Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from the master
Another fantastic Tom Holt book. Seemed to get a bit (too) silly near the end, just as the second Paul Carpenter book did, in ways that his other books don't seem to. All in all another great work from the master but probably best to read The Portable Door and Earth,Air, Fire and Custard first.
Published on 28 Sep 2009 by FuManStu

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disjointed
I've read a few Tom Holts before and was therefore a little disappointed in this. The language is still as fluent as ever but given the plot, the writing style as a whole didn't really give the story the oomph it needed to sustain any action.
So, I found it difficult to read as it plodded along while trying to be exciting but if you are a big Holt fan you will...
Published on 31 July 2009 by Sir Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from the master, 28 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
Another fantastic Tom Holt book. Seemed to get a bit (too) silly near the end, just as the second Paul Carpenter book did, in ways that his other books don't seem to. All in all another great work from the master but probably best to read The Portable Door and Earth,Air, Fire and Custard first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Clare Topping (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
I borrowed this from a library after a friend recommended the author to me after learning that I had read some Terry Pratchett some years ago. This was the first Tom Holt book I found so thought I would give it a go.

The story revolves around Frank Carpenter, who owns a door that can take him wherever and whenever he wants and Eliza Spitzer, who works in pest control (pests being dragons, trolls, giant spiders etc.). The story is a little less fantastical than a Terry Pratchett novel, the magic and dragons etc being almost incidental to the story, rather than the main reason for the story. It is almost like Terry Pratchett for grown ups who want an easy read. It is a story that keeps you hooked without having to think too much. The characters, even the more dubious ones, are likeable and make you want to find out what happens.

I would definitely read another of the Tom Holts books and can recommend this particular one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magic., 18 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. Shuttleworth (Leeds UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
Tom Holt has long been a favourite mine and this book is certainly up to his usual standard. Extremely funny and imaginative. I really don't know where his ideas come from. For anyone who has read Portable Door this is a must, just don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More doors, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could read the portable door books endlessly. Another great addition to the saga, hope they keep coming. Would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slapped wrist for editors, 23 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
Good fun stuff, snappy with some funny ideas through it ties itself in knots a bit toward the end. Main complaint is the editing - a couple of people have pointed out the name changes from cover to content - there's also a glitch where the door appearing like a drawing on a wall is similar to a "Tony Hatch" picture - surely Tom meant "Tony Hart"?? It would have been useful to know that this seems to be the 3rd (?) book in a series as well! Enjoyable though and I'll read more of Tom Holt's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good one from Tom, 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
I have been reading Tom Holt for years and found this one as funny as all his other books. Spot on as always . Mind you I dont know whether it was deliberate because on the back page of my 2009 paperback edition it states the name of the heroine as Jane but her name is Emily!!! (but maybe it is) because on the product description on this page it also says her name is Jane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good, entertaining read, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Keith F. Pike (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
Tom Holt back on form. Entertaining and funny with some old and some new characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Andrew Males (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
Having read and been a little disappointed by The Portable Door, I was very pleased to pick up my second Tom Holt book and find this one much better written and more enjoyable. The humour won't knock your socks off, but there were several laugh out loud moments, which is always a good sign. The story moves on at a good pace, and the plot's about the right level of complexity for such a book. Tom excels in his similes without appearing to try too hard. It helps to have read The Portable Door first, but not totally necessary. One thing that puzzled me: why does the cover name the heroine as Jane, when she's called Emily? Strange!
If you like this kind of humour, a romantic interest, monsters and magic then give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disjointed, 31 July 2009
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
I've read a few Tom Holts before and was therefore a little disappointed in this. The language is still as fluent as ever but given the plot, the writing style as a whole didn't really give the story the oomph it needed to sustain any action.
So, I found it difficult to read as it plodded along while trying to be exciting but if you are a big Holt fan you will probably enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will not Holt, 24 May 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Better Mousetrap (Paperback)
If there's a guy in the market who has done for the Urban fantasy what Terry Prachett has for Fantasy then its Tom Holt, his writing is not only humerous but also full of great characters that you can't help but fall in love with. Each has their own quirks and goals along with a vulnerability that really does appeal to the reader. Its good fun, its an adventure on its own and Tom is always top of my reading pile when he lands as the pure escapism within just keeps you glued to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Better Mousetrap
The Better Mousetrap by Tom Holt (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews