Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 January 2000
This novel is a Brooks masterpiece and I would strongly disagree with the guy that gave this book a flawed rating of one.This book opens powerfully;the fall of the Druid's keep with the loss of good characters Caerid Lock and Kahle Rese is particularly engaging.The 5 survivors from the slaughter at the keep embark on an epic quest to help save the Four Lands.Risca rouses the Dwarf nation,Tay unlocks the power of the Black Elfstone, whilst the remaining trio forge the Sword of Shannara.This book has a strong storyline,involving characters and excellent swords and sorcery action.Brooks has a habit of endearing the reader to his characters and then killing many of them off, as the vast majority of the cast for good in this novel perish.It is also good to be introduced to Allanon in this story as he is the central protagonist of the Sword/Elfstones and Wishsong Trilogy.Add this book to your fantasy collection.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2005
THE STORY:
The complacency of the Druid Council has allowed the rogue Druid Brona to become the Warlock Lord. The Druid Bremen and a small group of followers seek to counter the Warlock Lord by creating a magical artifact; the Sword of Shannara.
WHAT'S GOOD:
'The Sword Of Shannara' was well written, but far too much like LotR to be a satisfactory read (I'm not saying LotR is bad! I'm saying lesser copycat novels are). Here, however, Brooks tells a much more original story that can either be read first or to reveal more about the people and events of the later books. I enjoyed seeing Bremen and his friends in action, each representing a different aspect of the Druid magic. This book also goes some way to tying together 'The Sword...', 'The Elfstones...' and 'The Wishsong...' as well as dropping strong hints towards the Heritage of Shannara series (things like Cogline's Druid origins and the Black Elfstone). Best of all in this book is the substory of a young orphan boy who becomes attatched to Bremen's mission. A boy named Allanon.
WHAT'S BAD:
People who've read Brooks' other Shannara books will not only be largely aware of what's going to happen here, but also will experience a 'read one, read them all' feeling in regard to his descriptions of battles against larger armies in which some magic or other turns the tide at the last minute.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
This is the first Terry Brooks novel that I read, and it blew me away. For a relatively short novel (copared to the Sword of Shannara Trilogy, and the later Heritage of Shannara and Voyage of the Jerle Shanarra) the storyline is surprisingly deep.
Although initially I was put off this book by thinking it was going to be Brooks attempt at being Tolkien, there is sufficient difference for any reader to be able to enjoy this book. I found it to be very well written, with characters that you can really believe in and come to love.
If you haven't read any of Terry Brooks then the Sannara series is a must, and will surely rank very highly in your fantasy collection. I highly recommend this book, and other Shanarra books. Now that Terry Brooks has finished writing the Shanarra series I feel pretty lost. I enjoyed these books immensely.
One thing I can guarantee is that once you pick this book up, you will not put it down until you are done. A brilliant series.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2003
Terry Brooks has drawn together the stories presented as history in the first Shannara books and skilfully made them into the most exciting and best book he has written. I must say that I did hesitate before buying this, as sometimes a Prequel is just a way of cashing-in on previous successes, but this is a real masterpiece. The background was all so familiar, the events new and quite gripping. I could not put this book down and was most disappointed when I had finished it . I only hope that Terry is busy with the next one, - which MUST, most surely, be the continuation of the story of Allanon from his boyhood and the hitherto unknown years in between.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2005
I've read all of Terry Brook's works, starting with The Sword Of Shannara, but I only recently managed to obtain The First King Of Shannara. From the reviews I've read, it seems this book has been very under-rated. I've seen it written off as a book not really worth reading unless you're a die hard fan. Well, anyone who has been put off by this is missing a huge treat. One of Terry Brook's gratest talents is to delve deeply within the thoughts and emotions of his characters, displaying the good and bad points of each. First king is a classic example. The reader's heart will ache for the main protagonist Breman as he struggles to convince his fellow druids of the threat to the four lands. There are also his small band of devoted followers who must aid in the fight for their people's survival, as well as fighting personal demons of their own. The battle scenes are on the scale of Lord Of The Rings. If you're interested in a history of Shannara, but don't want just a book of facts, then this is ideal. A must read for Terry Brooks fans and fantasy fans alike.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
This one worked well and helps backfill the first big battle with Brona, the rebel druid. One thing I will say is that this story doesn't work without reading the first Sword of Shannara trilogy, so read that first (in fact check Terry's website for the reading order!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
I have never classed Terry Brooks as a *great* author, but he is a good one. I notice he is always compared to Tolkien, and one author or the other tends to suffer for it. Well, I am afraid I have never found Tolkien to be an intelligent read. Good for children though. Few fantasy novels have an intellectual depth to them, even if they are a lot of fun to read, and people forget that Tolkien did not invent the story, he copied it himself. However, as far as fun goes, this book, like the others, is definitely that.
It has been a long time since I have read the book but the reason I give the stars as high as I do, is for one peculiar fact about this book that I have only ever seen one other author pull off (CS Lewis): First King is a prelude book that was written after the main story, just as the first Narnia book (The Magicians Nephew) was written a long time after the more famous "The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe". However, both books have the virtue of being able to be read before any other books, or after reading them, or without going ahead and reading any of the other books ever. For example, the revelation of Allanon about the truth of himself and Bremen to Shea at the end of the "Sword of Shannara" struck me as particularly weird, and not one I considered likely. I, of course, cannot say what was in the author's head at the time he wrote The Sword, or if he had the story of the first battle against Brona all worked out in head back then, but his handling of the entire Bremen-Allanon affair (and a few other things that are mentioned or hinted at in later books) is better done in this novel, than these books would imply. On the other hand, these inconsitancies between books are small and carry the flavour of "historical inaccuracy" as opposed to the blatent ignoring of his own previous works that authors such as David Eddings have managed.
If you like the Shannara books, add this one to your collection. It does not invalidate the other books, and has the virtue of being a true starter book, even though written with hindsight, and that is where it gets the extra star from me.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2002
The first trilogy relates a great deal back to the storyline of First King, leaving the reader with unanswered questions and a pestering ignorance of what the first war of the races was like. However I found reading this book fulfilled expectations and answered my questions. Brook's mixture of love, hate and adventure is evident throughout the book and left me wanting to read it again. The story revolves around Bremen, father of Allanon and Jerle Shannara, King of the Westland Elves. It tells of the forging of the sword of Shannara, which in my opinion was particularly well writin, and of the fall of Paranor to the Warlock Lord. As always, i was left reading all the other books of Shannara once again! And i hope Terry Brooks never stops writing this amazing fantasy epic although I'm sure his books shall still be read in years to come!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
Iam a great fan of the Shannara series and this book just adds more depth and interest to the whole series. It creates a history to all the other books which in turn make the series almost believable! it tells of Bremens trials and tribulations to create a weapon that can destroy the warlock lord. There some great characters in this story as in all of the Shannara series, i very much enjoyed it and advise anyone who has read The Sword Of Shannara or loves fantasy stories to read this book and all the others because there great! This book would most certainly be a great starting point to anyone who has never read any books in the Shannara series!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
This book puts into context events from the previous books as it is the prequel to them all. From start to end you will find yourself saying ' oh so that's who that is ' or ' so that's why that happened '. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse