Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than hard contact
If you enjoyed hard contact, but found it a bit too 'action heavy', then this book is for you. The story is a lot deeper than the first book with more characters and dialogue and a few less explosions. There are still a lot of very enjoyable action scenes and it retains the same sense of humour, it just does so in a more mature way.
Also if you are a fan of the game...
Published on 17 Mar. 2011 by Mr. R. S. Morgan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Triple-Zero Action
The Clone Wars are in full swing and our elite squad of special ops clones is...sitting on Coruscant waiting for some ambiguous terrorist threat. Travesty always writes Star Wars as though it's the post-9-11 real world, not fantasy, so naturally she wants to write about terrorism. What's unnatural is having a squad of Boba Fetts on police duty, laying about and whining...
Published on 23 May 2013 by Cylon Says


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Better than hard contact, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
If you enjoyed hard contact, but found it a bit too 'action heavy', then this book is for you. The story is a lot deeper than the first book with more characters and dialogue and a few less explosions. There are still a lot of very enjoyable action scenes and it retains the same sense of humour, it just does so in a more mature way.
Also if you are a fan of the game (which I'm not, I've never played it) you might be interested to know that the characters from the game are in the book. I have no idea how similar delta squad is in the book to the game, but they do seem to be an enjoyable bunch of characters. Throughout the book there is a very enjoyable rivalry between the two squads.
If you haven't read the first book, this would be were I would recomend starting. I you have, but didn't enjoy it, I would strongly recomend giving the series another chance. If you liked the first one, then I suspect you'll like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Karen Traviss rules!, 13 May 2012
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Having already read Hard Contact, I was eagerly awaiting the next book in Karen Traviss' series and it does not disappoint. Building on the success of her previous work, this book is punchier and edgier. The story is emotionally gripping, rich with moral questions and ethical philosophy, as well as thrilling action. A welcome break from the established Star Wars universe, this is one of the best books from the Universe of Episodes1-3. A must read for all Star Wars fans.

David Jae, author of Saga of the Stones: Episode 1 Zin'ao Rising
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Well i'm a bit geeky but i do love the Star Wars novels i have lots of them now and i can quite happily sit and read them back to back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The FSFH Book Review says:, 10 Mar. 2006
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The main body of this book takes place a year after 'Attack Of The Clones' and deals with unauthorised counter-terrorist black ops at the very heart of the Republic, on Coruscant.
If you want a feel for what this book is like, then imagine all the gritty realism and grim humour of 'Hard Contact' mixed with that sense of an unorthodox team from the Wraith Squadron novels.
Perhaps this book's best element is the diverse range of characters that form the Republic team (even though most of them are clones). There's Omega Squad, of course, but also Delta Squad, fresh from the second campaign of the 'Republic Commando' game. Representing the Jedi are the eager-to-please Bardan Jusik and Etain Tur-Mukan, both now Jedi Knights and Generals. Etain plays the important role of being the one who is constantly trying to find the balance between necessity and morality and questioning how that fits into the Jedi's understanding of the dark side. Oddly the character that endeared himself to me the most is the ordinary infantry clone, Corr, who finds himself caught up with the commandos. The most interesting new characters are the Null ARCs, a group of super-clones who aren't entirely stable and who only answer to their father figure, Sergeant Kal Skirata.
Skirata and the other Mandalorian trainer, Walon Vau, were the only thing that I didn't love about this book. We are constantly bombarded with positive feeling towards Skirata and negative towards Vau, but when it came down to it I found the former entirely unlikeable and the latter easy to respect. Whenever you're starting to like and understand Kal, he vents a furious attack on Etain which is unfair and unjustified.
Traviss is a very canny author, so it's more than likely much of what I felt about Kal was deliberately provoked, but I just didn't feel the character lived up to the hype provided by the clones.
Nevertheless, this is another excellent book exploring the less palatable side of war in the Star Wars galaxy, which never loses sight of the human cost involved.
And as a bonus, the short story 'Omega Squad: Targets' is included, set between 'Hard Contact' and 'Triple Zero' (and, oddly, containing a Kal Skirata that I did like).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok but going down hill, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Good book but the series is getting bad as the commandos are starting to only listen to their old Sargent and not command. He is using them as he own private army and im starting to dislike the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend all of them, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Took me 2 days to read it. First book got me so hooked to the story... I needed more of it. Soon i'll order the next volumes. I recommend all of them. Just really great books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Triple-Zero Action, 23 May 2013
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
The Clone Wars are in full swing and our elite squad of special ops clones is...sitting on Coruscant waiting for some ambiguous terrorist threat. Travesty always writes Star Wars as though it's the post-9-11 real world, not fantasy, so naturally she wants to write about terrorism. What's unnatural is having a squad of Boba Fetts on police duty, laying about and whining. She has a carte blanche to send them off on the most fantastic adventure she can imagine and instead we get the Clone version of Loose Women.

I cannot understand why Karen Travis has such a following. She's a parasitic writer who takes other people's inventions and saps all the life out it. Star Wars is a franchise filled with action and fun; Gears of War is a franchise filled with action and fun. Travesty worms her way into both cash cows and delivers bloated books that feature neither action nor fun. I'd like to see her produce something off her own bat and see how well she does then (so long as I don't have to read the thing: I've suffered enough of her writing already).

Dealing with clones, it's a difficult thing to build up an impression of them as individuals and it's not something that Travis manages. Once off the page, Darman is the only one I can ever remember and that's because Etain has a thing for him.

The only halfway decent things are mean old Vau and his dog-anteater-thing pet, mostly because they're the only ones that don't just whinge all the time.

The one thing that I won't complain about where other anti-Travis reviewers do is the Mando language. I think it's fine for her to use her own jargon: the problem lies in the way these words are constantly italicised. It means they always jar with the text and so seem unnatural: it's like a big signpost saying "this word's made up!". This choice is an editorial one, so the writer's not to blame.

The only good thing I can say about this book is that it's not as bad as the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Very good sequel to Hard Contact and a more in depth story!, i was a bit confused at times but never the less still good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, 1 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
Read both the Republic Commando books after playing the video game (which is a fantastic game to play). Karen has a natural ability when it comes to these kind of books. Some of the terminology used is used by modern day British Forces along with the humour you`d also expect.
Looking forward to reading the latest installment 'True Colours' which has already got some great reviews. All we need now is a follow on to the video game...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great book, 30 April 2010
By 
Mark Kaye (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2) (Paperback)
It has been a while since I read this book, and I am not very good at remembering stuff. But I do rememebr this, it was a truly awesome book, infact anything by Karen Traviss is awesome. I have only read her Star Wars material 9 book in all, not including the Imperial commando series which I havn't read yet, never the less her work is a must for any Star Wars Fan.

Oya, Manda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars Republic Commando: Triple Zero (Star Wars Republic Commando 2)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews