Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the Nerds?
I must say I'm a bit bemused by some of the earlier reviews...so let's at least try to cut the confusion a bit. First, the book "The Atrocity Archives" (note the plural) contains two separate items: the short novel "The Atrocity Archive" (singular) and the long short story/short novelette "The Concrete Jungle". They are part of a series, i.e. they make use of the same...
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by S. Cartwright

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neal Stephenson meets Jasper Fforde
... with a bit of `The IT Crowd' and `Ghostbusters' thrown in for good measure. The premise - the existence of a secret agency which counters threats from other realities - reminded me strongly of Jasper Fforde's metafictional romps such as `The Eyre Affair'. I had the same (mild) reservation about Stross as I do about Fforde - that the tone is perhaps just a bit *too*...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by Sarah A. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revenge of the Nerds?, 15 Nov 2007
By 
S. Cartwright (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files (Paperback)
I must say I'm a bit bemused by some of the earlier reviews...so let's at least try to cut the confusion a bit. First, the book "The Atrocity Archives" (note the plural) contains two separate items: the short novel "The Atrocity Archive" (singular) and the long short story/short novelette "The Concrete Jungle". They are part of a series, i.e. they make use of the same characters in the same world, but there is no reason to expect plot continuity, any more than there would be reason to expect plot continuity between two separate episodes of Star Trek or two Agatha Christie Poirot stories. The separateness of the stories is quite clear from the layout of the book: why some earlier reviewers wanted to read them as one beats me completely. Oh well.

Second, this is actually Charlie Stross's first book, though it's clearly been reissued on the back of his later success, and yes, it does show. This is a book written as a side project by an IT professional, and one feels that other IT professionals were the intended audience. It does, indeed, work better if you're a geek (I'm not, but I am a university physicist so I got most of the in jokes). When it was originally published, the publishers obviously felt, probably rightly, that an introduction by Ken Macleod would help to sell this unknown author - the subtext, that if you like Macleod you're likely to like Stross, is completely justified in my opinion. Yes, the intro could have been dropped for this reissue, but it would probably have cost money to do so.

The stories in this book (and its sequel, "The Jennifer Morgue") are written as affectionate pastiches of classic spy novels, as the Afterword makes clear. The basic idea is that magic actually works, mostly by tapping into alternate universes (probably the "many worlds" of quantum mechanics). Hence, people working in particular branches of applied mathematics (especially geometry and algorithm theory, as you might expect given that magic uses formulae and diagrams) are apt to get more than they bargained for. The Laundry, a branch of British Intelligence, is tasked with (a) heading off mathematicians and computer scientists who are straying into the wrong areas before they accidentally do something catastrophic and (b) dealing with the consequences if they fail to manage (a). However, it's also a government department, which means in addition to this it is expected to conform to government standards for administration, staff development, etc. Been there, done that, and feel exactly the same as Stross evidently does about it!

Disagreeing completely with an earlier reviewer, I think this does work, and (given the historically-attested strongly mystic ethos of large parts of the SS, plus the whole spy-novel pastiche idea) a late-WW2 Nazi SS plot is an entirely sensible choice of "baddie". However, it is true that, after a highly entertaining build-up, the actual climax does seem to me to happen too quickly and be resolved rather too easily. I think this is first-book inexperience; I doubt he'd write the last quarter of the story in the same way if he were writing it now. It's not really a serious fault, because the entertainment value of this book is mostly in the details: the sly digs at various office administration buzzwords (and assorted Microsoft products - a view I suspect Bob Howard shares with his creator). Anyone who's worked in IT or in a university department should find this book very funny indeed. (Incidentally, the mathematicians whose names I recognised - not all of them - are being used in completely appropriate contexts given the book's premise: yes, O previous reviewer, I'm pretty sure Stross does know what he's talking about there.)

If you're looking for sophisticated high-concept hard science fiction as per Accelerando, Glasshouse, etc., this book is not for you. If you're a fan of Dilbert, buy it immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun in a Harry Palmer style, 28 Oct 2007
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files (Paperback)
Science fiction espionage horror. With a dash of comedy. Loads of computer geek stuff. That's what you get from the Atrocity Archives.

Bob Howard (I'm not sure if this is an allusion to the Conan creator) works in IT for a branch of the Secret Service that deals with stopping people from accidently summoning cthulhu type entities using circuit boards. He struggles with the usual minuitae of everyday life, pointless training course, over-officious bosses and bizarre flatmates. Like Harry Palmer, he lives in a lowrent world, eating cheap pizzas and waiting for his flatmates to leave so that he can use the washer/dryer.

But when he's forced to kill a possessed man on a HR course, he attracts the attention of his superiors and soon finds himself caught up in an incipient armageddon and a journey to another universe.

It's good fun. I will admit, like another reviewer, I did feel that events escalated rather quickly and to a degree that one might have expected Bob to feel a bit more out of his depth. However, I didn't think it detracted from the story which was, as I say, good fun, certainly enough to make me want to read the next book in the series, the Jennifer Morgue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Len Deighton meets Cthulhu..., 25 May 2004
By 
Marcus L. Rowland "Marcus" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atrocity Archives (Hardcover)
It's difficult to review this book without comparing it to other authors, simply because they share certain common moods. The actual story concept is original, a fusion of espionage, horror, and SF that won't necessarily appeal to readers who are purists in any one of these genres, but is hugely enjoyable if you can take it all in.
Briefly, the story revolves around agents for a British intelligence organisation tasked with suppressing certain mathematical concepts; the ones that are the keys to other dimensions, most of them containing entities implacably hostile to mankind. The trouble is that they happen to be very interesting mathematical concepts, the ones that are close to the cutting edge of computer research, and there are a lot of people out there that are working on them. In the past it took thousands of man-hours to screw up reality, today a laptop can do it in sceonds. This can result in horrific accidents and is potentially the ultimate terrorist weapon. There is an uneasy peace between the world's intelligence agencies, which pool resources to counter this threat, but things haven't always been that way. The ultimate threat of the book is a remnant of Nazi research from the second world war, and turns out to be much nastier than expected.
I enjoyed everything in this book, from the home-life of the hacker/agent hero to its final apocalyptic scenes on a dying alien world. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good (A Book Swede Review), 13 Aug 2007
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files (Paperback)
The Atrocity Archives is a small book compared to the door-stoppers of modern fantasy and SF, weighing in at only 299 pages once you discount the introduction, afterword and (a very necessary) glossary of terms and abbreviations. But don't let that put you off. The sheer number of ideas contained in those few pages is just mind-numbingly amazing, and keeps the story racing along at break-neck pace.

The premise: The Laundry, a top-secret government agency with the duty of protecting the world from unseen horrors--a troop of Nazis existing on an alternate universe, breaking through the dimensions of space and time; terrorist capable of summoning demons, et cetera, etc! And how does The Laundry do this? With magic of course! Not the Gandalf type, though, but by harnessing technology... For with pure mathematics, anything is possible...

When Bob Howard, a low level techie at The Laundry, goes and gets himself noticed by his superiors, his trouble begins...Forced onto assignments where he's frequently in danger, Bob doesn't think things can get any worse ( a very dangerous thing to think in an organization which uses advanced mathematics to compel there employees to tell the truth!) ...so of course they do!

At times too concentrated with jargon and surplus info, this book is nonetheless a cracking read. Some parts are very funny (particularly when you meet his house-mates, Pinky and The Brain!) and the office characters crucifying Bob (metaphorically) for overdue paperwork, etc will be very real to those unfortunate enough to work for a top secret government agency...or just a normal office!

Very nearly Nine out of Ten, the best Stross book I've read yet!

For more reviews, amazing and regular competitions, and author interviews visit: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atrociously fun, 24 May 2005
This review is from: Atrocity Archives (Hardcover)
The Atrocity Archives, if I must harp on, yet again demonstrates the versatility of Charles Stross' writing. And provides a really good reason to become a fan now.
This is a well conceived mix of spy thriller, Cthulhu-esque terror and comic romp - as our hero (A technical support adviser, for the secret British agency known only as The Laundry) Bob Howard braves the terrors of the unknown universe, middle management, undead nazis and other things both Squibbous and Rugose.
The first tale - The Atrocity Archive (note no 'S') itself it intelligent, witty and imaginative; and leaves you screaming out for more from Bob Howard. Which is quite fortunatly answered straight away by the follow on novlette "The Concrete Jungle", which makes up the last third of the book.
Here Bob is entangled in another plot to turn all of Britain's CCTV cameras into lethal disintegration rays using a 'magic' system, and he must track down the psychotic hackers who have taken it upon themselves to sludge various unwitting members of the public. Can he figure out who, why and where?!
Two tales, both super - and both part of what we can only hope becomes an ongoing series (if the world were truly right - a TV series). And Mr Stross is currently writing the second story...so watch these spaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining cod-Horror, 14 July 2006
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives (Paperback)
If you've read Stross' Hard SF novels (Singularity Sky, Iron Sunrise, Accelerando etc.) this might come as a bit of a surprise. As the other reviews have stated, it's a sort of cold-war era spy yarn mixed with Lovecraftian hokum. Despite this, it's full of jokes and at times almost Douglas Adams-like humour (sorry Charles if this wasn't deliberate). If you've read "A Colder War" in Stross' short story collection "Toast", you'll have an idea of what to expect here, though with an overall lighter feel and ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neal Stephenson meets Jasper Fforde, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Sarah A. Brown (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atrocity Archives (Hardcover)
... with a bit of `The IT Crowd' and `Ghostbusters' thrown in for good measure. The premise - the existence of a secret agency which counters threats from other realities - reminded me strongly of Jasper Fforde's metafictional romps such as `The Eyre Affair'. I had the same (mild) reservation about Stross as I do about Fforde - that the tone is perhaps just a bit *too* lighthearted and chirpy. (Although there are some grisly moments in Stross as well.)

Whereas Fforde is aimed at humanities graduates, Stross is targeted at physicists and geeks and I certainly felt I was missing some of the jokes - although there is also plenty of humour centred around more accessible contexts such as office life and flat shares. I found myself irritated by Stross's female characters. On the one hand we have wish-fulfilment fantasy Mo, a glamorous ubergeek who finds Bob (the narrator) improbably attractive. On the other hand we have Harriet and Bridget, two pedantic, spiteful, narrow minded middle managers: `Harriet is a back-office suit: mousy and skinny, forty-something, and dried up from spending all those years devising forms in triplicates with which to terrorize field agents." Despite reservations I did quite like the first (longer) novella, `The Atrocity Archive'. However a few pages into the second story, `The Concrete Jungle,' I realized I simply wasn't enjoying it very much and decided to leave it unfinished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing concept - cardboard characters, 6 Jan 2013
By 
C. Cooper (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files (Paperback)
Others have written pretty thorough descriptions of this book, and I must agree that the concept is intriguing. However, I found the writing to be very difficult to plough through - lots of techno-babble which does nothing to advance the plot, and only the most rudimentary character-development. I can see why people make comparisons with Len Deighton in terms of the twisty spy plot and I think it's an important similarity - they're both very much plot-driven rather than character-driven. I found myself applying the 'eight deadly words' rule - 'I don't care what happens to these people'.

I don't think I have enough interest to give another of these a chance - my 'to read' pile is quite high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is what Torchwood should have been like..., 30 Jan 2008
By 
R. M. Lindley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files (Paperback)
Fast and funny, with a bureaucratic government regime more concerned with paperwork than saving the world, evil Nazis from another dimension and mind-eating horrors straight from Lovecraft... this is exactly what Torchwood should have been.

Yes, the book comprises two linked stories. Yes, it is a first novel and some of the characterisation is weak. But it is still a cracking read, has more ideas than the whole of the 268 volume Wheel of Time series put together, and there are some excellent IT jokes too.

If these guys tell you to turn it off, you really don't want to turn it back on again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid start to an outstanding series, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mix equal parts of H.P. Lovecraft, Len Deighton, Jim Butcher and Neal Stephenson, stir vigorously and stand well back. Well, actually, dive right in and get carried along in a pacy, tense thriller with lots of humour.

The main problem was that as soon as I finished it I wanted more of the same; happily there are several more in the series already...

Four and a half stars - I only give five to absolute classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files
The Atrocity Archives: Book 1 in The Laundry Files by Charles Stross (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews