't focus exclusively on another young girl coming unexpectedly into magical powers (common to both Apprentice and The Age of Five series). It's well written as is to be...
Published on 11 May 2010 by Andrew Riley

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and uninvolving
I enjoyed the prequel "Black magician" series but found this (and the two subsequent volumes) a let-down. The plot ambles along with little sense of urgency or peril, feeling like a diary of the characters actions and leaving the reader quite uncaring as to any of their fates. Two simultaneous tales unfold, however they don't really interconnect and either could...
Published 1 month ago by Youngs


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read look forward to next instalment, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this first book in latest trilogy have just bought book two and hope it is as good as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book i Traitor Spy, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Boring and long winded… couldn't get going . Will have another try later when I can concentrate more.Usually her books are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ambassador's Mission: Book 1 of the Traitor Spy: 1/3 (Paperback)
Love Trudi Canavan!! I haven't read this yet but the Maigicans Trilogy was Brilliant!!
Have also collected The Age of Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great instalment, 9 April 2011
another great book from Canavan, well tied into both the black magican trilogy and the magician's apprentice. it was a long wait for this book and i cant wait for the next instalement in May
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars From bad to worse, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trudi Canavan has been guilty of some whopping crimes against literature in her time, but they've been enjoyable yarns that whip along and engross you despite the clumsy plot, dreadful characterisations and dire attempts at twists. This book is every bit as bad as her other but minus the good story. Utterly unreadble, do not buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't do it!!!, 21 Oct 2010
If you're considering buying this book, think again. If you've never read any Trudi Canavan before, it will put you off an excellent author for life. If you're a fan of the Black Magician Trilogy, as I am, DO NOT under any circumstances read this book. I was extremely looking forward to catching up on events and characters. I wasn't expecting to return to the same Imardin obviously, but I had no idea what I was getting myself into. Suffice it to say that it will totally ruin your happy memories of the end of The High Lord. The plot tends to go round in circles, and some characters are so changed that I suspect Trudi Canavan has 'forgotten' how to write for them. All in all it is very upsetting to see relationships which seemed set to last at the end of The High Lord crumble. So go on. Do the sensible thing. Read The Magicians' Guild. You know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The book was falling to peices, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ambassador's Mission: Book 1 of the Traitor Spy: 1/3 (Paperback)
The book was sent in a very poor condition, pages misprinted, pages missing, sections falling away from book spine, unreadable.

Have returned, so cannot review the story.

I gave it one star so as to post this comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambassadors Mission Trudi Canavan, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book received in excellent condition. Very quickly delivered and packaged well. Very pleased with purchase and the communication from the seller. Excellent Amazon seller.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 16 Mar 2011
By 
I. Buchanan (Northeast Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK! I confess I've not read it yet as my wife grabbed it on arrival ....but Trudi's Magician books are always great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read if you like her work, 24 July 2010
By 
A. Dhillon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very well written and enjoyable all the way through. One downside is the long wait till the next ones out :¬(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ambassador's Mission: Book 1 of the Traitor Spy: 1/3
The Ambassador's Mission: Book 1 of the Traitor Spy: 1/3 by Trudi Canavan (Paperback - 7 April 2011)
£7.91
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews