Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Runelords saga continues
The initial Runelords quartet was innovative, had pulse racing action, an interesting magic system which raised profound ethical questions and a somewhat disappointing ending, that left far too many questions unanswered and plot threads shorn.

In continuing this series, David Farland corrects many of the problems that his last book created. The...
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by R. M. Lindley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like it was written by someone else
I loved the runelords series. A fantastic take on the fantasy genre with some incredibly interesting characters and moral ambiguities that meant each book was riveting.

I honestly am at a loss to describe what has happened here. It reads like it has been written by a teenager. Characterisation is scant as is any descriptive imaginings. In parts it is disjointed...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by S. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like it was written by someone else, 9 Dec 2009
By 
S. Smith "meesterboom" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
I loved the runelords series. A fantastic take on the fantasy genre with some incredibly interesting characters and moral ambiguities that meant each book was riveting.

I honestly am at a loss to describe what has happened here. It reads like it has been written by a teenager. Characterisation is scant as is any descriptive imaginings. In parts it is disjointed and others just plain dull. Rarely has one book put me off a series but like Eddings later work (Elder Gods/ Redemption of Althalus) I do not know if I can bring myself to read any further books in the Runelord series. Such a shame too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Runelords saga continues, 15 Nov 2007
By 
R. M. Lindley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
The initial Runelords quartet was innovative, had pulse racing action, an interesting magic system which raised profound ethical questions and a somewhat disappointing ending, that left far too many questions unanswered and plot threads shorn.

In continuing this series, David Farland corrects many of the problems that his last book created. The characterisation is still patchy, but as ever his description of the hero is detailed and nuanced, as Fallion fights to control the power within him.

I would encourage anyone who was disappointed by the conclusion to the first set of Runelord books to persevere with Sons of the Oak, as when the series is viewed as a whole the plotting feels less rushed, and more epic, without having to pad huge sections of the book with a trip to Rivendell/the One Tree or descriptions of characters pulling their hair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near the standard of before, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
This book seemed hurried to get nowhere. Although the inner turmoil of Fallion is in some ways a novel idea... the book is slow, the bad guys are far more obvious (from being anything or anyone to big bad monsters) and thus less interesting. The overall story although probably leading to somewhere (in later books) was weak. X years go missing towards the end. a massive battle happens that was devoid of all drama and tension.

I was looking for some of the skill that made me really fall in love with the Runelord books.

The end of this book could have started a whole new story.. instead of this "filler" time wasting book.

2 stars... pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
It was a good book and it came quickly and in good quality as said in the description so all round pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read, really keeps your attention, fantastic that it doesn't use too many filler words. don't want to finish it, but also can't wait to get the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sons of the oak, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
a wonderful read, i like how it continues from book four years later and straight into the action of it all... couldn't put it down, book 6 on it way :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 14 Feb 2011
By 
plot hound (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
This isn't a bad book but it isn't as good as the previous ones.

Fallion is an ok character, he is a child that isn't very childish, and his behaviour is fairly consistent throughout.
The other characters are barely fleshed out at all and the bad guys behave with no depth and little intelligence.

The main failing of the book is it's 'James Bond' moment, where the bad guys have the hero at there mercy and instead of killing him they leave him in a position to escape, after some difficulty. There is no reason given for this behaviour from what should have been an intelligent enemy.

The ending is also a bit poor, it feels rushed and too easy.
This leaves the book feeling a bit childish.

There is the feeling that there was a good book in there somewhere but what ended up on the page is well written but bland and forgettable.

There was a certain depth and intelligence to the other books that is completely missing from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Farland does it again.........., 8 Sep 2007
By 
JSL "Jen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
I got this book thinking that David Farland couldn't surpass the excellent earlier Runelord books (the thought of the use forcibles makes my toes curl up!!!) but having started reading this book a couple of days ago I have nearly finished it. It is abolutely wonderful, just one of those books you can slide inside the pages and live. Fallion, son of Gaborn, is a really great character and the whole thing moves at a tremendous pace and is exciting and interesting at every turn. PLEASE CAN WE HAVE SOME MORE MR FARLAND?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good but an essential read, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Margaret Taylor "Books at Al's" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
The book starts off 8 years later and we are introduced properly to Gaborn's sons, Fallion and Jaz.

The story was very rushed, the new characters were portrayed in a somewhat superficial manner and it was very difficult to make any sort of connection to Gaborn's sons until at least half way through the book. The `Good' and `Bad' characters are very obvious, unlike the first 2 books where you could maybe feel some sympathy for the villain of the story, and the final battle (after another gap of several years) that you are hurled towards near the end has very little atmosphere or suspense. Having said all that I did enjoy the book eventually and feel that it is necessary to read it if only to get to know the 2 boys before the next installment, however it may have been better to either expand this story or combine it with the next book.

3 stars - not as good as the others but a necessary read to get to know characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another allnighter, 25 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords (Paperback)
I consider the Runelord books, all of them, original and exciting. Strong story line, excelent charactarization and always leaving me wanting more. This one fits in perfectly with all the rest. Good, well written entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3948cc0)

This product

Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords
Sons Of The Oak: Book 5 of the Runelords by David Farland (Paperback - 2 Aug 2007)
9.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews