Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not the Pitts
It's sometime after the events of `Already Dead' and Joe Pitt is desperate for work. His money stash is running low and more importantly so is his blood stash! Blood is so important because Joe is a Vampire rogue. He works separately from the various clans that make up Manhattan Island and this has made him a lot of enemies. It's a shame then that he has to cross the...
Published on 29 Nov 2007 by Sam Tyler

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Vamp book
A Vampire tale from the man who would be Sci-Fi King. Renowned for his work on the Sci-Fi side of things this is a brave move by Charles to present the reader with a different type of tale blending the supernatural Vampire world with modern day as well as adding a crime angle to keep things interesting. Its different from the usual Vamp side of things but on the whole...
Published on 18 Sep 2007 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Not the Pitts, 29 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 (Paperback)
It's sometime after the events of `Already Dead' and Joe Pitt is desperate for work. His money stash is running low and more importantly so is his blood stash! Blood is so important because Joe is a Vampire rogue. He works separately from the various clans that make up Manhattan Island and this has made him a lot of enemies. It's a shame then that he has to cross the entire Island to investigate a new drug that is killing newly made vampires. Will Joe be able to uncover the truth and work around all the politics, in a world were politics is often deadly.

Charlie Huston has created a great universe in the Joe Pitt novels and it is continued brilliantly in `No Dominion'. The complex nature of the different vampire clans makes for interesting reading and the treatment of vampirism as a blood disease is really well developed. I also think that the character of Joe is well realised as he has the no nonsense attitude that makes for the best PIs.

I really enjoyed this book and apart from the lull that affects it towards the end I would recommend it. However, I would suggest reading the first book in the series before this as it fleshes out what is initially going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not your Momma's Twilight, 22 July 2009
By 
Edward C. Williams "Ted Williams" (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 (Paperback)
This is the perfect antidote to all those angst-ridden, tortured soul Vampires that are so popular currently.
This is a neatly written, nicely plotted story, that delves in to some very dark corners of a New York divided by a variety of Undead factions.
I already have the third book waiting to be read and the fourth is on order, this is a great development of Joe Pitt's world and throws in several cool new ideas to the genre that will hopefully get explored in the upcoming novels.
Noir-ish, and Nasty in places, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit, 3 Aug 2007
This review is from: No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 (Paperback)
We were introduced to the likeable Anti Hero Joe Pitt in Hustons 1st and pretty solid novel 'Already Dead.' And Not dissapointing has brough him back for our second bite of the big apple in 'No Dominion'. Now that the main characters have been established Huston wastes no time and flings pitt right into the thick of things, right from the get go. Huston has you by the neck and the story doesnt fail to deliver . If you liked 'Already Dead' you will find that 'No Dominion' holds sway over you from start to finnish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No Dominion is the second book of Joe Pitt, the vampyre (that's how the author spells it) from Manhattan. I loved the first one and this was just as good. I had got used to the different formatting and way of dialogue from the first books, so this one I was able to jump straight in and steam ahead with the latest offering. Very good, very stylish and highly recommended, my only gripe is the price. I think I paid over £5 which is a lot for a kindle book but then I guess that's the price set by the publisher rather than the author.
RR Haywood The Undead. The First Seven Days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 (Paperback)
Perfect copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Vamp book, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 (Paperback)
A Vampire tale from the man who would be Sci-Fi King. Renowned for his work on the Sci-Fi side of things this is a brave move by Charles to present the reader with a different type of tale blending the supernatural Vampire world with modern day as well as adding a crime angle to keep things interesting. Its different from the usual Vamp side of things but on the whole the principle Antagonist does come out annoying rather than a real hero of the piece. Perhaps this may change in later novels but I really couldn't get any hooks into the guy which perhaps is the biggest crime and is something that the author would like to redress in future novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2
No Dominion: A Joe Pitt Novel, book 2 by Charlie Huston (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
£6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews