Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all you really need to know....
If you're a fan of Tom Holt then you already know what a good storyteller he is.
He is always well written,witty and humourous.
and clever.
his only fault is he sometimes gets to clever and convoluted for his own good-but i wouldn't miss reading him even though he makes my head hurt sometimes.
So if you have read his other books and liked them,you...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by walrus

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough but JWW still wins hands down
For me Tom Holt is one of those authors who can, like Robert Rankin, take the bizarre and unusual, add a good dollop of the weird, a dash of decent prose and then add a huge spoonful of humour and create a wonderful mayonnaise title that works well for everyone. Unfortunately, like any mayonnaise, it doesn't matter how much time or love you put into it if the damn thing...
Published on 27 May 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy to read, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book stretched even my imagination, and that takes some doing. Funny, tho' not laugh out loud, it is the kind of book which leaves one unhappy at finishing it, at least if you like the more far fetched stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Susages and chickens, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent novel from Tom Holt.Zany humour and a good story line.The story moves along at pace. This story introduces two new charactures in a brother abd sister and i wonder if we will see them in another story.Eagerly awaiting the next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny !, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought this as a gift for my husband. he enjoys tom holt
books. also he can`t find a decent sausage. anyway he seemed to
find it rather amusing, going by the giggles emanating
from his way.
fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disappearing pigs..., 26 May 2011
It feels as if this book has a cast of thousands - appropriately enough, since it's one of the ways in which the writing reflects the book's structure and theme, which unfolds gradually, although the reader begins to suspect what's going on well before the characters do.

Polly is a conveyancer for property developer Mr Huon. Her brother is a musician. When Polly notices that strange things are happening in her office - including the appearance of the word HELP in her diary - she turns to her brother for assistance, but he's preoccupied by his own problems. These began after he found a pencil sharpener in the pocket of a coat he'd collected from the dry cleaners. He tries to return it, but the dry cleaners has disappeared. Actually, we learn, the shop has moved, rather to the surprise of its owners, but they soon learn to adapt. Oh, and there's something nasty happening in the downstairs loo. It happens every day, at the same time. There's quite a few disappearances, in fact - piglets, people, a housing estate - and appearances can, of course, be deceiving.

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages is familiar fare from Tom Holt, right down to the amusing title - if you know and like his work you're on safe ground, because this is a good one (for me, at least, he can be just a little hit or miss, though there are more hits than misses). You're not going to get to know the characters as well as in some, because it's not a very linear story, but he's good at creating people you like at once - here, the white and black knights are a good example, you're immediately caught up in their dilemma, and in how it links in to the rest of the story.

What all this reminds me of most - even down to the title - is Douglas Adams. Holt has been moving in that direction for some time - ever since, I think, The Portable Door (which is very good). I don't mean to imply that his writing is derivative - it's not, his voice is quite definitely his own - but that the philosophical bent feels like Adams, and the explorations of the possible permutations of a recognisable universe. Because it is recognisable - people react in familiar ways, so that it's easy to imagine yourself in place of Polly, or of Kevin who suddenly finds that he's a chicken. (If you were ever curious to know how that would feel, look no further!) Okay, Kevin's no Gregor Samsa - it's more Chicken Run than Metamorphosis - but Holt's not aiming for profundity, just fun with a little wry social comment on the side. And he does that very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cleverly written, a good read. I shall probably read all his books now. Lots of twists and turns to navigate through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tom holt, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Sausages (Paperback)
always buy tom holt books when released never fail to entertain and surprise me always wonder how he manages to finish to readers satifaction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Sausages
Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Sausages by Tom Holt (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews